Bumrah, Siraj are not built for 5 Test Match series

On 7/25/2025 at 11:07 AM, Gollum said:

This is why I rate 1977-94 WI higher than 1995-2009 Aus. They won so many of these 5 test series away from home, including by 4-0, 5-0 scorelines, very tough task. Aussies haven't won an away Ashes post 2001. 

But they had break days in between.

1 hour ago, putrevus said:

It is not just Imran, it was Chappells, Richards, Clive lloyd and others all said the same thing. What has commercial angle of cricket got to do with quality of cricket.

Kya fek rahe ho? Have you watched a WSC game? I highly doubt so.

It was nothing more than an ODI version of IPL

Bumrah can play 5 tests  bowling at 125 kph like madanlal lol Back then even West Indies used to score at 2.50 RPO regardless of quality of the bowling. Look at this match for example. Both played very slow in the first  3 innings. But suddenly WI found themselves in a position where they had very limited overs to win the test because of rain. Guess what. THey won the match by scoring at 6.82 RPO.

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/india-tour-of-west-indies-1982-83-62309/west-indies-vs-india-1st-test-63335/full-scorecard

ashwin :  you cannot compare the english physique to indians physiques. 

if an englishman said this it would be a racism scandal

On 7/25/2025 at 9:49 AM, kosingh said:

Why play tests at all?
If we don't play, we don't lose. 

This. Just stopping playing intentional kirkut, and every desi player earn money from playing India Pee Loda. Rest for the year do apna haath jagannath!! :rolleyes:

5 hours ago, MechEng said:

Kya fek rahe ho? Have you watched a WSC game? I highly doubt so.

It was nothing more than an ODI version of IPL

Super tests bhi tha.

5 hours ago, goose said:

ashwin :  you cannot compare the english physique to indians physiques. 

if an englishman said this it would be a racism scandal

Will it? Its usually when you put down a race that people get offended, not when you praise them. So yeah, if an englishman said we(Indians) are inferior then people would be right to be offended, but if they said we are superior, no one would.

Common sense.

8 hours ago, deepdynamo said:

Worried about the bowling attack for the 5th test.

Kamboj, Thakur, Krishna are not test class.

The best solution is to go with spin heavy attack for the final test.

Kuldeep, Washington & Jadeja backed by any two pacers.

You think Eng are not aware of this? They will prepare a pitch with zero aid for spinners , something they will tailor to pacers knowing Kamboj Thakur Prasidh will waste it anyway

Edited by fineleg
2 hours ago, fineleg said:

You think Eng are not aware of this? They will prepare a pitch with zero aid for spinners , something they will tailor to pacers knowing Kamboj Thakur Prasidh will waste it anyway

If pacers don't do well, forget winning. Spinners aren't going to win you the tests in England. If you depend on spinners, get ready for another 600 run test like this one where pacers failed. Spinners can't make up for that in these conditions.

the BLAME should go on the selectors and the coaches....-

INDIA has 140K speedsters just that they are not playing here now. 

why was khaleel not picked ahead of kamboj...

why did indian selectors not train genuine speedsters to be ready for England...did they expect Shardul thakur and nitish and BOOM. Siraj win us matches.

whats the use of winning a test match on the third day in india ..spin friendly matches when india does not play fast bowlers who can take 20 wickets in england/s.africa/australia/newzealand... bhai apne area mein fast bowling pitches banao fir dekho , we will find 10 fast bowlers ready.

it is simple logic ....

11 hours ago, deepdynamo said:

Worried about the bowling attack for the 5th test.

Bumrah won't play.
Siraj is done.

Akashdeep is injured.

Kamboj, Thakur, Krishna are not test class.

The best solution is to go with spin heavy attack for the final test.

Kuldeep, Washington & Jadeja backed by any two pacers.

BHai Kullo rani wont turn on english tracks ..

simple formula is to copy what host team does as they know the pitch inside out. the pitch curator gives a full flagged briefing to the coach in which he gives a total true picture of the wicket. some times the pitch is CUSTOMISED as per the coach's desires. it is NON Sense to not copy their formular.

if they pick 4 pacers , you also do that..if they pick 3 pacers and 1 spinner ..we play the same formula.

we have best chance to beat them if we copy them in their selection on this .

if kamboj gets his rhythm he can create panic too, same is about akashdeep ,siraj and one knows BOOM gets wickets when he is bowling a little slower too.

3 minutes ago, vishalvirsingh said:

if kamboj gets his rhythm he can create panic too,

Yeah and in that alternate universe when he suddenly starts bowling at 150K+, English batsmen will be frozen in terror.

Meanwhile in the real world...

Edited by lemsip
On 7/25/2025 at 9:37 PM, Gollum said:

This is why I rate 1977-94 WI higher than 1995-2009 Aus. They won so many of these 5 test series away from home, including by 4-0, 5-0 scorelines, very tough task. Aussies haven't won an away Ashes post 2001. 

Those days fast bowlers were allowed to get away with 75 overs in a day or with very slow over rates.

12 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Those days fast bowlers were allowed to get away with 75 overs in a day or with very slow over rates.

And they had a rest day between a test. They didn't play 5 tests within 40 days.

Edited by rkt.india
1 hour ago, Trichromatic said:

But it was all pace attack, WI hardly had spinners. So each quick had 18-20 overs workload per day. 

2 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Like IPL

No quota in WSC, in IPL you have plenty of mediocrities in every team. Remove the overseas cap, and I will agree. 

12 hours ago, MechEng said:

Imran Khan also said that Pakistan will find unlimited fast bowlers in Waziristan, and look at them now.

Haan bhai, jaise ki WSC didn't care about commercial side of cricket at all.

WSC was the reason why WI became such a behemoth team. They were a talented bunch, but not professional. One day, got scolded in their dressing room by Packer, then their outlook changed completely. First team to take fitness, training seriously (Dennis Waight was personally hired by Packer to get them in shape, one of the most influential fitness trainers in modern sports)....laid a benchmark for modern cricket. Like how Navratilova changed women's tennis with her insane training regimen, after her initial struggles against Evert. Cricket owes a lot to Kerry Packer, for me he is the in top 5 most influential figures in the sport. 

Kerry Packer's sledge attack on the great West Indies cricket side changed the world of sport

One underrated aspect of WSC was the presence of RSA cricketers, then shunned by the sporting world. They were as good as the Windians but were limited to WSC, CC, domestics. The kind of psychological damage Barry Richards and G. Pollock did to Aussies in late 60s, Ian Chappell still has nightmares. Their strength can be gauged from the fact that despite 20 years ban, when they returned they were still top 3 team.

WSC had ODIs as well as tests. They called them supertests, that is where Barry Richards made his name and it became clear that he was even better than Viv and Greg Chappell (latter two also did great but Barry was another level). Also Garth Le Roux was a the best quick bowler, a better version of Joel Garner. Procter was miles ahead of other great ARs of his era, and Clive Rice was at least at the level of Botham and Kapil. Not just Imran or Viv, everyone who played WSC still talks about the standard of cricket there. Not tough to see why, you make 3 separate teams now having only the best of the best, Root playing with Bumrah, Head with Rabada etc., and increase prize pool up 10 times, watch them perform. 

Indian 'legends' benefitted a lot due to WSC, for 3 years we played and performed well against many understrength teams. And Gavaskar, Bedi, Chandra, Prasanna etc. did lot of hollow statpadding. Gavaskar was the luckiest one, made 4-5 100s in one Aus tour, and his amazing record against WI...of course when full strength Aus/WI were back, his numbers plummeted.