SUMO Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 nets injury is very frustrating why do they train so hard just before the test match get kohli and ashwin injured playing football tomorrow morning as well
Cricketics Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 I think my wish is coming true here. Manish Pandey added to the squad. Someone who was no where near the test squad earlier, that is good to see now that he is added. And it makes sense too because he has been brilliant so far in ODI's and on "A" tours in limited overs and can surely convert into big format with the way he bats.
Cricketics Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 1 hour ago, G_B_ said: hmm not good news for Rahane. This was his home deck with the ball coming onto the bat would have suited him to get back to form. Thakur should play on this deck. Knows the ground inside out. Batting really needs to click now in this game with lot of new players and lot of inexperience.
diga Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 ^Vijay & Rahul need to deliver in this test express bowling 1
gakgupta Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 ^Vijay & Rahul need to deliver in this test If Vijay is carrying niggles, then he should not play the match.... Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk
Laaloo Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 5 hours ago, G_B_ said: and IMO this is the best ground for England to make a comeback. Its close to the sea and the swing will be there for Anderson. The wicket should also have decent bounce. Mumbai has not been a happy hunting ground for India. SA won their only test series in India by winning at mumbai. England won last time as well. So 2 of the series losses for India since 1990, Mumbai has been involved. It was a dead rubber when India won v Aus in 2004 (Aus had won the series) Probably one of the very unindian grounds in a way. Yeah we lost to Mumbai in 2006 - Shane Udal We lost to England in Mumbai in 2016- monty and swann We also had a tie match with Windies - Ashwin I think we won a test here in mumbai against lanka with sreesanth
maniac Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 Pace replaces pace...Ishant in for injured Shami...usually Ishant is at his most threatening when he is rested and relaxed...so get him in. If Mumbai all of a sudden becomes a green track,then Bhuvi for Shami. Yadav stays 3 Spinners stay
Cricketics Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 3 hours ago, diga said: ^Vijay & Rahul need to deliver in this test Yes, plenty of pressure on Vijay with few failures already and batting average dropping.
Cricketics Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 2 minutes ago, maniac said: Pace replaces pace...Ishant in for injured Shami...usually Ishant is at his most threatening when he is rested and relaxed...so get him in. If Mumbai all of a sudden becomes a green track,then Bhuvi for Shami. Yadav stays 3 Spinners stay I would actually play Bhuvi but Ishant won't be a bad choice either. I do not like the idea of playing Ishant and Yadav together with no other seamer. Umesh is too inconsistent and if Ishant is similar, we could look really bad. Hence, Bhuvi, who might have a bad session of bowling, but will surely pull things back eventually.
maniac Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 Just now, Cricketics said: I would actually play Bhuvi but Ishant won't be a bad choice either. I do not like the idea of playing Ishant and Yadav together with no other seamer. Umesh is too inconsistent and if Ishant is similar, we could look really bad. Hence, Bhuvi, who might have a bad session of bowling, but will surely pull things back eventually. Going by the history of how Mumbai pitch behaves...Bhuvi might not be a good choice....Pace and reverse swing is the way to go....though not at Mumbai but remember the last test on a spinning pitch against South Africa in Delhi when South Africa was dead batting everything......Ishant and Yadav made things happen to force a result....even if they are ineffective....spinners should be the ones expected to run through the opposition. No disrespect to Bhuvi but these are not going to be the right conditions for him
Cricketics Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 Just now, maniac said: Going by the history of how Mumbai pitch behaves...Bhuvi might not be a good choice....Pace and reverse swing is the way to go....though not at Mumbai but remember the last test on a spinning pitch against South Africa in Delhi when South Africa was dead batting everything......Ishant and Yadav made things happen to force a result....even if they are ineffective....spinners should be the ones expected to run through the opposition. No disrespect to Bhuvi but these are not going to be the right conditions for him Mumbai conditions are always puzzling. They can produce different wickets every now and then similar to Delhi. Result will come for sure and I believe that Bhuvi might just test the Brit batsmens with his seam movement. Anyways, lets see. Umesh hits the deck pretty yard too if not like Ishant, so it is good to have a different kind of seamer, like Bhuvi.
Cricketics Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 42 minutes ago, laaloo said: Yeah we lost to Mumbai in 2006 - Shane Udal We lost to England in Mumbai in 2016- monty and swann We also had a tie match with Windies - Ashwin I think we won a test here in mumbai against lanka with sreesanth That was in 2011, the tie game. After that, we played Windies here in the unforgettable Tendulkar Test Match.
kruiser Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 40 minutes ago, maniac said: Pace replaces pace...Ishant in for injured Shami...usually Ishant is at his most threatening when he is rested and relaxed...so get him in. If Mumbai all of a sudden becomes a green track,then Bhuvi for Shami. Yadav stays 3 Spinners stay Ishant bawa ki shaadi hai.. he is not available. maniac, Laaloo and Cricketics 3
SUMO Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 going with 4 bowlers could be option... 3 spinners may be enough to take 20 wkts we are too dependent on kohli pujara...may be batting needs extra cushion
WC2011INDIA Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 I am betting Rahane just chickened out after hearing that the mumbai pitch will be a turner. The management must have also forced him to take time off. The funny part is that I am betting the pitch will be very good for batting. Most of the replacements will do wonderful and finish his career. Good. An overrated mumbai batsman. sandeep 1
Laaloo Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 55 minutes ago, WC2011INDIA said: I am betting Rahane just chickened out after hearing that the mumbai pitch will be a turner. The management must have also forced him to take time off. The funny part is that I am betting the pitch will be very good for batting. Most of the replacements will do wonderful and finish his career. Good. An overrated mumbai batsman. how many times must you embarass yourself? you look like you got a personal agenda against Rahane. Did he decline for an autograph?
Vilander Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 ishant released so is Shradul going to play in place of Shami ? what is he 125 trundler ? maniac 1
maniac Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 Just now, Vilander said: ishant released so is Shradul going to play in place of Shami ? what is he 125 trundler ? I think Bhuvi will play...no way in hell Mumbai is a 3 seamer wicket...so Yadav and Bhuvi it is
fineleg Posted December 7, 2016 Posted December 7, 2016 India being forced to play Bhuvneshwar Kumar instead of Shami will be a huge advantage for England. This is the get-out-jail card that England is looking for.