ungboysj Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 (edited) I have been following cricket team for almost 25 years since my childhood and had only 1 dream that india for once will have a all conquering test team which can beat all teams esp SENA in their home in one cycle I waited patiently for a bowler of quality bumrah to rise and then see him failed by lost and useless batting generation of kohli pujara rahane rohit Now I had a hope when I saw the new era under Gill with better batting talent in form of Gill Jaiswal sai Pant coming to the fore with bumrah at its peak But this match has broken me and shown that we are never going to do it and be a great test side Major reasons I see is 1.Very low intelligence in team ,coaching staff and selectors with no long term strategy or addressing team weakness 2.Keep on trying ,tried and tested failure strategy of 3 all rounders/bits and pieces 3.No focus on building pace battery of different types with siraj and akashdeep being bowlers of similar type and no pace enforcer in team . No grooming of young pace bowlers 4. Politics of keeping iyer sarfaraz out for no real reasons 5. Poor fitness levels while opposition bowlers like stokes and Cummins bowl 10-12 over spell when needed our pacers can't even get through 6-7 without getting injured 6.Lack of passion and ownership to even chase meagre targets like 193 I don't want to suggest any solutions because there is no point I think it's time to make peace that we are too low intellect and physically weak nation to be a all conquering test nation It's so frustrating hopefully next generation after me will change all this but I give up Edited July 15, 2025 by ungboysj
kosingh Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 Intelligence is low, but in general, cricketers aren't intelligent across the globe. The few that are intelligent are the exception. Coaching staff? Yes, Gambhir is unusually low IQ for a coach. Reminds me of the Kapil Dev, Madan Lal days of coaching.
neel roy Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 What will Gambhir do if you drop 7 catches. What will gambhir do if you leave balls which are dead in middle. What will gambhir do if you have a team on mat at 281/7 and change the ball and drop their best batsman’s catch. What will gambhir do if your opener wants to pull a bouncer chasing 192. What will Gambhir do if your experienced batsmen get out. In fairness all three matches even after all ridiculous things we did we could have won. The coach s job is to prepare a road map and the road map was set and we could have won all 3. The players failed to execute it. Except picking PK in second test and shardul in first i see no selection blunders. NKR bowled much better and at least played 100 plus balls at no 7/8. We lack that killer instinct and we get easy and fluffy.. simple.. same thing happened in 2018 tour we could have won edgbaston and Southampton. Same thing happened in saf. So no its not the coach its the players .. express bowling, nevada, Frustrated and 1 other 4
New guy Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 Its a young team with a young captain. I am glad they are showing the fight they did. They just need to iron out the bugs and will be a great team. Adamant 1
R!TTER Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 40 minutes ago, neel roy said: The coach s job is to prepare a road map and the road map was set and we could have won all 3. What roadmap made sense to send in your best batter with 4-5 overs left in the day on day 4 last session? Ye roadmap apne netao ke waade jaise hai kya, road kewal map pe hai zameen pe kuch nahi
BacktoCricaddict Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 1 hour ago, neel roy said: The coach s job is to prepare a road map and the road map was set and we could have won all 3. That is one job. The other is to ensure that the players are motivated and prepared to execute.
Gollum Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 (edited) This is why test is the ultimate format. No white ball bilateral can take you on such an emotional rollercoaster. This one test felt bigger than whole IPL season, sorry @Mariyam Edited July 15, 2025 by Gollum express bowling, singhvivek141, kruiser and 2 others 5
vvvslaxman Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 India dominated ENgland in every metrics in this series. More session wins More runs, avge More wickets, avge Most top run getters Most top wicket takers ENgland bowling is pitiful overall. Yet somehow bdecause of key moments we are in this position. It is one of my first where one team domiantes another team significantly yet they find themselves down. It is like that Argentina vs Brazil match where Brazill dominated 89 minutes still lost the match. daryl1985 1
neel roy Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 1 hour ago, BacktoCricaddict said: That is one job. The other is to ensure that the players are motivated and prepared to execute. You are an india test player. What more motivation do you need. We went for milestones. So the motivation was milestone not team win. Jaiswal hacked to teach archer a lesson. All these coaches should motivate is bogus. Aus are world beaters under all coaches. Do you think they used to win unwinnable matches due to coach motivation. It has to come from one ownself. Do you think bumrah and siraj played 80 balls to win the test due to gambhirs motivation.
neel roy Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 2 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: India dominated ENgland in every metrics in this series. More session wins More runs, avge More wickets, avge Most top run getters Most top wicket takers ENgland bowling is pitiful overall. Yet somehow bdecause of key moments we are in this position. It is one of my first where one team domiantes another team significantly yet they find themselves down. It is like that Argentina vs Brazil match where Brazill dominated 89 minutes still lost the match. We won the bgt in 2021. Aus dominated us in sydney and we drew. They kind of dominated 90 perc of match in brisbane and we still won. In 2021 lords same thing. We would have lost if not for the last wicket partnership. So end of day its how you react under pressure that determines the result. We took things for granted in both tests in this series.
vvvslaxman Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 3 minutes ago, neel roy said: We won the bgt in 2021. Aus dominated us in sydney and we drew. They kind of dominated 90 perc of match in brisbane and we still won. In 2021 lords same thing. We would have lost if not for the last wicket partnership. So end of day its how you react under pressure that determines the result. We took things for granted in both tests in this series. We lsot these moments in a jiffy. Like losing 3 tail wickets in 4 balls at Leeds. We dramatically turned the game in these short periods. Even if we had taken 15 to 20 minutes between wickets we could have won the first test.
BacktoCricaddict Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 21 minutes ago, neel roy said: We won the bgt in 2021. Aus dominated us in sydney and we drew. They kind of dominated 90 perc of match in brisbane and we still won. In 2021 lords same thing. We would have lost if not for the last wicket partnership. So end of day its how you react under pressure that determines the result. We took things for granted in both tests in this series. Speaking of execution, we managed to execute in that entire series after 41 a.o. And did it with many of the same players. It's not that they cannot execute, but the buck stops with the team management and how they get the players to coalesce around a common goal of winning.
vvvslaxman Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 13 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said: Speaking of execution, we managed to execute in that entire series after 41 a.o. And did it with many of the same players. It's not that they cannot execute, but the buck stops with the team management and how they get the players to coalesce around a common goal of winning. Jaiswal is living in a completely different world. I am not sure what is going on with him. If he were a sensible batsman he would have tried to see off the bowling
NameGoesHere Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 I have seen, on live television, India winning the 1983 WC. At an age when I could fully appreciate what we had achieved. I have seen, also on live television, Javed Miandad hitting a last ball six to win an India -Pak final in 1986. After those two experiences cricket can neither make me, not break me. It’s just a game I deeply enjoy, not mortgage my existence to. ungboysj and BacktoCricaddict 1 1
vvvslaxman Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 INdi has suffered a few close losses. 1987 vs Paksitan lost by 16 runs? Bengaluru test. Then 1999 chennai test lost by 12 runs. Both winnable. Then that 2008 SCG test where India was moments away from drawing the test. Lost a few wickets to michael clarke.
govinda Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 43 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Jaiswal is living in a completely different world. I am not sure what is going on with him. If he were a sensible batsman he would have tried to see off the bowling Jaiswal is too spoiled by t20. He tries to play shots almost every ball
The Dark Horse Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 This match was there for the taking...only India can lose from such a situation.
BacktoCricaddict Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 1 hour ago, govinda said: Jaiswal is too spoiled by t20. He tries to play shots almost every ball Plus, I think he is feeling a bit invincible right now. He knows that the team is way too dependent on him.
BacktoCricaddict Posted July 15, 2025 Posted July 15, 2025 1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said: INdi has suffered a few close losses. 1987 vs Paksitan lost by 16 runs? Bengaluru test. Then 1999 chennai test lost by 12 runs. Both winnable. Then that 2008 SCG test where India was moments away from drawing the test. Lost a few wickets to michael clarke. Yep, all of those rotten memories of 1987 and 1999 came rushing back. And those happened with Gavaskar and Tendulkar leading the chases. What to say of Jadeja?