Kohli's views as captain of India

6 minutes ago, gattaca said:

Look at ishant sharma he was bowling 5th stump. The captain has to step in such cases. 

Ishant and Umesh's  line was not good on the last day of the last innings. But, by and large, our bowlers have bowled in good areas in this series.

Edited by express bowling
27 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

His captaincy was poor in first test against England.

This test series will be a big learning lesson for him and hopefully he does well.

That's harsh.  Captain won't look good when fielders drop 5 catches on a flat track against a quality batting team.   But I don't know if he's handled Mishra well.  Mishy himself hasn't done well, but Captain's job to get the most out of his players and Kohli needs to look at this.  Or don't bother picking him then. 

Over rated captain and was being masked till now by bowlers. Real test is now. Has failed in first innings real bad.

Already failed few times in his captaincy stint. 

Eng are bowling on same pitch and they have controlled the runs well. 

But no problem because he is bowler friendly and "kohli ko pace pasand hai" 

1 hour ago, sscomp32 said:

Over rated captain and was being masked till now by bowlers. Real test is now. Has failed in first innings real bad.

This is bound to happen when your best bowler is not his usual self - goes for runs and picks up just 2 wickets after bowling more than 40 overs. So many dropped catches don't help. Mishraji too went for over 4 rpo. Where do you think Kohli went wrong? What do you think he could have done differently to stem the flow of runs?

Edited by Mosher

5 centuries in this match already.

Clearly., the pitch has been super-flat in the first 2 days.

England scored at  3.3 runs per over and we are scoring at 3 runs even with 2 of our slowest batsmen batting today.

One improvement I would like to see from us is.... more men in catching positions when the fast bowlers are bowling.

Everybody has to agree that Virat Kohli is an aggressive player. He plans as a captain pretty aggressively too which may not always be good for the team. He makes quick changes, which may put the game at risk. 

6 minutes ago, wtachetna said:

Everybody has to agree that Virat Kohli is an aggressive player. He plans as a captain pretty aggressively too which may not always be good for the team. He makes quick changes, which may put the game at risk. 

What quick changes?Mishra was bowling rubbish yesterday and he took forever to take him off

Kohli went through the motions.

England kept attacking and Kohli had no plans to dry up the runs. Moreover he let England go through the spells of quick runs.

1. He lacked plans on how to stop runs. We were not playing in England.

2. India bowled 93 overs on day 1, England bowled 85 on day 3. 8 overs - 25 to 30 runs advantage for England there.

3. He kept bowling Mishra consistently. Maybe going for a bit legside field with off side fielders inside circles and inviting batsman to hit against the spin could have been tried.

4. He couldn't have set field for poor bowling of Mishra, however he could have planned differently for Ashwin.

5. Didn't give ball to Jadeja for long time on day 2.

31 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Kohli went through the motions.

England kept attacking and Kohli had no plans to dry up the runs. Moreover he let England go through the spells of quick runs.

1. He lacked plans on how to stop runs. We were not playing in England.

2. India bowled 93 overs on day 1, England bowled 85 on day 3. 8 overs - 25 to 30 runs advantage for England there.

3. He kept bowling Mishra consistently. Maybe going for a bit legside field with off side fielders inside circles and inviting batsman to hit against the spin could have been tried.

4. He couldn't have set field for poor bowling of Mishra, however he could have planned differently for Ashwin.

5. Didn't give ball to Jadeja for long time on day 2.

Some valid criticisms.  But it hasn't become a repetitive pattern yet.  

his captaincy wasn't that bad ... there was 5-6 drop catches...had 3-4 of those been caught we could have got them under 400-450 on this pitch 
openning up all 3 results 
as of now we have to do catching up only

Ganguly's tenure as a Test captain was a first volume which was a perfect start to a triology. Then came an utter failure - second volume in Dhoni. Kohli's tenure - third volume - will be a masterpiece one that will completely overshadow the other two series. :top:

Edited by Lannister
10 minutes ago, Lannister said:

Ganguly's tenure as a Test captain was a first volume which was a perfect start to a triology. Then came an utter failure - second volume in Dhoni. Kohli's tenure - third volume - will be a masterpiece one that will completely overshadow the other two series. :top:

Did you start watching Dhoni's volume after 2011?

21 minutes ago, Lannister said:

Special_Kind_Of_Stupid.jpg

16 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Did you start watching Dhoni's volume after 2011?

Don't bother, he wont see the truth. Maybe Dhoni once refused his autograph so he is taking his frustration out.

Aryan and Gaurav style in FAN. :giggle: 

9 hours ago, sscomp32 said:

A bit harsh arent we? It would be good if you criticize dhoni the same way.

How was he responsible for his fielders dropping catches(albeit he dropped two himself - one was a tough low catch and the other he should have let Vijay go for it)? How was he responsible for ashwin and his middle and leg line? I agree he should have got Jadeja the ball earlier on day 2 but for some reason he was under the misconception that since he underbowled Mishra on the first day, he should bowl mishra a bit more on day 2. How was he responsible for Mishra ji and his insipid bowling and lackadaisical fielding? I know you are mad about how Dhoni gets riduculed on this forum and trying to take revenge but you gotta put some things in perspective. I think he made the appropriate bowling changes apart from bowling mishra on day 2. If we had taken all the catches, we would be in a really good position right now. Let's wait till the test is over before we start ranting off.

Kumble seems to be a big Mishraji fan and that could possibly be the reason that he is playing this match. Unfortunately, Kohli and Kumble don't seem to be following their own 'horses for courses' policy. Mishra needs a turner to be able to put pressure. And if he does not end up taking 4-5 wickets, his 2-80 or 3-120 at econ rate of 4 will always make him a 5th bowler. Honestly, if Pandya can bowl 10-12 overs a day at less than 3 per over, he can be a good option if he can also bat at an average of 35-40. He seems quick but bowling a 5 over spell after tea with a tiring body is challenging. But we will never know unless we try. To me, this a tussle for one spot between Mishra and Pandya in home test matches. Would prefer Pandya (unless he plays and fails) over Mishra on flat pitches or ones that help seamers (Mohali).

However, Mishra will again play in Vizag as it would be a turning pitch and the only other option would be Jayant Yadav. Mishra had out-bowled him in Vizag ODI in terms of wickets. 

1 hour ago, laaloo said:
A bit harsh arent we? It would be good if you criticize dhoni the same way.

A lot of people do that and do it better than me so I feel no need to post. But I haven't seen anyone posting in favour of dhoni so I keep the balance. If you still want to read my criticism about Dhoni you can read my conversation with slickr today in the whatsapp group. Too lazy to type it again. [emoji14]

Edit: ankit does.

Edited by sscomp32