Commute mode  

13 members have voted

1. 1. How do you usually commute to work?

• Personal 2-wheeler
    • Personal 4-wheeler
    • Walk
    • Bus
    • Metro
    • Suburban trains
    • Ferry
    • Bicycle/E-Bike
    • Auto
    • Taxi service
    • Company/Office shuttle
    • Car pool
    • Share autos/cars/vans
    • Mix
    • Other

Just a fun thread. How do y'all commute to work and how far away is it from your residence?

I use a bike, workplace is 17 km away from home. 

I have 3 bikes:

TVS Radeon (basically a commuter bike, 110 cc lighweight, mileage focussed, low maintenance)

TVS Ronin which is a cruiser bike

Royal Enfield Interceptor 650

During peak traffic, use Radeon due to mileage reasons, also maneuverability in congested places, often have to drive on footpaths or take short cuts through a slum area with narrow gullies. Use it 50-60% of the time. Try to avoid peak hours but am too lazy, procrastinate and can't avoid it most of the days. Also my preferred choice during rain/flooding. Though it can be a bit dangerous (skiddy) sometimes, this is a good workhorse for Indian roads, and I can abuse it more than the other vehicles, no worry about damages or maintenance. It has replaced my Splendor Plus (or 'Lord Splendor' as it is fondly called) which I had till 2023. 

If I leave a bit early for work (before school/office rush which starts around 8 am), take my Ronin. I always end up underutilizing this guy. 

If I have to leave for some work at night (usually some tests run overnight, and I return next day morning) or on weekends (mostly half day), take the Interceptor. This bike though I mostly reserve for leisure rides. 

Commute time can vary between 25-75 minutes one way. Usually 40-45 min. 

Tried taking public buses for a couple of months in 2023, sometimes too time consuming, and crowded....though overall it was an ok experience, much better than what I had initially expected. Ola/Uber very rarely, use them only in case of some debilitating medical reason, when I need comfort in my travel. 

Have a car but rarely use it. In fact don't even like car driving, parking is also be a big issue. Have hardly used it a dozen times to commute to workplace in the last 2 years, use it only for outings with family. I am not that good a car driver also, because of lack of driving hours. Have always been a motorcyle guy.

Use a personal 4wheeler for my daily commute.
My office is just 5–6 km from home, and since I usually travel during non busy hours, it’s pretty easy to get around. Travel time is around 30–45 minutes for the round trip. I used to have a bike earlier but sold it, now the only 2wheeler I have is an Activa, which I mostly use for quick runs to the narrow lanes of grocery markets.

Before COVID, I used to live almost 25–27 km away. Tried using local trains and metros, but last mile connectivity was always a pain. Plus, with my work timings stretching late night, even a small delay would mess things up. Back then, I relied heavily on my 2wheeler because taking a car meant spending 3 to 4 hours just commuting.

Unfortunately, I don't usually have the WFH option. 90% of my work is experimental, sometimes even have to be present during odd timings, and start experiments at midnight to minimize environmental disturbances (tiny vibrations in buildings common during daytime, are a big hindrance for certain sensitive experiments). 

26 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Use a personal 4wheeler for my daily commute.
My office is just 5–6 km from home, and since I usually travel during non busy hours, it’s pretty easy to get around. Travel time is around 30–45 minutes for the round trip. I used to have a bike earlier but sold it, now the only 2wheeler I have is an Activa, which I mostly use for quick runs to the narrow lanes of grocery markets.

Before COVID, I used to live almost 25–27 km away. Tried using local trains and metros, but last mile connectivity was always a pain. Plus, with my work timings stretching late night, even a small delay would mess things up. Back then, I relied heavily on my 2wheeler because taking a car meant spending 3 to 4 hours just commuting.

Bhai, respect for people like you who can commute in 4-wheelers in Indian traffic. Meri toh himmat bhi nahi hoti hai gaadi nikalne ki, taking my car out from garage to the road outside is a 10 minutes long process for me on the best of days. 

24 minutes ago, EnterTheVoid said:

I paraglide to work. Got my work paraglider, different from the one I use for recreation.

Dunno if you are serious or joking but I remember a thread by you few years back about adventure sports you were trying, pretty cool. 

9 hours ago, Gollum said:

Bhai, respect for people like you who can commute in 4-wheelers in Indian traffic. Meri toh himmat bhi nahi hoti hai gaadi nikalne ki, taking my car out from garage to the road outside is a 10 minutes long process for me on the best of days. 

I understand, in Bengaluru this is a serious problem, traffic has grown uncontrollably. 10-12 years back, Bengaluru had better roads, infra and better drivers than Hyderabad....now situation is neck to neck. 
Hyderabad though is losing growth again as Metro expansion, local trains and road infra has hit a bottle neck. Mere ghar ke paas se airport tak metro ka plan tha, ab Congress govt ne wo cancel kar diya. Situation is going to worsen in next 5 years.

19 hours ago, Gollum said:

Unfortunately, I don't usually have the WFH option. 90% of my work is experimental, sometimes even have to be present during odd timings, and start experiments at midnight to minimize environmental disturbances (tiny vibrations in buildings common during daytime, are a big hindrance for certain sensitive experiments). 

You employed ?

20 hours ago, Gollum said:

WFH stinks. At least for what I do. I hated it - the Zoom classes, the "virtual labs", Zoom meetings. It killed my eyes. Still don't know how we did it. 

Every morning I wake up and go to work to actually teach and mentor students in-person, I thank Moderna and Pfizer ;-).