A case in favor of Gautam Gambhir

maniac

Sensitive topic on a sensitive day, but hear me out.

First, I don’t think Gambhir has any ulterior motives. His heart is in the right place, and he is very patriotic and a man with high integrity.

I think he has great cricket acumen, especially in white-ball cricket. Just like his nemesis Dhoni, he has a way of pulling the team out of back-to-the-wall situations. The way he handled pressure during high-stakes Champions Trophy and Asia Cup matches, or even the England and Australia series, was commendable.

The blot on his career comes from three specific series:

India vs SL ODI series

We were coming off the high of winning the T20s, playing both youngsters and seasoned players, and continued the momentum. However, the sudden change of format and having too many tired or new players was counterproductive in the ODIs. Also, the pitches were very dicey. It was an anomaly.

India vs NZ Test series whitewash

That team should have been winning on autopilot. I didn’t see anything wrong with the strategy either. It was simply poor batting from India; our bowling more or less gave us a shot in every game. You can’t blame Gambhir for this. However, the older players were asked to count their time as we moved into a new era.

India vs SA Test series whitewash

I’m not a fan of two-match series, but fair game to SA—they played much better cricket than us. There wasn’t much we could do with so many stroke-less batters who kill momentum. While Gambhir has to take accountability, I think we are in a transition and rebuilding phase.

I feel we should not panic or press any trigger buttons. We are rebuilding.

We lost three superstar players to retirement. Two more—Rahul and Jadeja—will likely be done soon. We need to rebuild the team. Yes, Jurel and Sudarshan may not be the perfect fit right now, but they aren’t such left-field picks either, so Gambhir deserves the benefit of the doubt.

I will back him until the WT20 2026. We absolutely need his clutch temperament in the dressing room for big tournaments. :nice: 

Edited by maniac
5 minutes ago, maniac said:

I will back him until the WT20 2026. We absolutely need his clutch temperament in the dressing room for big tournaments. :nice: 

The WTC is the biggest trophy India is yet to win and their chances are steadily reducing. Recent results show that you cannot continue to select test coaches on the basis of white ball tournaments.

Firing him so close to T20 WC won't be good. Wait till that is over, definitely fire him from tests after that, and take the call on white ball based on how things go. But curtail his powers starting now, for instance, enough of forcing Gill on our T20 squad. 

10 minutes ago, maniac said:

Sensitive topic on a sensitive day, but hear me out.

First, I don’t think Gambhir has any ulterior motives. His heart is in the right place, and he is very patriotic and a man with high integrity.

I think he has great cricket acumen, especially in white-ball cricket. Just like his nemesis Dhoni, he has a way of pulling the team out of back-to-the-wall situations. The way he handled pressure during high-stakes Champions Trophy and Asia Cup matches, or even the England and Australia series, was commendable.

The blot on his career comes from three specific series:

India vs SL ODI series

We were coming off the high of winning the T20s, playing both youngsters and seasoned players, and continued the momentum. However, the sudden change of format and having too many tired or new players was counterproductive in the ODIs. Also, the pitches were very dicey. It was an anomaly.

India vs NZ Test series whitewash

That team should have been winning on autopilot. I didn’t see anything wrong with the strategy either. It was simply poor batting from India; our bowling more or less gave us a shot in every game. You can’t blame Gambhir for this. However, the older players were asked to count their time as we moved into a new era.

India vs SA Test series whitewash

I’m not a fan of two-match series, but fair game to SA—they played much better cricket than us. There wasn’t much we could do with so many stroke-less batters who kill momentum. While Gambhir has to take accountability, I think we are in a transition and rebuilding phase.

I feel we should not panic or press any trigger buttons. We are rebuilding.

We lost three superstar players to retirement. Two more—Rahul and Jadeja—will likely be done soon. We need to rebuild the team. Yes, Jurel and Sudarshan may not be the perfect fit right now, but they aren’t such left-field picks either, so Gambhir deserves the benefit of the doubt.

I agree to an extent but few of his selections are very personal. Like keeping Rana in all format , keeping Rinku and Parag out of loi, bringing gill in t20. Also not choosing solid players in test and banking more on ARs . In test i believe he should start playing solid batters at no. 5 and 6 and then 2 hood domestic spinners. I think though we won ct and asia cup but that was back of some individual brilliance, our loi team doesnt look that great either be it Senior, A team or rising team. 

11 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Firing him so close to T20 WC won't be good. Wait till that is over, definitely fire him from tests after that, and take the call on white ball based on how things go. But curtail his powers starting now, for instance, enough of forcing Gill on our T20 squad. 

That’s a fair and balanced take. I see a lot of toxic vultures ready to pounce on Gambhir. They don’t empathize with India’s failure: they want to take out their khunnas. Look at Pakistanis, they all of a sudden care for the good of Indian test cricket? Why because, Gambhir taunts them even in their dreams.

Edited by maniac
1 minute ago, maniac said:

That’s a fair and balanced take. I see a lot of toxic vultures ready to pounce on Gambhir. They don’t empathize with India’s failure: they want to take out their khunnas. Look at Pakistanis, they all of a sudden care for the good of Indian test cricket? Why because, Gambhir taunts them even in their dreams.

And few on this forum also they still associate Gambo with bjp and making fun of modi and bjp on this loss. They call its just fun but in reality their ulterior motive is not hidden based on their posting history.  Gambo deserved lot of criticism for his cricketing selection but not because of his political alignment. I hope with gambo gone thing is sorted out but looking at some of our paindu youngsters i think it will be long road to recovery.

How any one can defend Gambhir is beyond me. He is Greg Chappell 2.0. Every apprehension we had before his appointment as a coach has come true. White wash after white wash at home. Even first round exit in 2007 world cup was more respectful than this. He has to go.

Transition was mishandled by him.  You do not take a side like this for 5 day Test.  

Rohit the opener left -> Kela took his spot -

Kohli left -> Gill took hsi spot

Both worked fine in England

But when GIl moved from 3 to 4.. we didn't think of proper no.3. Fair that they gave Sai a run. But the weakness of the spot was masked by GIll at 4. He basically batted for no.3 and no.4.   Now Gill is out of commission suddenly we have two vulnerable spots in the line up which we tried to fill with Jurel.  To compound the problem both Kela and Jaiswal hit a rough patch in this series. So we are basically without top 4 batsmen.  Then comes the unpredictable Pant who is in a istuation to cover the failures of top.4 He failed. Unlike in the past we don't have Ganguly or Laxman coming in at 6. We have Reddy playing htere. THat is another failure

So we had useless top 6. 

So with this line up , with this form even if we play 10 test series chances are ew will lose all 10.  Let us be happy it is just a 2 test series

He is spreading toxicity by excluding certain players for no apparent reason. If India has to do well in 2026 t20, they better get rid of this idiot now along with another idiot Agarkar and start fresh .

45 minutes ago, Gollum said:

I feel forcefully keeping gill in all formats XI maybe a decision by BCCI Admins to keep the superstar culture going. 

In recent two tests, We didn't have a backup to specialist no.4 batter who can bat around the team control ebbs & flow of game. Gill's untimely injury really puts us in this spot.

Forcing untested jurel & sundar at pivotal positions in test team played a major part in this defeat. Thought pant could be an all format captain but he lacks skill, temperamant & Will. It affects his batting too. Should keep him away from captaincy in future.

Should immediately axe batting & bowling(spin if we have) coaches.

Edited by spiritb2
6 minutes ago, putrevus said:

He is spreading toxicity by excluding certain players for no apparent reason. If India has to do well in 2026 t20, they better get rid of this idiot now along with another idiot Agarkar and start fresh .

Who is he excluding from tests?

Whiteball I agree Jaiswal should be there. However Gambhir is still rocking in whiteball despite that. Even though we need Jaiswal  in the side asap.

from tests Ro-Ko have retired. Shami may have been mishandled but cmon we need to move on and try newer options. I feel our fast bowling is still an issue that is being ignored.

Edited by maniac
30 minutes ago, maniac said:

Who is he excluding from tests?

Whiteball I agree Jaiswal should be there. However Gambhir is still rocking in whiteball despite that. Even though we need Jaiswal  in the side asap.

from tests Ro-Ko have retired. Shami may have been mishandled but cmon we need to move on and try newer options. I feel our fast bowling is still an issue that is being ignored.

Sarfraz, Easwaran, Shami  are not enough .  You let them fail on their accord before moving.

How is he rocking whiteball , CT was won due Roko but he should get  some credit as a coach.He tried to ruin that also but injuries happened, read about it.

How many times India has won Asia cup, that we have to  give credit for winning a putrid tournament like Asia cup.

Edited by putrevus

he looks and sounds weird. no style, no charisma, no humor, no swag, no height. just massive sideburns. how do you respect a man like that? gill isn't exactly brimming with personality either. you can't have such a dull duo at the helm. get rid without delay. 

Our T20 cricket has some  exceptional players like Abhishek, Chakri, Bumrah and Rinku, Tilak,SKY,Axar. He included Gill in T20's and from an unbeatable scary side,we started losing here also. He is an idiot with biggest agendas. Egomaniac too. Trying to fit HarSHIT Rana everywhere. :wall: 

1 hour ago, Insidious said:

How any one can defend Gambhir is beyond me. He is Greg Chappell 2.0. Every apprehension we had before his appointment as a coach has come true. White wash after white wash at home. Even first round exit in 2007 world cup was more respectful than this. He has to go.

Gambo is indefensible whichever way we look at it as having 2 back to back whitewash at home is worst thing ever happened.

1 hour ago, raki05 said:

And few on this forum also they still associate Gambo with bjp and making fun of modi and bjp on this loss. They call its just fun but in reality their ulterior motive is not hidden based on their posting history.  Gambo deserved lot of criticism for his cricketing selection but not because of his political alignment. I hope with gambo gone thing is sorted out but looking at some of our paindu youngsters i think it will be long road to recovery.

Arey wo sab bahut hi khush hain aj ,khujli me political post bh daal rhe hain 

Bhai kya logic hai iss baat ka?:wp23:

oh it was "phun "post just cheeel vaddeee