Are we under-estimating England in Tests (for Nov/Dec) ?

fineleg

ICF seems to be unanimous in giving 4-0, 4-1 (some even 5-0) but 100% sure India wins series.

Are we under-estimating England in Tests? Yes Ashwin is the key, but still the England team is far stronger and can cause upsets too.

Is it a given that India is taking the series win?

This England team is kind of overrated, but still they are currently the best travelers when it comes to away performance. I don't think they have what it takes to win in India this time around, especially now that we have Kohli as our Test skipper. It's going to be 5-0 mauling. 

2 hours ago, Lannister said:

This England team is kind of overrated, but still they are currently the best travelers when it comes to away performance. I don't think they have what it takes to win in India this time around, especially now that we have Kohli as our Test skipper. It's going to be 5-0 mauling. 

Overconfidence. England is not overrated but a very strong test team both home and away. They are the only team in the world with all the bases covered and apparently no weakness.

Batting

Cook & Root world class.

Bairstow is having a dream year.

Gary Ballance was our nemesis last time

Hales, Duckett and Butler are very good batters too

All Rounders:

Ben Stokes and Chris Wokes are the best seam all rounders going around.

Bhai is a decent spin all rounder

Spinners:

Bhaijaan Couple (Moeen & Rashid bhai) are deadly effective if conditions suits spin, which it will in India. Last time Moeen Bhai even destroyed us in Eng, so you can imagine what he will do in spin friendly conditions. Both of them might do a surgical strike on us :nervous:

Seam Bowlers:

Anderson & Broad - Do I need to say anything more?

Woakes is very good 1st change bowler & so is Ben Stokes.

The only weakness English team will face is the spin friendly conditions and their ability to play spin. If they manage that Eng are favourites to win the test series. I do not see any other weakness in this English team.

But either way if both teams play to their potential, it will be a cracker of a series.

Only way English winning again if you guys make rank turners against them which will take quality of their current spinners out of equation who are not as good as Swan and Monty. Your batsmen also need to show respect to Moeen and do not lose their heads against him like they did in English tour. Leave the good balls and hit bad one out of the park as we did against him in England this summer.

35 minutes ago, Pakistan said:

Only way English winning again if you guys make rank turners against them which will take quality of their current spinners out of equation who are not as good as Swan and Monty. Your batsmen also need to show respect to Moeen and do not lose their heads against him like they did in English tour. Leave the good balls and hit bad one out of the park as we did against him in England this summer.

welcome. 

10 hours ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

Overconfidence. England is not overrated but a very strong test team both home and away. They are the only team in the world with all the bases covered and apparently no weakness.

Batting

Cook & Root world class.

Bairstow is having a dream year.

Gary Ballance was our nemesis last time

Hales, Duckett and Butler are very good batters too

All Rounders:

Ben Stokes and Chris Wokes are the best seam all rounders going around.

Bhai is a decent spin all rounder

Spinners:

Bhaijaan Couple (Moeen & Rashid bhai) are deadly effective if conditions suits spin, which it will in India. Last time Moeen Bhai even destroyed us in Eng, so you can imagine what he will do in spin friendly conditions. Both of them might do a surgical strike on us :nervous:

Seam Bowlers:

Anderson & Broad - Do I need to say anything more?

Woakes is very good 1st change bowler & so is Ben Stokes.

The only weakness English team will face is the spin friendly conditions and their ability to play spin. If they manage that Eng are favourites to win the test series. I do not see any other weakness in this English team.

But either way if both teams play to their potential, it will be a cracker of a series.

Yes, they have a good all-round capable team.

England are having a great practice in Bangladesh for India tests. Expect them to do well in India for the next tests. Hopefully all teams can use Bangladesh as a practice tour for India just like how Zimbabwe is for South Africa.

Most defintely. England out of all non sub continental teams are most equipped to handle our spinners and they have already beaten us at home.Our batting order is extremely suspect against a good bowling unit.It will be a real dog fight and to think otherwise is foolish.

On 10/27/2016 at 3:17 PM, Pakistan said:

very good point and you are right,we shot ourselves in the foot last series.

2 hours ago, cowboysfan said:

Most defintely. England out of all non sub continental teams are most equipped to handle our spinners and they have already beaten us at home.Our batting order is extremely suspect against a good bowling unit.It will be a real dog fight and to think otherwise is foolish.

very good point and you are right,we shot ourselves in the foot last series.

cbf,

Exactly. And the Eng are coming prepared after the series before this India series, so the pre-India tour preparation is excellent for them. The series is up for grabs and it is foolish to think that we have this series in the bag.

Edited by fineleg

the fact is, they are 'struggling' vs lowest rank Test team...

vs Ind, half of rank-turners and they r done 5-0 or whatever number of tests...

5 hours ago, laaloo said:

Why are you always so paranoid?

Being wary of the opposition is still fine, but looks like fineleg hardly enjoys the cricket and the team's successes and constantly whines and worries about what could go wrong. Often under-estimates our own team and over-estimates the opposition.

Personally I think it will be a close series with India winning 3-1 or 3-2.

One Thing We hv to watch Out as England hv England hv abt 5 Lefties ,
So , a left arm spinner Makes No sense.. Jaddu Ji may hv to sit out For Mishra.

Harbhajan Can also sneak In.

No but we will not settle for anything less than 5-0 unless rain happens.

11 hours ago, fineleg said:

cbf,

Exactly. And the Eng are coming prepared after the series before this India series, so the pre-India tour preparation is excellent for them. The series is up for grabs and it is foolish to think that we have this series in the bag.

If ashwin was injured I would have agreed with you.