It's like a father-son relationship with MS Dhoni: Mohammed Shami

Sidhoni

5 minutes ago, BeautifulGame said:

Now mocking Sachin is like anti-national :hysterical:

Some Sachin fans do go to desperate depth to be protective of their "God"

Reminds me so much of blind followers of some political leaders in India .Can't even take slight criticism of them , even humourous ones lol

I didn't say it was anti-national....I was commenting on his statement about how Sachin's legs were shaking when her was facing Md.Shami in the nets just to win a internet battle...remind you of a similar statement said by a certain someone a few years back?

Even the hardcore of Sachin fans won't mind tongue-in cheek comments of calling him short or even a midget . I was just critiquing his statement.

Yes questioning a guy's commitment to the game,someone who has dedicated his entire youth and most adult life to the game is kind of anti-national-No issues questioning his political credentials,absolutely fair-game but that is not the debate here.

10 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Yes, it does. The age you show at age group cricket will carry forward at every level of cricket you play. It's not like at u19 or 22, you show your age 18 or 20 and when you play international, you will start showing 25. I already gave an example above of a guy who played club cricket for our club and then played U19 for J&K while he was 24 in real and now his cricinfo profile shows 21 while he actually is 26. He has already made his Ranji debut for J&K last year and now he does well with the bat and keeps and selected for team India 3 years down the line, his official age will still be 24 but actual age would be 29.

Yeh kaun hai?Th link shows...Oops something went wrong.:p:

Players from big cities have genuine age.....I think even with Sachin and Kambli they were class mates I believe but Kambli was 2-3 years older,had he been from a smaller town/village,Kambli's records would show he is the same age as Sachin.

1 hour ago, maniac said:

I didn't say it was anti-national....I was commenting on his statement about how Sachin's legs were shaking when her was facing Md.Shami in the nets just to win a internet battle...remind you of a similar statement said by a certain someone a few years back?

Even the hardcore of Sachin fans won't mind tongue-in cheek comments of calling him short or even a midget . I was just critiquing his statement.

Yes questioning a guy's commitmentto the game,someone who has dedicated his entire youth and most adult life to the game is kind of anti-national-No issues questioning his political credentials,absolutely fair-game but that is not the debate here.

First of all, I never did that.

Second of all, we have had people here question not only Dhoni's commitment but his integrity, intensions, honesty and even sexual orientation. No one raised any eyebrows then. One sarcastic remark and suddenly I am of a terrorist country. Did not expect that from you.

2 hours ago, maniac said:

Yes questioning a guy's commitment to the game,someone who has dedicated his entire youth and most adult life to the game is kind of anti-national-No issues questioning his political credentials,absolutely fair-game but that is not the debate here.

That sums up lol.

Sachin was a cricketer not the father of our nation.So yeah questioning his commitment on or off the field doesnt make anyone Anti-National.And that applies to any cricketer Sachin Dhoni Ganguly or Kapil.

Its just ludicrous blind fanboyism of the highest order to even suggest something that absurd.

Edited by BeautifulGame
32 minutes ago, BeautifulGame said:

That sums up lol.

Sachin was a cricketer not the father of our nation.So yeah questioning his commitment on or off the field doesnt make anyone Anti-National.And that applies to any cricketer Sachin Dhoni Ganguly or Kapil.

Its just ludicrous blind fanboyism of the highest order to even suggest something that absurd.

What Did you even read what I said? Sure Sachin is not beyond criticism in his political career or personal life.

Sure his cricketing innings can be critiqued too but there is a limit there from either side which I will get into later.

I am sure @Sidhonididn't mean it and said it out of frustration but all I said is saying things like Sachin's legs shiver when he sees fast bowling etc are usually associated from jealous neighbors....that's all.

Sachin's innings in Chennai test was obviously legendary but I have seen haters call it a master choke etc.....at the same time his innings against Pak in WC 2003 also has a similar legendary status but then again even there it was the middle order which came and finished the job and Sachin did get out after setting up the platform,but fortunately the euphoria of that win,makes haters usually skip it.

The example above is not an ammunition to anyone,all I am saying is perspective can be different,but if you are of a neutral mindset,the easiest thing to see there is Sachin's commitment and talent that set platforms on both occasions only difference being if the rest had it in them to step up or meekly surrender. Maybe Anti-national is a strong word but clearly people going overboard and just when we see people hating for the sake of hating-there is definitely a pattern there.

Now when it comes to bhakts-clearly most of the posters here have grown up in a generation where Sachin was the guy stepping up pretty much every time regardless of the result,so there is a certain affection associated with him-I don't see why that should be a problem? Yeah obviously people can get over the top on both sides especially with Sachin....but the fact is if you understand what Sachin meant to a whole generation of Indians,you will easily understand why it is so easy to go overboard on the worship side than the hatred side....obviously as the old saying goes too much sugar can be very bitter too,I get when some people are pushed to the edge,but you need a perspective here.

Every cricketer who plays for the country has commitment......I have seen even Vinay Kumar throw himself in the boundary and give it his all while playing for the country but he just lacked the ability....if people say Vinay Kumar is a useless trundler,sure it is his skill that is being mocked but yeah when we say that Vinay the lejund is the 2nd coming of Marshall but he is a phattu who is scared or a fixer or doesn't care about the country or Selfish as excuses for his inability-Sure that being "Pakistani" tag will apply there too.

To be fair, I think these age change can happen easily or back in 90s was common among kids who came from areas which weren't developed well in those days and proper birth certificates weren't issued. I remember one of my classmates telling me how he was an year older to me because he had moved from patna to Delhi late  and was born in some month when school admissions usually take place and hence his father opted for a new birth certificate showing him an year young so he could get into the same class as students of his age etc. Parents play these games a lot or at least used to back in the 90s in different parts of India. 

On 12/28/2016 at 1:43 AM, Sidhoni said:

Hypocritical much? All MTC does is bring Dhoni down in whichever way he can but we speak one thing against Sachin and we become Pakistanis. Sachin nahi hua Modi ho gaya.

Dude, as I have said before Dhoni fans started this when Sachin was on the verge of retiring. Not only did you contribute, you actively encouraged obvious trolls who were pretending to support Dhoni. Many Sachin fans were driven away. Now when Dhoni is on his last legs and people do the same, you have problems? Sachin has retied now but for a few years Dhoni fans made this place hell for Sachin supporters. 

Now Dhoni fans cannot claim to be victims, they are just getting a very small dose of how Sachin fans felt for many years

Also, Dhoni criticism with Kohli doing well is very valid. Isn't it the obvious question about when Kohli will take over in all formats? People always praise success and question failures. Ugte suraj ko sabhi salaam karte hai

Edited by New guy
2 hours ago, New guy said:

Dude, as I have said before Dhoni fans started this when Sachin was on the verge of retiring. Not only did you contribute, you actively encouraged obvious trolls who were pretending to support Dhoni. Many Sachin fans were driven away. Now when Dhoni is on his last legs and people do the same, you have problems? Sachin has retied now but for a few years Dhoni fans made this place hell for Sachin supporters. 

Now Dhoni fans cannot claim to be victims, they are just getting a very small dose of how Sachin fans felt for many years

Also, Dhoni criticism with Kohli doing well is very valid. Isn't it the obvious question about when Kohli will take over in all formats? People always praise success and question failures. Ugte suraj ko sabhi salaam karte hai

Repeating a lie doesn't make it true. The thing about Dhoni fans starting something when Sachin retired is just a pigment of your imagination. Fact is Sachin wasn't able to contribute to the team and everyone was able to see it, not just Dhoni fans. If I also wrote here that I believed he should have retired earlier that is just me sharing my opinion more than anything else. If you remember I was also the one who started the tribute thread for the great man. Maybe you should realize there is more to my identity than just being a Dhoni fan.

On 12/28/2016 at 10:01 AM, rkt.india said:

Who knows! There will be some exceptions who are their real age. Still age is just a number. its about how fit and athletic you are. you might be 25 but not fit enough. take examples of PK and Munaf Patel. You think they are as old as their official age suggests. If you have played any level of cricket, you will know how common age fudging is.

I'm don't have a POV on Dhini v. SRT v. any random Joe. Not interested in those battles.

But your comment that "age is just a number " caught my eye and took me back a very, very long time ago when I went as part of a class 7 cricket team to play a game against St Columba's school in Delhi and our team got rolled over by a spinner who was very,very good- and had a full on beard. Yeah,  Columba's said he was in class 7.

Even now I think that, while I was a mediocre cricketer who wasn't good enough to go beyond the school/college level, , how many actually decent and talented kids  did this guy screw over taking an unfair age advantage at every level?  

More generally how many people have been screwed over in junior and under-19 cricket by these overaged b@stards?  It's no use to me saying "The good guys will emerge anyway", But how much talent have we lost because the guy who would have made a junior team got replaced by some other kid 2-4 years older and then left the game? One could argue that the Mishra jees and Sehwags of this world would still have made it despite fudging their age, but how many potentially candidates out there could have gone to represent India if they had not been unfairly sidelined by older candidates who should not have played? 

In my opinion, fudging one's age has such serious consequences for the system, that we need to try eliminating it as much as possible(not sure what procedures are in place today).  One suggestion is to make punishment should be retrospective at the state and national under 15 and under 19 levels and also for Ranji.   That is, every player participating in their first state or national under 15/19 or Ranji game gets a bone density check (or whatever the test is) and if found overage, bang his records are expunged and he has to take a take a 2 year time out from all levels of the game.  Maybe then we'll see more justice prevail in the game.

As you can see this $hit really gets my goat.:biggrin: 

Edited by NameGoesHere
2 hours ago, NameGoesHere said:

I'm don't have a POV on Dhini v. SRT v. any random Joe. Not interested in those battles.

But your comment that "age is just a number " caught my eye and took me back a very, very long time ago when I went as part of a class 7 cricket team to play a game against St Columba's school in Delhi and our team got rolled over by a spinner who was very,very good- and had a full on beard. Yeah,  Columba's said he was in class 7.

Even now I think that, while I was a mediocre cricketer who wasn't good enough to go beyond the school/college level, , how many actually decent and talented kids  did this guy screw over taking an unfair age advantage at every level?  

More generally how many people have been screwed over in junior and under-19 cricket by these overaged b@stards?  It's no use to me saying "The good guys will emerge anyway", But how much talent have we lost because the guy who would have made a junior team got replaced by some other kid 2-4 years older and then left the game? One could argue that the Mishra jees and Sehwags of this world would still have made it despite fudging their age, but how many potentially candidates out there could have gone to represent India if they had not been unfairly sidelined by older candidates who should not have played? 

In my opinion, fudging one's age has such serious consequences for the system, that we need to try eliminating it as much as possible(not sure what procedures are in place today).  One suggestion is to make punishment should be retrospective at the state and national under 15 and under 19 levels and also for Ranji.   That is, every player participating in their first state or national under 15/19 or Ranji game gets a bone density check (or whatever the test is) and if found overage, bang his records are expunged and he has to take a take a 2 year time out from all levels of the game.  Maybe then we'll see more justice prevail in the game.

Right on. Btw, which school you played for in Delhi? What is the Parle G cup?