deepdynamo Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 4 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: I can understand 'chadte Suraj ko Salam'. It's the going out of your way to undermine and take shots at players who don't win is what gets me. They did the same with wrestlers last time. And we all saw how the wresters were treated and the environment they had to train in. I bet it's not much better in other sports as well. Let them be and back them. Expect results when you give resources to players or teams the same way you do for cricket. The reason I expect results from cricket team and harsh on cricketers is because they're given every opportunity to succeed and are paid top dollars. There should not be any reason for them not to win given the resources at their disposal. But that's not the case with other sports. If we don't support them the same way we have no right to demand results. We may get one off wins such as Neeraj Chopra but that is despite the system and not because of it. This particular harsh criticism of Deepika is justified IMO. No one is bothered about Ankita messing it up. Its the 'elite' athletes like Deepika who has been in the system for 20 years and still not be able to crack the mental aspect of the game. Time and again, we have seen Deepika doing well in other world event ( with weakened field mostly) but then performing horribly in the main events like Olympic and Asian Games. Please also be assure that these elite athlete at the very top are funded very well. So this point of them reaching at this level without any facilities is not valid. The lack of facilities is a problem in mid level competition and junior level. But these Olympic level athletes are getting top quality training facilities. Also, as per coach, Deepika outperform everyone in the trails ( which shows lack of talent in Archery) and then get selected in the main team. She has been doing it for ages. Having numerous Olympic and World event under her belt , she is obviously going to be better than a rookie ( in the trials). We are not Korea where the talent is in abundance. The Archery association is also to be blamed ( for not identifying or grooming talent) but not for Deepika continuous failure. She has herself to be blamed and should call it a quit. She did not have it in her to win an Olympic medal. She wasted 20 years and achieved zilch. New guy, Number and Sgattick10 3
Ultimate_Game Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 1 minute ago, deepdynamo said: This particular harsh criticism of Deepika is justified IMO. No one is bothered about Ankita messing it up. Its the 'elite' athletes like Deepika who has been in the system for 20 years and still not be able to crack the mental aspect of the game. Time and again, we have seen Deepika doing well in other world event ( with weakened field mostly) but then performing horribly in the main events like Olympic and Asian Games. Please also be assure that these elite athlete at the very top are funded very well. So this point of them reaching at this level without any facilities is not valid. The lack of facilities is a problem in mid level competition and junior level. But these Olympic level athletes are getting top quality training facilities. Also, as per coach, Deepika outperform everyone in the trails ( which shows lack of talent in Archery) and then get selected in the main team. She has been doing it for ages. Having numerous Olympic and World event under her belt , she is obviously going to be better than a rookie ( in the trials). We are not Korea where the talent is in abundance. The Archery association is also to be blamed ( for not identifying or grooming talent) but not for Deepika continuous failure. She has herself to be blamed and should call it a quit. She did not have it in her to win an Olympic medal. She wasted 20 years and achieved zilch. In that case don't select them for future games. But to take shots when Olympics is still ongoing shows you in poor light. Olympics medal is never a certainty and I doubt other than very select few such as Usain Bolt, Ian Thorpe or Michael Phelps, a medal is ever guaranteed. If you really think she should've performed better and let the team down, wait for the games to be over and have a word with her privately. But not publicly like this when it's Day 2 of Olympics and she still has to finish off another event!
Ultimate_Game Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 15 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: In an ideal world, coaches/management are supposed to credit the player if he/she wins and accept responsibility (atleast partly) if they lose. These babus are doing the exact opposite Fully agree, and really sad to see
rkt.india Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 14 minutes ago, Lord said: Context? coffee_rules, Gollum, Ultimate_Game and 1 other 4
deepdynamo Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 17 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: In that case don't select them for future games. But to take shots when Olympics is still ongoing shows you in poor light. Olympics medal is never a certainty and I doubt other than very select few such as Usain Bolt, Ian Thorpe or Michael Phelps, a medal is ever guaranteed. If you really think she should've performed better and let the team down, wait for the games to be over and have a word with her privately. But not publicly like this when it's Day 2 of Olympics and she still has to finish off another event! Yes, agree...public criticism is not welcome in any sport esp by the coaches during middle of the competition. Deepika though deserves all the hate and criticism for messing up 20 years of investment on her. She played 4 Olympics and 4 Asian games. Zero medals.
Vickydev Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 What a venue they've chosen for Surfing. These guys are probably having a holiday while competing
singhvivek141 Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 1 hour ago, rkt.india said: There you go I want to clarify first...ye Mai nahi hun, mujhe gaaliyan mat dena Laaloo, Lone Wolf, Ultimate_Game and 2 others 5
Vickydev Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 Australia go top again with 4th gold, This time in canoeing. Korea had gone ahead with the Archery gold earlier.
Vickydev Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 Harmeet Desai loses to 17yo Frenchman World #5 in round of 64 in TT
dilliboy Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 24 minutes ago, Vickydev said: Australia go top again with 4th gold, This time in canoeing. Korea had gone ahead with the Archery gold earlier. Yeah top position will keep swinging for the first few days until US establishes its dominace
Gollum Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 Men's hockey, NZ made Belgium sweat hard, 1-2 defeat but matched them in circle penetrations, shots on target. Very close game. That's why won't be harsh on our team, NZ is very dogged.
Gollum Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 Biggest upset of the day in men's field hockey. Spain which lost 0-4 against Great Britain yesterday beat Germany 2-0 today.....same Germany which thrashed France 8-2 yesterday. Same Germany who are reigning WC champs. Hockey field is very deep, kuch bhi ho sakta hai. I think there are 8-9 teams which have a shot at a medal, at least bronze.
Gollum Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 India vs Argentina today at 4:15 pm Massive massive game. Win this and more or less assured of QF. No idea who we will face there, we may face Germany even if we finish 2nd. We may finish 3rd and face GBR or Spain. Unpredictable. This is one of the toughest medals to win in Olympics. deepdynamo and Sgattick10 2
Ultimate_Game Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 1 hour ago, deepdynamo said: Yes, agree...public criticism is not welcome in any sport esp by the coaches during middle of the competition. Deepika though deserves all the hate and criticism for messing up 20 years of investment on her. She played 4 Olympics and 4 Asian games. Zero medals. They should've cut the cord earlier in that case. What made them think she'll win this Olympics when she failed in previous 3? That falls squarely on administrators. Generally you get 2 Olympics at max and if you don't win you're done. Administrators are passing on their failings on to her as she shouldn't have been in the squad. deepdynamo 1
Gollum Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 2024 Summer Olympics medal table Rank NOC Gold Silver Bronze Total 1 Australia 4 2 0 6 2 France* 3 2 2 7 3 Japan 3 2 1 6 South Korea 3 2 1 6 5 China 3 1 2 6 6 United States 2 4 3 9 7 Kazakhstan 1 0 2 3 8 Belgium 1 0 1 2 9 Germany 1 0 0 1 Hong Kong 1 0 0 1 Uzbekistan 1 0 0 1 12 Italy 0 2 3 5 13 Brazil 0 1 2 3 Great Britain 0 1 2 3 15 Canada 0 1 1 2 16 Fiji 0 1 0 1 Kosovo 0 1 0 1 Mongolia 0 1 0 1 Poland 0 1 0 1 Tunisia 0 1 0 1 21 Sweden 0 0 2 2 22 Hungary 0 0 1 1 India 0 0 1 1 Mexico 0 0 1 1 Moldova 0 0 1 1 South Africa 0 0 1 1 Spain 0 0 1 1 Totals (27 entries) 23 23 28 74
Vickydev Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 (edited) What a finish for 100m men's breaststroke final race. 2 time defending champ Peaty finishes joint second Edit:its Italy's Martinenghi who won.. Not Fink(who finished joined 2nd). Thats how close the race was Edited July 28, 2024 by Vickydev
Vickydev Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 GB still dont have a Gold yet. Peaty was supposed to be a big candidate.
neel roy Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 3 hours ago, rkt.india said: There you go What did Pandya read before the world cup final?
Ultimate_Game Posted July 28, 2024 Posted July 28, 2024 49 minutes ago, neel roy said: What did Pandya read before the world cup final? Playboy neel roy 1