Gollum 8,892 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 (edited) Strictly Indian ones, please don't bring in French or Brazilian specialties. IMO the best part of Indian cuisine is our range of sweets. I love (not a ranking): 1. Bhapa Sandesh 2. Kheer Kadam 3. Malai Chom Chom 4. Kalo Jaam...prefer it over Gulab Jamun 5. Shahi Tukda/Double Ka Meetha (Hyderabad) 6. Rasmalai 7. Malpua of Puri (Odisha) 8. Kerala Style Halwa 9. Badu Shah (South) or the Bihar/UP version that is Balushahi Honorable mentions: Kaju Pista Roll, Langcha, Lobongo, Gajar Ka Halwa, Soan Papdi, Mishti Doi, Rice Kheer, Jalebi, Imarti/Jangiri. Edited August 25, 2018 by Gollum 1 3 Under_Score, Turning_track, Clarke and 1 other reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Gollum 8,892 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 @velu No Mysore Pak 1 velu reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Switchblade 8,159 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 Ras Malai Sandesh Son Papri Gulab Jamun @Rasgulla Belgrami 1 1 1 sensible-indian, Gollum and Rasgulla reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Gollum 8,892 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 3 minutes ago, Switchblade said: Ras Malai Sandesh Son Papri Gulab Jamun @Rasgulla Belgrami Never tasted Belgrami bro, have to give it a try Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Stradlater 2,259 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 Kaju katali 1 1 chewy and Gollum reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Gollum 8,892 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 (edited) 1 minute ago, Stradlater said: Kaju katali Bas ek? What are the famous specialties of Rajasthan? Edited August 25, 2018 by Gollum Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
velu 16,124 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 1) Ghee mysore paaku Good mysorepaa Should melt in the mouth 2) jaavarasi payasam ( sagoo keer ) 3) sweet pongal ( can be taken as main course as well ) 4) who cares 1 2 Turning_track, Under_Score and Gollum reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Switchblade 8,159 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 12 minutes ago, Gollum said: Never tasted Belgrami bro, have to give it a try @sscomp32 Belgrami and Tilkut khilai bhai ko. 1 Gollum reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Stradlater 2,259 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 (edited) 19 minutes ago, Gollum said: Bas ek? What are the famous specialties of Rajasthan? There are quite a few but one I absolutely love is ghevar. Bikaneri Rasgullas are quite famous too. Probably on par with Bengali ones. Edited August 25, 2018 by Stradlater 1 Gollum reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cric_fan 998 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 RasgullaGulab Jaman 2 Under_Score and Rasgulla reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Stradlater 2,259 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 20 minutes ago, cric_fan said: Rasgulla Gulab Jaman Abe kuch special bata apne region ki Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cric_fan 998 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 Abe kuch special bata apne region ki Patha nahin yaar. Hum bi Indian sweet kaathey hein. 1 Stradlater reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rahulrulezz 922 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 There is this famous Bangladeshi sweet shop in Toronto and OH MY GOD, I have missed so much in my life. No North Indian, no South Indian sweets come close to these Bongs (sorry) mithai. They know their $hit when it comes to mithai. Man those mithais are something else. It’s been three years and i am hooked to these Bong mithais. 1 1 Gollum and Turning_track reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
panther 121 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 Sadly I have only tried one of those on the list. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asterix 6,066 Report post Posted August 25, 2018 Being a Bengali, I love Bengali sweets. But the ones dishes out by Haldiram’s...:embarrassed: But I love Motichur Laddus... & Imartis... Maybe because I’m born and brought up in MP... As a combo I love Khoya/Mawa/Plain Jalebis with Rabri... Also a combo of Warm Gulab Jamuns with Custard and a dollop of Vanilla Ice Cream does it for me... 3 Under_Score, Switchblade and Gollum reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PBN 1,891 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 (edited) As a kid, used to love shakar. Have developed a liking for textured sweets. don't have sweets much anymore but once in a while. some things i like or used to like: panjeeri/khoya pinnis (like them warm) dhoda gajrela with khoya on top :P suji da halua / bread halua rasgullas but prefer with the coconut textured rasmalai milk cake barfi ( again love it for the texture) amritiya/jalebis but prefer the khoya variety pista kulfi malpuras back in the days Edited August 26, 2018 by PBN 1 1 Rasgulla and Gollum reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasgulla 6,982 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 Kalakanth right at the Top 2 Gollum and Switchblade reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Franco Vazquez 872 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 Sohn Halwa 2 Gollum and Switchblade reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
FischerTal 1,026 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 Shrikhand, ras malai, there’s this sweet called kathod/khaja found in nathdwara, rajasthan. My family goes there frequently to pray at shrinathji temple. Also, their mohanthaal is really good 1 2 Gollum, Switchblade and Turning_track reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Turning_track 1,260 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 @Gollum I agree with your list except last two & I'm really surprised nobody mentioned Ghevar. I had never tasted it before but a week back my parents got it from Sonipat made from pure ghee & I'm devouring it since the last few days Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nikred 684 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 No takers for Ajmeri Kalakand? Sent from my Redmi Note 4 using Tapatalk Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Stradlater 2,259 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 1 hour ago, Turning_track said: @Gollum I agree with your list except last two & I'm really surprised nobody mentioned Ghevar. I had never tasted it before but a week back my parents got it from Sonipat made from pure ghee & I'm devouring it since the last few days I mentioned it. It's a Teej festival speciality 1 Turning_track reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Turning_track 1,260 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 1 minute ago, Stradlater said: I mentioned it. It's a Teej festival speciality Oops I missed it, the one which I'm having is a dry one much different from the one you've posted. But man, it seems really tasty. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Stradlater 2,259 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 1 hour ago, Turning_track said: Oops I missed it, the one which I'm having is a dry one much different from the one you've posted. But man, it seems really tasty. Yeah dry one doesn't have the cream topping. It's heavenly Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Gollum 8,892 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 I also love Rabri, especially the Bengali version. Any milk based sweet, I doubt anyone can better the Bongs. 1 asterix reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Gollum 8,892 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 (edited) Nobin Chandra Das and his son Krishna Chandra Das (inventors of Roshogolla, Ras Malai/Rossomalai, Kheer Kadam, Raj Bhog, Sondesh......) must rank among the most influential Indians of the modern era. In fact that entire family tree (spanning 3 generations) was a big part of the Bengal Renaissance movement, especially with regards to the spirit of scientific exploration. The original sweet shop was a major gathering point for the who's who of Calcutta....Swami Vivekananda, Ramakrishna Paramhansa and Sarada Devi in particular were held hostage by the awesomeness of the delicacies there. Edited August 26, 2018 by Gollum 1 asterix reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
speedheat 7,323 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 (edited) Son papri (most favorite) Mayesur paak Barfi Jalebi Rasgulla Patoleo Edited August 26, 2018 by speedheat Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asterix 6,066 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 I like mild sweets too: Sandesh, payasam/kheer, Halwa.. I love warm 'Kada Parshad' whenever I visit my local Gurudwara.... 2 Switchblade and Turning_track reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Turning_track 1,260 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 So, Rosogolla is originally from Bengal or Odisha? I've travelled in both states & the inhabitants claim that it is from their own respective state. There has been lot of controversies around its GI tag as well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Gollum 8,892 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 2 hours ago, Turning_track said: So, Rosogolla is originally from Bengal or Odisha? I've travelled in both states & the inhabitants claim that it is from their own respective state. There has been lot of controversies around its GI tag as well. Debatable but Bengal is the more popular choice because it is the birthplace of most of our milk based sweets. I have stayed in both states and never met an Odia who thought otherwise, this is a recent controversy I believe. But even if the final verdict goes their way I personally don't mind, I never really liked Roshogolla tbh....Bengal has produced far far better sweets. Odisha has given us Malpua....no legacy compared to her eastern neighbor which is the Mecca for all those with sweet tooth, so probability wise I would give the edge to Bengal if it comes to debates over invention of a chhana based item. This is similar to the Imarti/Jaangiri debate....Northies will claim it as their own, Southies will have a different view. Many of our sweets have local variations, won't be surprised if that is the case with Roshogolla. 1 Turning_track reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zen 6,530 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 Kajukatri, esp if done right Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PBN 1,891 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 Had rasgulla /sponge rasgulla from bangladeshi shop today and the ones from the punjabi shop tasted better with the coconut sprinklings 1 1 velu and Cricketics reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PBN 1,891 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 'lakarh' barfi is quite good as well Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
velu 16,124 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 how many people tried this baking coconut in your childhood .. pseudo-religious sweet before the arrival of monsoon Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_rules 3,729 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 mysore pak <time since big bang> . . . wait for it... . . . /thread b& @Gollum 1 velu reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Gollum 8,892 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 I have tried Mysore Pak a few times, every single time the smell/taste of ghee was way too overwhelming. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
velu 16,124 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 9 minutes ago, Gollum said: I have tried Mysore Pak a few times, every single time the smell/taste of ghee was way too overwhelming. try sri krishna or a2b brand frankly its very difficult to get the right mix unlike other sweets which are bit easy to prepare Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Gollum 8,892 Report post Posted August 26, 2018 (edited) 7 minutes ago, velu said: try sri krishna or a2b brand frankly its very difficult to get the right mix unlike other sweets which are bit easy to prepare Tried in mostly A2B (Bengaluru), never liked it. Their Paneer Jalebis OTOH are absolutely delicious. Edited August 26, 2018 by Gollum Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cricketics 8,443 Report post Posted January 30 Doesn’t have to be from your local area, Any region. I honestly love Kaju ki barfi and good gulab Jamun. Unfortunately, I have not eaten a decent gulab Jamun in over 15 years as nothing compares to the ones in India. Here in U.S, all gulab jamun vendors have weird kind of sweet taste which makes you want to put it away. I have had luck once or twice but most were okayish and hence I have stopped buying/ordering Gulab Jamuns here. But I still love Gulab Jamun and Kaju Barfi the most among all Indian mithais. What is your favorite Mithai? 1 1 velu and Ridgepi reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Stradlater 2,259 Report post Posted January 30 Ras Malai baby 2 velu and Cricketics reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beetle 14,207 Report post Posted January 30 Gajar ka hawla. 1 Cricketics reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beetle 14,207 Report post Posted January 30 27 minutes ago, Cricketics said: Doesn’t have to be from your local area, Any region. I honestly love Kaju ki barfi and good gulab Jamun. Unfortunately, I have not eaten a decent gulab Jamun in over 15 years as nothing compares to the ones in India. Here in U.S, all gulab jamun vendors have weird kind of sweet taste which makes you want to put it away. I have had luck once or twice but most were okayish and hence I have stopped buying/ordering Gulab Jamuns here. But I still love Gulab Jamun and Kaju Barfi the most among all Indian mithais. What is your favorite Mithai? Both can be easily made at home.The taste is very similar to halwai walli mithai...specially kaju barfi....( i hope you mean kaju katli) Check some u tube videos. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cricketics 8,443 Report post Posted January 30 1 minute ago, beetle said: Both can be easily made at home.The taste is very similar to halwai walli mithai...specially kaju barfi....( i hope you mean kaju katli) Check some u tube videos. Yeah kaju kti only I meant. Arey yaar youtube pe toh har cusine ban jaati hai, itna time kaha jo ready made india sweet shops mein milti hai uska alag maza hai :). May be when I come to India for the first time, you can mail to me on my address your home made mithai :) 1 beetle reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Clarke 2,051 Report post Posted January 30 The one disputed between Bengal & Odisha. One troll here hijacked it's sweet name. 2 Stradlater and velu reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Gollum 8,892 Report post Posted January 30 @Cricketics and other mods/admins, there's already a thread on this. You can merge them. 1 The Dark Horse reacted to this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
velu 16,124 Report post Posted January 30 mysore paku Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
velu 16,124 Report post Posted January 30 2 hours ago, beetle said: Both can be easily made at home.The taste is very similar to halwai walli mithai...specially kaju barfi....( i hope you mean kaju katli) Check some u tube videos. whats the mortality rate of your homemade mithai ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SK_IH 4,369 Report post Posted January 30 kaju barfi, hot gulab jamun, imarti Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beetle 14,207 Report post Posted January 30 1 hour ago, velu said: whats the mortality rate of your homemade mithai ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jusarrived 2,124 Report post Posted January 30 Gulab Jamoon jahangir Malpuri ( Malpua ) Mysore pak Only indian sweets i dont like are Kaju barfi and Rasgulla Share this post Link to post Share on other sites