rangeelaraja Posted May 12 Posted May 12 3 hours ago, kepler37b said: Wrong. In Hyderabad, the real estate is driven by NRI's. They are the end non-investor consumers. They come down buy an apartment with $300k and then push their ailing parents into these abominations. Hyderabad has High FSI, but still the prices have not come down. Everything in hyderabad if f*king costly due to this money. I wish they can put that money in stocks and bonds which would lead to improvement of our economy. I was talking about India in general. NRI contribution to real estate rise is true but also highly exaggerated and a minor contributer. The real reasons are more complex as I stated. Black Money parking is one of the biggest reasons. FSI constraint applies to Mumbai and some other metros, perhaps not to Hyderabad. But the scarcity is artificially created. Builders have no real incentive to build affordable housing because margins are thin. So supply in premium pockets stays low on purpose while demand keeps growing. This creates a loop prices rise, which attracts more investors, which pushes prices further up. A builder makes more profit selling 50 luxury flats than 500 affordable ones, with far less headache. The buyers in these pockets near key business hubs , NRIs, tech executives, business families don't negotiate much on price So the root cause is not NRIs, it is builder lobby and regulation. More complex than just blaming NRIs.
Nikola Posted May 12 Posted May 12 How about we stop spending so much money on freebies and build infrastructure to reduce dependency on other countries? G_B_, crictime and Lord 2 1
randomGuy Posted May 12 Author Posted May 12 5 hours ago, G_B_ said: Ai is yet to impact it. West asia will impact in short term. AI impacted through stock market correction, FII outflows (again, pressure on forex reserves, exchange rates), some job losses so far. We used to add 5-10% IT jobs each year which used to propel all sectors in economy. TCS is 2300 after 2 years today from 4600 at peak. Similar for most IT stocks.
jf1gp_1 Posted May 12 Posted May 12 On 5/11/2026 at 5:44 PM, coffee_rules said: It’s new to me If the imported millets are of standard quality. They’re all part of the trade deal between countries, they need to sell their Agro products to a large market like india. They should be of export quality just like when india sends its product theiy are label labeled as export quality. Your logic is sound and that's how it should be in a country where systems work. However do you actually believe that is how our customs work ? I personally never buy any imported pulse. coffee_rules 1
Lone Wolf Posted May 13 Posted May 13 8 hours ago, Nikola said: How about we stop spending so much money on freebies and build infrastructure to reduce dependency on other countries? Lol it isn't possible at short notice, country's institutions are itself outdated and backward Barely any investment in R&D , hiked up STT , all the taxpayers money going in free money distribution just so politicians can get votes...yeah obv this had to happen. The economy is gonna be having a very bad growth rate in this quarter or even overall FY in the recent years. When guys like Uday Kotak publicly say prepare for the Worst it means we are cooked.
singhvivek141 Posted May 13 Posted May 13 (edited) 1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said: Lol it isn't possible at short notice, country's institutions are itself outdated and backward Barely any investment in R&D , hiked up STT , all the taxpayers money going in free money distribution just so politicians can get votes...yeah obv this had to happen. The economy is gonna be having a very bad growth rate in this quarter or even overall FY in the recent years. When guys like Uday Kotak publicly say prepare for the Worst it means we are cooked. To do that we need to change ourselves from Democracy to a one party system like CCP or Russia. Coz in democracy you rely on votes to be in power, and people can get influenced by outrageous claims hoax instead of real ground situation. No political party is here for welfare, they all are here to win votes and stay in power. it's like a bidding war where the lowest/highest (depending on the bid) wins the bid, irrespective of it's long term impact. Only Russia in this entire world is one country which can totally survive on it's own. No one else can, not even China. And Russia has population of around 15 crores while we have a burden of 140-150 Crore folks, and if even 1% of those are digging the grave for this country, you'll have 1.5 Crore people in hand. Fertilizers and Oil are our biggest weakness...we have very limited reserves Edited May 13 by singhvivek141
Nikhil_cric Posted May 13 Posted May 13 14 hours ago, kepler37b said: Wrong. In Hyderabad, the real estate is driven by NRI's. They are the end non-investor consumers. They come down buy an apartment with $300k and then push their ailing parents into these abominations. Hyderabad has High FSI, but still the prices have not come down. Everything in hyderabad if f*king costly due to this money. I wish they can put that money in stocks and bonds which would lead to improvement of our economy. Actually, Hyderabad housing is far more affordable than other major cities in India AFAIK and liberalising FSI was key to that. All Indian cities should follow Hyderabad and we should have urban renewal projects that convert low density suburban areas into medium to high rises - will make housing even more affordable and the increasing density would improve metro ridership etc. NRI money should be restricted in housing, I agree.
Lone Wolf Posted May 13 Posted May 13 1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said: To do that we need to change ourselves from Democracy to a one party system like CCP or Russia. Coz in democracy you rely on votes to be in power, and people can get influenced by outrageous claims hoax instead of real ground situation. No political party is here for welfare, they all are here to win votes and stay in power. it's like a bidding war where the lowest/highest (depending on the bid) wins the bid, irrespective of it's long term impact. Only Russia in this entire world is one country which can totally survive on it's own. No one else can, not even China. And Russia has population of around 15 crores while we have a burden of 140-150 Crore folks, and if even 1% of those are digging the grave for this country, you'll have 1.5 Crore people in hand. Fertilizers and Oil are our biggest weakness...we have very limited reserves We aren't even doing the bare minimum to start somewhere unless we start improving education standards in our universities to match global standards no matter what we do we will always lag behind. Our infrastructure projects and automobile Industry is already heavily dependent on Chinese Steel and Aluminium imports. These are also massive weaknesses of ours that get brushed under the carpet
singhvivek141 Posted May 13 Posted May 13 8 hours ago, Lone Wolf said: We aren't even doing the bare minimum to start somewhere unless we start improving education standards in our universities to match global standards no matter what we do we will always lag behind. Our infrastructure projects and automobile Industry is already heavily dependent on Chinese Steel and Aluminium imports. These are also massive weaknesses of ours that get brushed under the carpet Education problem is different bro...thats one can no one wants to touch. Again the problem is simple, votes. There has been growth in number of IITs and IIMs..but sadly the workforce keep on moving away in search of better life (not that I blame them). Its a miracle that we have been able to grow and move ahead....our capabilities lies with heavy manufacturing like steel. its only in recent years when chip manufacturing, investment on Rare earth...have come up. Probably because we have woken to the fact that tap from overseas can be stopped at any point of time. R&D requires time and money, unlike China we will never get the backing and funds from US. With our massive population, the amount to R&D will always be less and hence the delay. The example of Tejas mk1a and Tejas mk2 is a prime example of that.
MechEng Posted May 14 Posted May 14 (edited) On 5/12/2026 at 1:55 PM, Nonbeliever said: This loudmouth prime minister did nothing in last 12 years apart from fooling the already dumb public through sold out media. We have the most polluted water. One of the most polluted air. We are eating poisonous agriculture products. Our government Babu are the most corrupt and this government has now become a washing machine for corruption. They can make chief minister out of people who are caught taking bribes on camera. People are dying in buses, boats, dams, trains ipl celebrations without any accountability whatsoever. Even students are dying drowing in basements. What exactly this prime minister did on above fronts. And then there are shameless jokers praising this non biological 11th incarnation of lord Vishnu, who is just reading scripts written by his master's. Just becaus congres was corrupt does not make BJP a saint. They were already corrupt and this dumb public and bhakts have made them even more dangerous than congress.. India is enduring some sort of divine curse in it's political arena. The corruption is so strong that the educated talent pool to join politics is almost non existent. So you have to be content with BJP and likes Edited May 14 by MechEng
rangeelaraja Posted May 14 Posted May 14 1 hour ago, MechEng said: India is enduring some sort of divine curse in it's political arena. The corruption is so strong that the educated talent pool to join politics is almost non existent. So you have to be content with BJP and likes Do you know what is the education and qualification of Ashwani Vaishnav, Piyush Goyal and Dr. Jaishankar ? Do you know it is the IAS and IFS babus that push all the wheels behind the scenes ?
Mariyam Posted May 14 Posted May 14 1 hour ago, rangeelaraja said: Do you know what is the education and qualification of Ashwani Vaishnav, Piyush Goyal and Dr. Jaishankar ? Do you know it is the IAS and IFS babus that push all the wheels behind the scenes ? IAS and IFS Babus are far better qualified than the political class, on an average For one, to be eligible for the UPSC exam, you have to be a graduate. There are many 10th, 12th pass in the Parliament. This has been the case since independence. Far too many IAS cadre are from premium institutes. There are many others who collect degrees as they prepare for the IAS for the 3rd or 4th time. If one were to go by your assertion that the IAS and IFS are root cause of India's slow growth/ corruption, then being 'educated' doesn't really come across as a good thing.
rangeelaraja Posted May 14 Posted May 14 1 minute ago, Mariyam said: IAS and IFS Babus are far better qualified than the political class, on an average For one, to be eligible for the UPSC exam, you have to be a graduate. There are many 10th, 12th pass in the Parliament. This has been the case since independence. Far too many IAS cadre are from premium institutes. There are many others who collect degrees as they prepare for the IAS for the 3rd or 4th time. If one were to go by your assertion that the IAS and IFS are root cause of India's slow growth/ corruption, then being 'educated' doesn't really come across as a good thing. How many PSUs have IAS and IFS babu's resurrected ? What happened to the Navratnas ? The whole structure of UPSC is a joke. Passing a brutally competitive exam to become a civil servant was a practice established by the British in India and we are still running with that. How does passing an exam that does not have any specialization , where you choose electives to enhance your exam scores, make you a qualified to do administrative work in specialized ministries like Finance and Defence ? Would it not be better to hire technocrats with real corporate world experience than someone who is a phenomenal test taker but has very little practical experience or industry specialization ?
Mariyam Posted May 14 Posted May 14 Just now, rangeelaraja said: How many PSUs have IAS and IFS babu's resurrected ? What happened to the Navratnas ? The whole structure of UPSC is a joke. Passing a brutally competitive exam to become a civil servant was a practice established by the British in India and we are still running with that. How does passing an exam that does not have any specialization , where you choose electives to enhance your exam scores, make you a qualified to do administrative work in specialized ministries like Finance and Defence ? Would it not be better to hire technocrats with real corporate world experience than someone who is a phenomenal test taker but has very little practical experience or industry specialization ? Don't disagree with any of this. My wider point is that collecting degrees is not a guarantee of prescient governance/administration. You need someone with a vision beyond the next elections. Heart in the right place. Experts can always be hired. rangeelaraja 1
crictime Posted May 14 Posted May 14 (edited) 1 hour ago, Mariyam said: Don't disagree with any of this. My wider point is that collecting degrees is not a guarantee of prescient governance/administration. You need someone with a vision beyond the next elections. Heart in the right place. Experts can always be hired. I suggest check https://www.myneta.info Vision does not helps, it is just for Manifesto and a lot of Manifestos remain unfulfilled - some do not have a success rate of even 50% even after many decades. Edited May 14 by crictime
Prakat Posted May 14 Posted May 14 Gold is for Indians what Americans think guns are for them. It represents security, assures autonomy and establishes financial sovereignty. Especially for cultures that have passed through multiple conquests and survived several empires, currencies and eventual debasement, the notion that only gold survives a collapse of the financial system is deeply ingrained. This is why all across south east asia and former colonial domains gold is accumulated by every economic strata. If the administration was serious about this it would just raise the import levies on precious metals. However, this announcement seems designed to provide an escape hatch for the have-nots who will use this as a socially valid reason to not buy gold. Nothing like proclaiming patriotic duty to cover for economic privation. Those who can, otoh, are gobbling the stuff up right now because they know what's coming next. BacktoCricaddict and Mariyam 2
crictime Posted May 14 Posted May 14 On 5/12/2026 at 11:54 PM, Nikola said: How about we stop spending so much money on freebies and build infrastructure to reduce dependency on other countries? Reservations in education and jobs also need to be stopped along with freebies given by all parties in whichever states they are implemented. AI response on freebies. Not to be trusted without verification. Madhya Pradesh:Ladli Behna Yojana,BJP,Monthly cash support to women Karnataka:Gruha Lakshmi,Congress,₹2,000/month to women heads of family Karnataka:Gruha Jyothi,Congress,Up to 200 units free electricity Karnataka:Anna Bhagya,Congress,Free rice for BPL families Karnataka:Shakti Scheme,Congress,Free bus travel for women Tamil Nadu:Kalaignar Magalir Urimai Thogai,DMK,₹1,000/month to women Tamil Nadu:Vidiyal Payanam,DMK,Free bus travel for women (The Times of India) Punjab:Free Power Scheme,AAP,Free electricity up to usage limits Punjab:Mukh Mantri Mawan Dhian Satikar Yojna,AAP,₹1,000–₹1,500/month to women Delhi:Pink Ticket / Saheli Card,AAP / BJP-led Delhi govt continuation,Free bus travel for women West Bengal:Lakshmir Bhandar,TMC,Monthly cash support for women West Bengal:Annapurna Bhandar,BJP govt (2026),Proposed ₹3,000/month + free bus rides Telangana:Mahalakshmi,Congress,Free bus travel + LPG subsidy Andhra Pradesh:Stree Shakti,TDP alliance,Free bus travel for women Odisha:Subhadra Yojana,BJP,₹10,000/year to women Maharashtra:Majhi Ladki Bahin,BJP–Shiv Sena–NCP alliance,₹1,500/month Chhattisgarh:Mahtari Vandan Yojana,BJP,Monthly assistance to married women Jharkhand:Maiya Samman Yojana,JMM alliance,Cash support to women Rajasthan:Indira Gandhi Free Smartphone Scheme,Congress (previous govt),Free smartphones/data for women/students Uttar Pradesh:Free ration scheme extensions,BJP, Free food grains to eligible families
Mariyam Posted May 14 Posted May 14 2 hours ago, crictime said: I suggest check https://www.myneta.info Vision does not helps, it is just for Manifesto and a lot of Manifestos remain unfulfilled - some do not have a success rate of even 50% even after many decades. Don't understand your point. How is it related to my post? A manifesto is for an election. A vision is for the society.
Mariyam Posted May 14 Posted May 14 1 hour ago, Prakat said: Gold is for Indians what Americans think guns are for them. It represents security, assures autonomy and establishes financial sovereignty. Especially for cultures that have passed through multiple conquests and survived several empires, currencies and eventual debasement, the notion that only gold survives a collapse of the financial system is deeply ingrained. This is why all across south east asia and former colonial domains gold is accumulated by every economic strata. If the administration was serious about this it would just raise the import levies on precious metals. However, this announcement seems designed to provide an escape hatch for the have-nots who will use this as a socially valid reason to not buy gold. Nothing like proclaiming patriotic duty to cover for economic privation. Those who can, otoh, are gobbling the stuff up right now because they know what's coming next. Yesterday the government hiked import duties on Gold, Platinum and Silver. From 6% to ~15%. Would increase in tariff on gold just revive smuggling? As you mentioned, people are not going to not buy gold.