Cricketics Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 So Rohit Sharma an enigma of Indian Cricket just completed his 10 years. How do you rate his career so far? He has been in top form in the last few years but gave a lot of hard time to Indian fans at the start of his career. He is without any doubt one of the top talents India has had in last 10 years but how exactly do you rate him and see him in the future Indian team across different formats? I will still like to stick with him as an opener for now contrary to many who believe here that we need to bring him down the order or drop him from the ODI side. I think he can get even more slower in the middle and take his own sweet time to score runs if he comes in late. Also dropping him right now from the team is a no-no so those who want to drop him from ODI side need to realize that he has been terrific for us in recent history in 50 overs. He has scored plenty of runs recently and one failure in the final shouldn't cost him his place. Thoughs on Rohit's 10 year career and his current situation?
Tendu_10 Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 until 2013 he was umar akmal style tailunted trash. Since he became opener has developed into a top class ODI opener still a lil slow early on but can make it up with ease. Great on flat bhattas. but isnt test class too many deficiencies against swing n seam n quality short pitched bowling. should stay as LOI opener. Shouldnt be in Test team. Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk AmreekanDesi, sandeep and Jimmy Cliff 3
Laaloo Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 Hasn't lived up to to his hype. When he gets settled in, he can destroy bowling attacks. But those come very few and far and between. Otherwise, its mostly mediocre innings. The game has changed. Cant have openers that bat slow when you already have a slow ass middle order. wanted_desi, Under_Score, GoldenSun and 5 others 8
Sidhoni Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 If 10 years back with all the hype surrounding him someone told me he would play just 20 tests and score at avg of 37, I would be mighty disappointed. Having said that, credit to him for he has turned around his LOI career ever since Dhoni sent him to open. Would like him to start performing in pressure situations/bowler friendly conditions. Cricketics, sscomp32 and sandeep 3
Rasgulla Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 10 years of TALENT it is... Don't know whether to Laugh or Cry Chalo on 10yrs anniversary kuch ache bat karte hai It was delight seeing him in 2007 and after that Match against SA i thought he would be next big thing.... That 2009 IPL was The Best and his Hattrick gave us an indication how he ll run his career on the base of TALENT Although he made us scratch our heads sometimes when he gets going (which js very rare he is absolute delight to watch) One of my fav innings is the chase with Kohli against AUS when Dhawan set up nice platform on TOP. That 264 innings was crazy and once in a lifetime innings which i don't think ll be ever touched. Bas can't say anymore about this bambani ka chamcha who goes missing in Big matches.. bleaf27, sandeep, Adi_91 and 1 other 4
veer Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 Class batsman.. Lazy attitude.. Opposing team always fears him.. Clicks when he is at the end of the rope but rarely clicks in international knock outs or finals.. . sscomp32, GoldenSun, Cricketics and 1 other 4
AmreekanDesi Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 He's had a great career he hasn't lived upto his promise but that doesn't mean he hasn't had a solid career
Cricketics Posted July 3, 2017 Author Posted July 3, 2017 18 minutes ago, Praggy said: Hasn't lived up to to his hype. When he gets settled in, he can destroy bowling attacks. But those come very few and far and between. Otherwise, its mostly mediocre innings. The game has changed. Cant have openers that bat slow when you already have a slow ass middle order. He surely did not live up to his hype in test cricket after his debut series. Many rated him very high in test calling him as the player who will turn out to be a better test player than ODI player but that wasn't to be. In the meantime he picked up his ODI game but regressed in test.
maniac Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 When set the most dangerous batsman ever to set foot on the cricket pitch since Viv Richards. Can smack 150+ bouncers for 6s and make them look like a cakewalk now the negatives as to why I am disappointed with him They guy is the only player in the universe to have 2 200s in LOI cricket,highest individual score of all time,joint record holder for most 6s in an innings, one of the few in the 100s in all formats club, elite club of 2 back to back 100s on debut, hattrick at the IPL level, won multiple IPLs and Champions league as captain but still Career still seems under cooked because that is the kind of talent he has and can still do more but disappointed. The guy is a brilliant bowler but unfortunately he doesn't risk his injured shoulder and now hip to bowl enough which is disappointing..A throw back to the classical off spinner,A Greamme Swanesque action but we might never get to see it. Fielding one of the best in the world but doesn't take initiative to be at back ward point where he can hit the stumps more often....instead focuses more on stunning catches when he should also focus on hitting stumps more often. Lack of patience due to which he returns from a career threatening injury earlier than expected just for the passion to play for his country. All this makes me terribly disappointed in Rohit Sharma. CG, Adi_91 and Laaloo 3
maniac Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 Also pretty sure this thread is opened in response to my blame Virat Kohli thread
Laaloo Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 1 minute ago, Cricketics said: He surely did not live up to his hype in test cricket after his debut series. Many rated him very high in test calling him as the player who will turn out to be a better test player than ODI player but that wasn't to be. In the meantime he picked up his ODI game but regressed in test. he has picked up his game in odis but odis have changed. You cant always bank on tuk tuking till 100 and then blazing all out. He has disappointed. His single taking ability is non existent. rahulrulezz 1
Laaloo Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 1 minute ago, maniac said: Also pretty sure this thread is opened in response to my blame Virat Kohli thread and here I though it was my #AgendaDrivenPostsAgainstDhoni movement maniac 1
Cricketics Posted July 3, 2017 Author Posted July 3, 2017 9 minutes ago, maniac said: Also pretty sure this thread is opened in response to my blame Virat Kohli thread Really? All I am doing is calling him enigma and player who is pretty good for us still in ODI's. How does that even add up? Lol Don't you think Rohit deserves a thread on this big occasion for completing 10 years? also coudln't care about any Kohli thread, did not know you created etc but whoever did has every right to blame as Kohli has been pretty poor in this series.
maniac Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 1 minute ago, Cricketics said: Really? All I am doing is calling him enigma and player who is pretty good for us still in ODI's. How does that even add up? Lol Don't you think Rohit deserves a thread on this big occasion for completing 10 years? also coudln't care about any Kohli thread, did not know you created etc but whoever did has every right to blame as Kohli has been pretty poor in this series. On topic disappointed in Rohit for all that mentioned above
Cricketics Posted July 3, 2017 Author Posted July 3, 2017 11 minutes ago, maniac said: Also pretty sure this thread is opened in response to my blame Virat Kohli thread Btw saw Rohit's snap of taking a catch 10 years ago in his first game on his instagram account which reminded me to start this thread velu 1
Jimmy Cliff Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 Useful player for us on roads in JAMODIs and a reliable Toyger basher in ICC events. Not a bad option to have at no.6 in the subcontinent in Tests. The fondest memories remain from the T20WC in 2007 and the CB series 2008 where he looked like a serious talent.
kubrickian Posted July 3, 2017 Posted July 3, 2017 Good ODI batsman but he is also a bit lazy which means he hasnt worked on some of his flaws in technique. Credit to him that he has done well over the years in ODIs especially big tournaments. He can make it count once he gets set and make the opposition pay. He will probably never find a place as a regular test batsman with Pujara, Kohli, Rahane and KL Rahul in batting lineup and perhaps Dhawan also as a backup and other young batsmen to follow. Had a good start to his test career but couldnt capitalize on whatever chances he got overseas. GoldenSun 1