Three Captains, Three ODI innings of 183, Your Favourite?

Favourite Innings of 183?  

38 members have voted

1. 1. Which innings of 183 is your favourite?

5 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Lol you were too kind. With your perception of Dhoni you should have given 0.

Rather than rating the innings trolls start rating the batsmen. 

8 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Exactly in many interviews even dravid has mentioned it was a flat deck and ball was coming so easily on bat. And then the small ground .

Lanka were bowled out within 43 overs. 

Seriously who gives a F about a random meaningless match against lanka on an India patta? Are dhoni chamchas serious? I remember watching  dhoni's match live and although I was happy for that innings, it didn't give me any excitement or goosebumps. If you had to choose 1 innings out the following:-

1. An top class innings in a high pressure world cup match in a do or die situation
  2. A top class innings against arch rivals pakistan in a very highly charged atmosphere
  3. A top class innings against lanka ( who have never won a bilateral series in India ) played on an Indian patta in a day game in one of the most boring series on planet earth.

Who in their bloody right mind choose no. 3 :facepalm: If you do then you are lying to yourself or you are the most delusional dhoni chamcha on planet earth

27 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Just to show that Dhoni did it almost alone. This is just one of many aspects to judge the inning. 

Looking at second highest score when the top scorer comes at no 3 to bat is not very smart thing to do. We won the match with 4 overs to spare. Dhoni played an amazing innings facing 145 balls which is half the overs in an innings.How would any other batsman score much. Is it the reason you feel ganguly's innings was not that dominant because dravid also scored much in that match.

The difference is we were chasing just above 300 in dhoni's match. While Ganguly's one, we were setting a target.The batsman at both ends would try more to score more.

Edited by Pollack
3 hours ago, rkt.india said:

That game was played at Tauntan, Somerset, one of the flattest pitch in the world and small ground. Being played in England does not matter in this case. Sl also didnt have bowling to suit those conditions. Murli wasn't the same Murli at that time without the Doosra which he developed later.

Murali may not have had the doosra then, but he was still extremely potent and a force to reckon with. Had already gotten 200 Test wickets in some 40 Tests with his action creating havoc world over. Was the centre of attention. 

19 hours ago, kira said:

Seriously who gives a F about a random meaningless match against lanka on an India patta? Are dhoni chamchas serious? I remember watching  dhoni's match live and although I was happy for that innings, it didn't give me any excitement or goosebumps. If you had to choose 1 innings out the following:-

1. An top class innings in a high pressure world cup match in a do or die situation
  2. A top class innings against arch rivals pakistan in a very highly charged atmosphere
  3. A top class innings against lanka ( who have never won a bilateral series in India ) played on an Indian patta in a day game in one of the most boring series on planet earth.

Who in their bloody right mind choose no. 3 :facepalm: If you do then you are lying to yourself or you are the most delusional dhoni chamcha on planet earth

Spot on bro, these Dhoni chamchas lack cricketing IQ, or are they so biased that they can't see what is clear as daylight to unbiased honest cricket fans like the both of us?

8 hours ago, BeautifulGame said:

The only think I would say is Ganguly was incredibly lucky during that game.He was repeatedly dropped by Lankans in that knock.

Even the Dravid run out was after Murali had dropped a catch of Ganguly.

But agree overall that was the best knock.Just the situation, pressure and the context of the game.

Both Kohli's and Dhoni's came in meaningless games.

No game is so meaningless... Kohli's 183 was very nicely crafted, Dhoni's was brutal... Both were great innings nevertheless!!

19 hours ago, kira said:

There are too many knocks better than dhoni's innings, sharjah was just one example, more than half of sachin's centuries are better than that dhoni knock.

In fact Dhoni himself has played some better innings than that 183

18 hours ago, jalebi_bhai said:

I have a question. Would we have made it to the semis if we had beat Zimbabwe in the super six? Was only six when 99 WC happened.

We didn't get beaten by Zim in super six, but in league matches... Had we won that match against them, Zim might not hv qualified for super 6, England or Srilanka wud hv qualified, India wud hv gone to super 6 with 2 points instead of 0... They won against Pakistan in super 6, another win against NZ in the next match would hv got India into semis...

Even after being beaten by Zim, we could hv qualified with 2 points, if South Africa could win against Zim..

Edited by DDfan2017

Dhonis 113 in Chennai against Pakistan was better than his 183. Probably one.of the greatest loi innings in a losing cause. India was 29-5 in a fast bouncy swinging wicket, which is quite rare in Chennai. He managed to take them to 230 iirc, if only India had better bowling then.

4 hours ago, Magneto said:

Murali may not have had the doosra then, but he was still extremely potent and a force to reckon with. Had already gotten 200 Test wickets in some 40 Tests with his action creating havoc world over. Was the centre of attention. 

His action was pretty clean in those days and may have wreaked havoc but was bread and butter for Indians without doosra and blatant chucking he started doing later on, especially, in that small ground on a flat pitch.

6 hours ago, Gollum said:

Dhoni's 183 was one of the most inconsequential knocks in a forgettable series. That too on an Indian patta. :hysterical:Give me a break.

Agree, really unforgettable knock that was because we had produced plethora of WK batsmen before him who had produced several of such knocks batting one hand.