Why we (Pakistanis) can understand the language in Bollywood Songs, but not fully understand the language used in Indian News Media or Dramas or Films?

I never thought about it, but this question was raised by a teenage girl, who was born and raised in the West.

She can understand Urdu as her parents. 

She is fond of Indian serials and movies. 

She complained that she is unable to fully understand the language of many Indian serials and sometimes of films too, but she can fully understand Bollywood songs. 

What could be the reason? 

1 hour ago, Alam_dar said:

I never thought about it, but this question was raised by a teenage girl, who was born and raised in the West.

She complained that she is unable to fully understand the language of many Indian serials and sometimes of films too, but she can fully understand Bollywood songs. 

Indian Languages are diverse and many times have influence on the way actors talk.

For ex...villain Late Shri Rami Reddy, though acted in several movies, have a distinct Telugufied accent and choice of words which may impact his way of talking. While its different for other villians like Late. Shri Sadashiv Amrapurkar (Marathi) and Late. Shri Amrish Puri (Punjabi).

While the songs and lyrics, one has limited bandwidth to explore the words as many times they've to match the rhythm and tune. Hence, they use mostly the generic words which is easier.

Edited by singhvivek141
1 hour ago, Lord said:

I guess poetry needs more Urdu than normal news/dialogues

Bollywood songs are not hindhi they are mostly Urdu. It’s corrupted.

5 hours ago, gattaca said:

Bollywood songs are not hindhi they are mostly Urdu. It’s corrupted.

It is call Hindustani which is a mix of Hindi-Urdu-Punjabi. Bollywood songs are neither pure Hindi or pure Urdu. People won't understand proper urdu.

Edited by rkt.india
1 hour ago, velu said:

@Alam_dar stop listening to Bollywood and start listening to our south indian songs 

Sure. I have already been watching some South Indian films and enjoying them as they are good. 

12 hours ago, Alam_dar said:

Many lyricists are muslims that are proficient in urdu. Even the lyrics of RRR hindi version has many urdu words. 

1 hour ago, kepler37b said:

If they see our movies, the entire elite of pakistan will go into depression. They cannot fathom "Dark" sauth indians making excellent/entertaining/paisa vasool filmṣ. 

I think there is some truth to that, although perhaps only partially. Unfortunately, color bias is indeed an issue for some people.

However, I feel there are also many who don't have such prejudices. I base this on their general behavior towards Bengali people who are present in Pakistan.

The only way to move past this is through direct interaction. Only then will they understand that South Indians are kind, lovely people. Alternatively, watching South Indian movies would go a long way in breaking down these stereotypes.

Bollywood, for example, helped many realize that Hindus aren't inherently evil, but are people just like us. That is why, despite a lot of propaganda from religious hardliners, I don't see nearly as much hate against Hindus as I do against Jews (while they never got a chance to engage with Jews directly).

Therefore, the success of South Indian films is not just a win for "entertainment," but a win for humanizing a region. 

Actually, Dosas and other South Indian food dishes are also becoming popular in Pakistan for the first time, and I hope they also help Pakistani people to understand South Indians  better. 

PS: Does a similar issue exist in North India, where some people treat South Indians poorly due to skin color?

Edited by Alam_dar
1 hour ago, Alam_dar said:

I think there is some truth to that, although perhaps only partially. Unfortunately, color bias is indeed an issue for some people.

However, I feel there are also many who don't have such prejudices. I base this on their general behavior towards Bengali people who are present in Pakistan.

The only way to move past this is through direct interaction. Only then will they understand that South Indians are kind, lovely people. Alternatively, watching South Indian movies would go a long way in breaking down these stereotypes.

Bollywood, for example, helped many realize that Hindus aren't inherently evil, but are people just like us. That is why, despite a lot of propaganda from religious hardliners, I don't see nearly as much hate against Hindus as I do against Jews (while they never got a chance to engage with Jews directly).

Therefore, the success of South Indian films is not just a win for "entertainment," but a win for humanizing a region. 

Actually, Dosas and other South Indian food dishes are also becoming popular in Pakistan for the first time, and I hope they also help Pakistani people to understand South Indians  better. 

PS: Does a similar issue exist in North India, where some people treat South Indians poorly due to skin color?

Used to be, now it's on a decline.
The rise of IT and Manufacturing has increased people to people connect. There is a decent amount of North Indian boys who marry in a South Indian girl family and same is true vice versa. The wall is crumbling, atleast in the sector where I work.
One Malayali girl has married to an Odiya guy. Other case a Maharastrian girl has married in a Telugu boy's family. In another example a Kannadiga girl has married to a family of a groom from MP.

Edited by singhvivek141
14 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Used to be, now it's on a decline.
The rise of IT and Manufacturing has increased people to people connect. There is a decent amount of North Indian boys who marry in a South Indian girl family and same is true vice versa. The wall is crumbling, atleast in the sector where I work.
One Malayali girl has married to an Odiya guy. Other case me a Maharastrian girl has married in a Telugu boy's family. Another case me a Kannadiga girl has married to a family of a groom from MP.

Bro it took "me" a couple of attempts reading your statements to realise your "me" is in Hindi, and you are not a Mahrashtrian/Kannada girl...Aise koun likhta hai bhai

Ps: My "me" is totally in English

18 minutes ago, Vickydev said:

Bro it took "me" a couple of attempts reading your statements to realise your "me" is in Hindi, and you are not a Mahrashtrian/Kannada girl...Aise koun likhta hai bhai

Rectified it bhai. 
Flow mein nikal gya. :cantstop:

11 hours ago, Alam_dar said:

Nope. I have not faced it.  Period. Of course naarthies call us as "Kaala madarasis" and we call naarthies as "Pan Paraag spitters". The bantering goes on. 

9 hours ago, Vickydev said:

:hatsoff:...I never would have though of this angle. 

On 2/27/2026 at 7:26 AM, Alam_dar said:

What sort of answer were you expecting? Songs bring amaan ke asha and India media is toxic? 

6 minutes ago, jf1gp_1 said:

What sort of answer were you expecting? Songs bring amaan ke asha and India media is toxic? 

Didn't thought from this angle.

I personally hardly watch Indian news Media, but sometimes Indian serials and Indian dubbed movies.  

I got the feeling that Hindu dubbed (Hollywood films or even Chinese Kungfu films) use a lot more pure Hindi as compared to original Bollywood films, which make it difficult for me to understand. 

23 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Languages blend and evolve all the time. Linguistic purity is a myth.

If you compare Telangana and Andhra Telugu. You would understand. The nawabs idiots of Telangana forced Urdu on Telugu speaking people. There was a systematic oppression of Telugu. People who spoke Urdu got jobs. The nawab constantly made comments like Telugu is not a sweet language. Infact Telugu was called Italian of the east. Telugu was targeted and now we have a mix of Telugu and Urdu in Telangana. If not invaders it would have been mostly pure.