India have been thumped

G_B_

4 minutes ago, Gambit said:

MSD needs to watch videos of his 183*. This isn't what I expected at all when we were told that he will bat freely etc now.

He has been a mediocre T20 batsman but given he will be selected, he needs to go hard from ball 1 and not 20 off 20 and then launch strategy.

Fans need to accept that Dhoni of 2005 is a memory.  What he have is an older version of Dhoni.  Who still will murder anything pitched in his arc to the boundary, no matter what the field.  Tactics have evolved, and he's gotten older.  Today's Dhoni is simply incapable of "going hard" from ball 1.  That's not his game anymore.  He is the back-up anchor for the days when VK fails - like today.  That's still good enough for a spot in the team, given his all-world gloves.  What we need is VK to be complemented by a couple of young guns who can bat like the likes of Roy, Buttler, Maxwell etc.  Can't ask VK to turn into Maxwell - that's not his game either.  Same goes for Dhoni.  Gotta accept him for what he is.  And make best use of him.  And then wish him goodbye once done.  That day is not too far anyway.  Simply wishing for that 183 Dhoni is only going to set you up for disappointment.

22 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Fans need to accept that Dhoni of 2005 is a memory.  What he have is an older version of Dhoni.  Who still will murder anything pitched in his arc to the boundary, no matter what the field.  Tactics have evolved, and he's gotten older.  Today's Dhoni is simply incapable of "going hard" from ball 1.  That's not his game anymore.  He is the back-up anchor for the days when VK fails - like today.  That's still good enough for a spot in the team, given his all-world gloves.  What we need is VK to be complemented by a couple of young guns who can bat like the likes of Roy, Buttler, Maxwell etc.  Can't ask VK to turn into Maxwell - that's not his game either.  Same goes for Dhoni.  Gotta accept him for what he is.  And make best use of him.  And then wish him goodbye once done.  That day is not too far anyway.  Simply wishing for that 183 Dhoni is only going to set you up for disappointment.

Then Dhoni has to come up the order. If Kohli plans to keep on opening the batting then Dhoni should bat at no.3. He can build the innings as he cant go big from ball one. Yuvi next, Raina at 5, Pant at 6 and Dhoni needs to stop making that statement that he wants to bat freely.

Raina is our best no.3 and should bat there .

Yuvi has no place in T20s and we should look to find a replacement for Dhoni too.

1 minute ago, BeautifulGame said:

Yuvi has no place in T20s and we should look to find a replacement for Dhoni too.

And you are basing this on.........?

37 minutes ago, King Tendulkar said:

Msd always poor in t20s . Now he is oap we still playing him in meanligess t20 friendless !

shocking

Because 6 batsmen failed to deliver

15 minutes ago, BeautifulGame said:

I am talking about the current squad. But yes in an ideal squad Yuvi should not be playing T20I. Dhoni for all his faults atm is still ok if he plays up the order but we should start looking for a replacement soon. Raina will be found wanting if he is peppered with short deliveries. He was lucky today. England bizarrely didn't test him with bouncers.

Edited by Mosher
20 minutes ago, speedheat said:

We have loads of loads of problems

Pant

Rohit

Kohli

Nair

Raina

Yousuf pathan

Dhoni

Aeron/shami

Bumrah

Bhuvi

Jaddu

This is my t20 team

pathan ne kya kiya hai?

Overreaction much? This team was winning every t20 last year home and away until WC Semi. Last 2 WCs : runners up and semis. Its just one game where at least 4 of our first 11 players are absent.

pathan ne kya kiya hai?

Areyy we need powarfull hard hitter at number six to get us quick 30 or 40, right now we don't have any so i choose pathan, their was young guy from Rajasthan from u19 WC 2016 I forgot his name he could hit huge sixes need to nurture him if not pathan

4 hours ago, Cricketics said:

Just poor batting and contrary to people suggesting that India lost because we had lack of firepower, India lost because 3 of our bats did not bat with common sense and should be dropped and the order should be changed. I am talking about Yuvi, Pandey and Rahul. We did not miss any firepower, but we missed some simple common sense batting as that is what would have taken us past 175+ today.

Funny thing is that Kohli played and showed the world how to play twenty20 cricket by displaying same style in 2020 world cup and then in IPL without hitting and just rotating and later picking up the runnrate. His that approach almost won us the t20 world cup and also almost won RCB the IPL and yet people forget that and after one poor performance of the team people are reduced to saying in match thread  that we lack fire power for twenty20 side when the real reason for our poor batting is that we did not show any common sense while batting today as showing it would have taken India to 175+.

Some people who just talk about lack of fire power need to go watch twenty20s from last year. More than fire power, India just sucked at playing fast bowling. That is what was the difference today. Yuvi, Rahul, Pandey getting out cheaply instead of rotating and scoring odd boundaries is why we got such a poor total today, and not because of lack of fire power. There was no common sense batting today from 3 players out of six. 

We need to repalce these guys. Get Pant to Open. And bat smart. Not SLOG only. Bat Smart. 

Rotating strike is not that simple as you have put it.Not everyone can do it that is why Kohli is special, so to make up for that you need players who can bash that ball which this team does not have.

Kohli's rotation of strike worked in RCB because they had Gayle and AB who were pretty good in bashing the ball.there is reason why India did not end up with cups in last two cups even though Kohli was sizzling hot. .This Indian line up does not have any  Gayles' or ABDVs , all they have people  who are inconsistent and are incapable to clearing boundaries. 

7 minutes ago, YCCC said:

Who cares if it is 3-0? If you had to choose a series you don't mind losing it would surely be this one. Especially after winning the other two.

Don't worry you have a very good team with one gun fast bowler away from becoming a great team.I will not be surprised if England and Australia clash in finals in next CT.

10 minutes ago, YCCC said:

Who cares if it is 3-0? If you had to choose a series you don't mind losing it would surely be this one. Especially after winning the other two.

Agreed.  I wanted England to win even the ODI series.  The win papers over the glaring deficiencies in our batting unit as well as batting tactics.  They are showing up in all their glory in the T20.  

For England's part - they need to find a wicket-taking spinner before WC 2019 - either back Rashid and give him carte blanche, let him play 20 games in a row, give him the ball, instead of benching him at the first sign of trouble.  Or find another candidate and give him the long rope.  5 odd overs of Ali's darts aren't going to be enough to get the WC in 2019, even if it's in England.  

Playing Ali and Stokes both, 100% of the time, when both are not full-time bowlers is preventing you from developing a proper spinner.  For the India series - Imagine if Billings and Rashid had played instead of Ali and Ball/Plunkett/Willey.  Very different ball game.  

I love Rash (obviously) but this whole tour has been an eye opener for him across all formats. He's a bit of an enigma, his performances depend on confidence. Various Yorkshire captains have managed to get the best oit of him because they understand him but I can imagine he'd be difficult to manage for anyone who doesn't know him well. Purely for this reason I don't see him having a long term England future, you don't get many successful international cricketers with "confidence issues". The trouble is, as all followers of English cricket are aware, there are very few alternatives, certainly no one I'd feel confidence in in a world cup. Have to say I'd probably go with Moeen and four or five pace options at this stage.