rollingstoned Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 ‘Who haven’t faced 150 kmph delivery, advising you to play’: Shreyas Iyer ‘irritated’ with short ball criticism Shreyas Iyer went back to domestic cricket to regain form and scored big runs across formats to get back into the Indian side for the Champions Trophy. Team India batter Shreyas Iyer has opened up about how he feels about the outside criticism of his weakness against short-pitch bowling. Iyer lost his place in the Indian Test set-up after his struggle against short ball was exposed on numerous occasions. However, the selectors still have faith in him when it comes to the 50-over format, as he has been picked in the squad for the Champions Trophy. Shreyas Iyer opened up the criticism he faced about struggles against short balls.(PTI) The 30-year-old went back to domestic cricket to regain his form and scored big runs across formats to get back into the national team's scheme of things. Iyer recently expressed his disappointment on the chatter about his struggle against short balls and said that everyone has the right to talk about criticising players, but they can't do it directly to players. “It’s irritating, especially when it comes from people, who haven’t faced 150 km per hour delivery, advising you to play in a particular way,” Shreyas Iyer said at the Indian Express’ Idea Exchange. “But I would say it is their opinion. They have all the right to talk, but they can talk between themselves not to the player directly," he added. Meanwhile, the Indian team hopes Iyer will replicate his 2023 ODI World Cup form in the Champions Trophy. The stylish batter slammed 530 runs in 11 innings, including two hundreds and three fifties, during the 2023 showpiece event. Shreyas Iyer's memorable knock from 2023 World Cup Talking about the World Cup, Iyer named his memorable performance from the event, and it was not the century in the semifinal against New Zealand but the 82-run knock against Sri Lanka in the league stage. “The 82 against Sri Lanka. Because there was a lot of talk about dropping me from the squad, and that I’m not providing much for the team,” he said. “Even though I had scored a 50 against Pakistan, there was some talk which put me in a helter-skelter situation. That kind of (talk) boosted my instincts from within. Reminiscing about his crucial knock, Iyer said that after that, he became his own fan because of the way he batted in the match. “I wanted to just give my 110 per cent. And in that game, I decided that I would just back my instincts and go full throttle. No looking back. I’m impressed by the way I played in that game. I became my own fan after that. It was a game-changing innings, especially in the World Cup," he added. Kohli will be proud of this sort of prickliness. tweaker 1
R!TTER Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 This *er couldn't handle a couple of overs from Cummins on a "slow" deck & has the balls of a cuck—all talk & no show, just like the rest of the IPL superstars on our team Chaos, Lord, raki05 and 1 other 1 3
Prabhdeep Singh Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 Obviously it is not that easy to play short ball, I am sure Rohit would have provided tips, it is not as simple as that.
singhvivek141 Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 He is another moron, whose head is so much above the ground that he has lost contact with the reality. Almost every cricketer this day carry an attitude of "who are you to talk about me". This feeling of "we are superior" is a deeply ingrained issue in the Indian cricket. express bowling, raki05, tweaker and 6 others 1 1 7
rollingstoned Posted January 21, 2025 Author Posted January 21, 2025 (edited) 20 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: He is another moron, whose head is so much above the ground that he has lost contact with the reality. Almost every cricketer this day carry an attitude of "who are you to talk about me". This feeling of "we are superior" is a deeply ingrained issue in the Indian cricket. When you get paid almost 27 cr a year despite, that can happen. Edited January 21, 2025 by rollingstoned singhvivek141, GoldenSun, raki05 and 1 other 1 1 2
Chaos Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 25 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: He is another moron, whose head is so much above the ground that he has lost contact with the reality. Almost every cricketer this day carry an attitude of "who are you to talk about me". This feeling of "we are superior" is a deeply ingrained issue in the Indian cricket. Lol he is a sitting handicapped duck against short balls singhvivek141 1
vvvslaxman Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 This guy can easily be sledged into throwing his wicket away. Noticed that. He reacts almost insantly . rollingstoned, The Hound, sorak and 6 others 9
diga Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 29 minutes ago, rollingstoned said: When you get paid almost 27 cr a year despite, that can happen. doesnt matter on IPL flat pitches... he can handle 160kmph bowling too.
Bigg Brother Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 Another mediocre nobody who gets paid hefty amount. Shudders me what franchises look into guys like this. Can't even make it to Indian T20 team now Number, raki05 and Chaos 3
singhvivek141 Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 58 minutes ago, rollingstoned said: When you get paid almost 27 cr a year despite, that can happen. He will get kicked off as well, if he fails to perform and justify the price tag. Big money is a high risk high reward.
rollingstoned Posted January 21, 2025 Author Posted January 21, 2025 (edited) 10 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: He will get kicked off as well, if he fails to perform and justify the price tag. Big money is a high risk high reward. By the time he retires he will have chatofied enough malai. Doesn't matter. He doesn't seem tk care much about a legacy in other formats otherwise he is at the kind of age where most of our batting issues would've been solved by him. Baki dance reels badmei bhi Banta rahega. Edited January 21, 2025 by rollingstoned Number and singhvivek141 2
singhvivek141 Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 1 hour ago, Chaos said: Lol he is a sitting handicapped duck against short balls Yet, has the audacity to pass the blame. Lord and Chaos 1 1
Lord Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 Why work on your issues when you can deny them Norman, Master_better, Need4Speed and 4 others 6 1
singhvivek141 Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 1 minute ago, rollingstoned said: By the time he retires he will have chatofied enough malai. Doesn't matter. He doesn't seem tk care much about a legacy in other formats otherwise he is at the kind of age where most of our batting issues would've been solved by him. Baki dance reels badmei bhi Banta rahega. He will be forgotten soon if he don't work on his short ball weakness. Anyway he is only playing one format so I guess it will be easier to get rid of him. What worries me is because of players like him, likes of Rinku, Tilak & Jaiswal who have better attitude and an all around game are loosing years. tweaker, Number, Lord and 2 others 5
R!TTER Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 5 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: He will be forgotten soon if he don't work on his short ball weakness. Forgotten for what? Was he ever remembered for something singhvivek141, Majestic, sorak and 2 others 5
vvvslaxman Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 (edited) I think talking about weakness is yeilding no result at all for us 1) chasing 8th stump line. Discussing about it for 5 years still no change - Kohli 2) Frontfoot plonking, going at the ball with hard hands - No correction in 2 years - GIll 3) Short ball negotiation - I don't have it. SHreyas Iyer 4) Lack of feet movement against new ball - Rohit never cares. for it Everyone of us carry their weaknesses for far too long. So dissecting their technique is not going to help us. You are dropped becaues you don't score runs. End of story. Nobody should waste time analyzing why he didn't score runs, what he should do to score runs. It is upto batsmen to figure out themselves. Edited January 21, 2025 by vvvslaxman tapandrun, Master_better and BacktoCricaddict 3
BacktoCricaddict Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 (edited) This is exactly why the only coaches who can get these guys to pay attention are the superstar cricketers of yesteryear. None of these guys will listen to coaches who were just okay players but are great coaches. Gone are the days of a Gary Kirsten coaching up these players. These guys (and most public, too) just don't understand that many of these mediocre players were punching above their talent, and can identify holes in technique and correct them. They had to learn to focus on details because they were not naturally talented enough to succeed, and their knowledge can elevate the talented guys to greatness - if they listened. But in most cases, they're likey going "iska kya aukaat hai ki he is trying to teach me." Edited January 21, 2025 by BacktoCricaddict Number and rollingstoned 2
Chaos Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 11 minutes ago, R!TTER said: Forgotten for what? Was he ever remembered for something As spin basher…even that is fraud. He sucks on turning pitches as well
Lord Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 10 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: I think talking about weakness is yeilding no result at all for us 1) chasing 8th stump line. Discussing about it for 5 years still no change - Kohli 2) Frontfoot plonking, going at the ball with hard hands - No correction in 2 years - GIll 3) Short ball negotiation - I don't have it. SHreyas Iyer 4) Lack of feet movement against new ball - Rohit never cares. for it Everyone of us carry their weaknesses for far too long. So dissecting their technique is not going to help us. You are dropped becaues you don't score runs. End of story. Nobody should waste time analyzing why he didn't score runs, what he should do to score runs. It is upto batsmen to figure out themselves. But most of them are scoring in ODIs. Its in Tests these things are exposed.
BacktoCricaddict Posted January 21, 2025 Posted January 21, 2025 3 minutes ago, Chaos said: As spin basher…even that is fraud. He sucks on turning pitches as well Pace basher where the ball doesn't bounce. Swing basher where the ball doesn't move. Spin basher where the ball doesn't turn. Even Pintu Parcha could do that :-) Lord, Chaos, Norman and 3 others 6