Popular Post Brainfade Posted February 3, 2017 Popular Post Posted February 3, 2017 (edited) Growing up in the 70s and 80s, it wasn't too easy being an Indian fan. While we had our superstars, and our moments of greatness, we simply seemed incapable of consistently dominating everyone we faced. Especially bad were our struggles in LOI cricket, which demanded aggression, athleticism and agility that very few of our guys had in abundance. And then came the 90s, most of which I missed. Again, but for a few shining stars, we didn't have the firepower to strike fear in the hearts of our opponents, especially the boorish, aggressive, dominating Australians. Fast forward to today and it is exceedingly heartening to see how complete Indian cricket actually is. Some of it has to do with other teams not being as good as they were, but there is no denying that we are fighting-fit unit. Just take these past several months. We have played consistently good cricket across formats - dominating the Windies, demolishing the Kiwis and putting the Poms in their place. We have specialist teams for each format, and have multiple guys who are the best in the world in their roles. We are aggressive and - for the most part - fit and athletic. We also don't take crap or back off from other teams' aggression. But, most of all, we seem to have incredible bench strength - there is a talented group of newer guys who seamlessly slide into the roles of injured seniors - plug and play. No Shami? No problem. Plug Bhuvi in. No Ashwin and Jaddu? No problem. Yuz to the rescue. No Rohit Sharma? Whatever. Let's put in the guy who can score a triple hundred. Saha is hurt? Bring in Parthiv - yeah, his keeping is suspect, but boy did he bat us into good positions when needed! Need all-rounders? Ashwin in tests, Pandya in LOIs. Need older guys to step in and carry the load - Yuvi and Raina are doing it. We don't depend on 1 or 2 super stars, but each guy stands up and performs when his number is called. And don't forget Kedar Jadhav who is just getting started, and Rishabh Pant who hasn't even had a go yet :-)!! This team also seems to be genuinely having fun. I know, I know, it's easy to have fun while you're winning. But it's also easy to win when you're having fun, and the synergism between enjoyment and winning is truly showing. No one seems insecure; the guys seem to know that, although the competition for each position is hot, they will be given a fair run before being replaced. There is an air of confidence. Two things struck me the most: (1) the genuine team-spirit that Dhoni and Kohli displayed during the ODIs and T20s. While some here were complaining about Kohli just being a rubber-stamp guy etc., it simply didn't seem that way to me. It appeared that MSD was genuinely helping out with the field, especially when VK was away from the action because he placed himself at crucial long-off/long-on spots, and that VK was genuinely seeking advice from MSD. (2) VK's true leadership in deflecting praise away from himself for successful tactical moves, and the true joy he seems to derive from the individual success of each person on the team! This is in complete contrast to my early days as a fan, when it was always egos clashing: Gavaskar vs. Kapil Dev, Kapil Dev vs. Prabhakar, and of course Azharuddin vs. integrity. I am thoroughly enjoying watching this Indian team play together - as a unit, for the common purpose of winning - koi hum se jeet na paave chale chalo chale chalo!! Edited February 3, 2017 by Moth2Flame Mosher, Forever Indian, cowboysfan and 23 others 26
sandeep Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 Excellent post Moth. Its a great time to be a India Cricket fan. And the best thing is we hopefully have more greatness ahead of us. Your point about the genuine camaraderie between VK and MS is so important. That sort of thing should never be taken for granted. It requires grace, humility and character from both ends. To add to your summary, another thing that I'm absolutely loving is the hunger and desire for true greatness that VK has injected into the entire team now. Both at an individual, as well as team level. VK's ambition (so far) are having a positive impact on the team and the way it goes about its cricket. We've always had individuals who were truly world-class, but we've never had a team that dominated the sport. We are no way near there yet, but are clearly on the path towards it. We may not get there, but either way, its going to be a fun ride! cowboysfan, Mosher, Gambit and 2 others 5
Unleashed Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 What a brilliant thread, bhai. I'm not an oldie but I remember the mid 90s days when our team simply sucked in every department. I don't think people appreciate this team enough tbh and especially on this board, when you see the number of whinging threads.
Unleashed Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 This current series win especially limited overs one shouldn't be underestimated at any cost. England have a fantastic team and still we outplayed them and even better that we defeated them in T20 when Kohli didn't perform. express bowling 1
maniac Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 My excitement peaked with this young squad when we won the series in WI and Srilanka. NO I am not one of those who only rates series outside the Indian border and puts down home performances but let me tell you why. In Srilanka we won a series after 20+ years, people can say great big deal...Srilankan team is on the weaker side since their greats retired but the best part was We won the series being 1-0 down. The cherry on top was the first test is something we lost when we should have easily won it and after dominating more than 3 days. Chandimal played an outstanding innings and usually when an opposition player plays a blinder like that, it dents the momentum. We shook off,regathered ourselves and won the next 2 tests like nothing happened...that is the hallmark of a great team. In WI,We sealed the series but we still kept trying to win as many tests as possible...that was incredible.....earlier it used to be like OK,we won overseas game,let us shut shop and draw the rest...but this team showed it is different. At home in ODI's and Tests it is pretty much business as usual and we are expected to win regardless...I mean I am still not happy with the ODI and T20I squads but we still won.....but since this is a refreshingly positive thread the best part was watching fringe players stepping up and showing the hunger to succeed and overtake players who are guaranteed first choice.....likes of Yadav,Nair,Jadhav,Chahal have all grabbed opportunities....even someone like Pandya and Pant have shown they can hang in there at the highest level. So yes excited and hope that winning make us stagnate and we keep evolving like the way we are...with BCCI power and money there is no excuse why we shouldn't be like the WI team of the 70s and 80's and the Aussies of the 90's and 200's...but at the end of the day the players need to deliver and so far everything is going in the right direction. Mosher, AuxiliA, Laaloo and 3 others 6
Laaloo Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 Yup @maniac That SL series was impressive. To come back from 1-0 deficit in a 3 test series away after that Knock by Chandimal is truly special. Kohli has clearly shown that he is hungry for victories. Some of his tactics may not work but you cannot question his determination and commitment. I truly feel that this regiment will deliver us a series victory in Aus and South Africa. Great time to be an Indian Cricket Fan indeed. Gambit, AuxiliA, Cricketics and 4 others 7
kira Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 The Indian team from 1986 to 1996 was so $hit, just look at their pathetic record against the padosis, So glad that I didn't watch those losers live and started watching cricket from 1996, can't imagine what it would have been like to follow those bunch of wusses during that era http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/index.html?class=2;opposition=7;spanmax2=1+jan+1996;spanmin2=1+jan+1986;spanval2=span;team=6;template=results;type=team View overall figures [change view] Primary team India Opposition team Pakistan Start of match date between 1 jan 1986 and 1 jan 1996 Totals in terms of batting team Ordered by matches won (descending) Page 1 of 1 Showing 1 - 1 of 1 First Previous Next Last Return to query menuCleared query menu Overall figures Team Span Mat Won Lost Tied NR W/L Ave RPO Inns HS LS India 1986-1995 25 4 20 0 1 0.200 25.47 4.56 24 273 112 AuxiliA and Laaloo 2
Mosher Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 (edited) The thing about Kohli is winning is his 1st priority, he wont let things like ego come in between that and he wants to make the best use of his resources. Exciting times for an Indian cricket fan indeed! Edited February 3, 2017 by Mosher maniac, Laaloo and express bowling 3
kruiser Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 In 90s, i remember, i used to get scared to get into winnable positions towards the end. because that would get your hopes up and then .. BASH. It was routine for Team India to loose from seemingly already won positions. So yeah, more than happy to be where we are today! sandeep, express bowling and Mosher 3
Laaloo Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 (edited) I still remember that 2009 test against NZ where we set them 617 runs to win. Yes we were up 1-0 in the series and this was the last test but 617 runs? Are you kidding me? We had them 8 down before rain intervened. Thank You Process!! http://www.espncricinfo.com/nzvind2009/engine/match/366629.html Hopefullly we never see something like this ever again. Edited February 3, 2017 by laaloo MCcricket 1
express bowling Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 (edited) Mothbhai....excellent OP Four things are really impressing me about this team How even out-of-form or reduced-ability players are stepping up and performing in this team, like Raina and Yuvraj. The same thing applies for rookies and relatively new guys like Jayant, Nair and Kedar who have performed out of their skins. It shows the tremendous team spirit that Kohli and Kumble have been able to generate in this team. Everyone wants to contribute to the cause of the team. There was a lot of concern that this team will not be able to perform in LOIs if Kohli is dismissed but we have seen Yuvraj, Jadhav, Dhoni and Pandya step up. Shami, Umesh and Bhuvi are much improved test bowlers. We have got 5 or 6 genuine fast bowlers playing together for team India, who can hit almost 90 mph or more, almost every day and bowl good bouncers to soften the opposition batsmen. We have been at the receiving end of this for decades and good to see us giving it back to other teams. The OP talked about this and it is bench strength. A team which had very few back-ups has suddenly been able to successfully replace almost any player who has got injured. ( and there have been numerous injuries ) As Mosher said... Kohli wants to win at all costs and this is so enjoyable Yes.... I am really enjoying Indian cricket now. Edited February 3, 2017 by express bowling Laaloo, Mosher and Cricketics 3
maniac Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 90's was like torture and abuse. The most hurtful ones were Chennai test-Had we won we would have won the series Bridgetown test-Had we won we would have won the series Johannesburg test-not entirely our fault rain ruined our chances 96 Semifinal against Srilanka 99 WC loss against Zimbabwe and loads of ODI matches where we just surrendered meekly
Yoda-esque Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 Top post..However,we should see how this forum behaves once things start going even a little downhill:) Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk Sidhoni 1
sandeep Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 2 minutes ago, Yoda-esque said: Top post..However,we should see how this forum behaves once things start going even a little downhill:) Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk If and when that happens - expect VK to be a lightning rod and get blamed for any and all things on and off the field! BUT, given the state of the team, I don't see that happening for quiet some time
Cricketics Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 We have learned a real life lesson. Kohli was called Arrogant, brash, too hot head to run and lead an Indian team. If you run a business, you can not leave the store open for the thieves and tell them "come rob my store." Similarly, We are in the century where you have to show and don't give any damn or respect the opposition too much. You have to fire up your players and lead from the front, which Kohli has shown and had always shown earlier but peoole kept calling him hot head and arrogant. Arrogant is not a word to be used in sports. That was Kohli's attitude to give it back to the opposition. And that is working well for India and will continue to work well for India. In Adelaide test during the 2015 tour, when he captained for the first time when Dhoni was injured, he showed his approach to go after the attack and win it for India. India lost the match and it was a heart breaking loss after the effort put by him and Vijay, and that hurt Kohli's ego big time. I am glad it hurt his ego because he took that game to the heart and ever since then, has made it a point that he and his players will play always for the victory and not entertain the myths and the records. That Adelaide test defeat was a blessing in disguise. We are going to go overseas next time with a complete different mind set, and will surely win with the trio of Kohli-Pujara and Rahane present in the team. Indeed interesting times.
maniac Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 4 minutes ago, Yoda-esque said: Top post..However,we should see how this forum behaves once things start going even a little downhill:) Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk India was getting hammered in the 90's.....we still hold SRT to a god like level(most of us at least since I know whom I am addressing the post to ) Azhar was loved till he fd up big time,Ganguly has fanatical fan following,RD has some hardcore fan boys ,Kumble and Srinath are universally respected by every Indian fan So as long as the team and the individuals are getting outplayed or losing with a fight it is ok.....some players are blamed or criticized because their boneheaded decisions have either cost games or made situations that cold be salvageable worse. Laaloo 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 Few things about Indian cricket M excited about 1. Our test cricket.....looks a really good team. Nt sure about LOI rite now 2. Bench strength of pacers.....never ever seen so many options who can bowl around 140k 3. Upcoming players with x-factors in LOI 4. Cupboard of spinner which was looking empty has few good options now to 5. Avg age of this indian side is such that we shudnt see any declines for next 10 yrs if new players also get along smoothly tweaker, AuxiliA, maniac and 1 other 4
BeautifulGame Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 46 minutes ago, maniac said: India was getting hammered in the 90's.....we still hold SRT to a god like level(most of us at least since I know whom I am addressing the post to ) Azhar was loved till he fd up big time,Ganguly has fanatical fan following,RD has some hardcore fan boys ,Kumble and Srinath are universally respected by every Indian fan So as long as the team and the individuals are getting outplayed or losing with a fight it is ok.....some players are blamed or criticized because their boneheaded decisions have either cost games or made situations that cold be salvageable worse. There was no social media phenomenon or even internet in 90s .Everything is manifested 100 times nowadays .Not just in cricket. Just see in how many Polls Obama is voted US worst president for sample.
BeautifulGame Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 Great post,Enjoyable read @Moth2Flame How was watching cricket in TV in olden days in 80s.Particularly the World cup 83.Did they telecast every match in DD or just news clippings?Something that I always wondered.
King Tendulkar Posted February 3, 2017 Posted February 3, 2017 We had great times basically from 2001 onwards . Not something new india team good .