Where are all the experts now, thunders Ravi Shastri

2 hours ago, kira said:

Rohit was averaging near 200 in test cricket in 2017 I think

oh yea just checked 2 innings against poor hapless lanka

who are these idiots in press conference who doesnt counter question the fact that it was agianst a poor for which ur making a quality player like rahane sit out 

Guy has no idea what he is talking about. You can't judge form in one test. 7 straight 50s , but still dumped Rahul for first test. What about a form decosion for him? experts can also point out that they were vindicated that when the dropped players were chosen, India won the test. If the same team was chosen for the first two, India had a chance to win the series. Dimwit.

7 hours ago, Pollack said:

Oh! I see Rahane magically starts batting good in nets before 3rd test and Rohit who was magical in nets magically struggles just before the 3rd test and   hence Rahane was selected over Rohit in 3rd test. :hysterical:

Also how has Ishant being phenomenal. Mr unlucky sharma got some lucky wickets in 2nd test. The most one could say he was good. How was he phenomenal? :facepalm:

yaar it is true, when your not performing well, sometimes time away/out of the spot light resets the system a little bit where as continuing to play in an underperforming state sometimes exacerbates the problem. there is some rationale to what Shastri is saying here. 

I don't want to go overboard criticizing Shastri, there were some good decisions taken on the tour.  Bumrah's selection was definitely one.

But sometimes he seems to be the very model of a type of desi we all know, one who thinks that if you talk loud enough and long enough in passable English, you can dominate any argument.

So all of a sudden Rahane started to perform in the nets before the third Test?  Amazing stuff.  

Rohit was indeed averaging 200 in the SL series, but what a way to use stats:

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/34102.html?class=1;spanmax1=31+Dec+2017;spanmin1=01+Nov+2016;spanval1=span;template=results;type=batting;view=innings

Rohit's 200 average was basically the result three scores of 102*, 65 and 50* against SL!

We have lost a prestigious Test series 2-1, despite having one of the most, if not the most, highly paid cricket coaches in the world, backed by one of the richest boards in the world, with a team comprising of some of the most highly paid players in the world, in the backdrop of selection decisions which even disinterested fans were questioning. 

To top that, this highly paid bunch finally reverted to the batting selections that paid- nothing fans were shouting for, pleading for, from the roof tops

So it just reinforces Shastri's arrogant and big talking stereotype when he becomes so quickly confrontational on the basis of decent but less than expected results. 

Edited by NameGoesHere

He is probably drunk, i wouldn't really read into much what he says. Just like in wedding parties, you ignore what your drunk uncle says. Its time to do so for Indian Team Bewda Coach. I still laugh inside everything i think that this Bewda is coach of Indian Cricket team. Trump for President and Bewda for Indian Team Coach, anything is possible in this world. 

10 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Rohit over Rahane

Shastri: Right from the beginning, there was no doubt in the mind of the team management that Rohit was the batsman in form while Ajinkya was struggling, not just on the field but in the nets too. Rohit was averaging more than 200 in Tests and had scored around 1200-odd runs in ODIs. So, what does the team tell him? Your runs don't matter because that's how it works? Performances count and that makes this whole talking point a no-brainer. We all know what Ajinkya is capable of, but before coming here, he was averaging about 30 all through 2017.

Bumrah's debut

Shastri: It wasn't an overnight decision. Close to six months ago, we began work on this. Bumrah was our surprise package coming here and did it work? Of course. Tell me the last time a bowler has delivered so confidently on debut and has been learning so quickly. He was among the most consistent. In Cape Town, he bowled us back into the Test from where we could have won. In Johannesburg, he was simply intimidating.

Bhuvi missing in Centurion

Shastri: Watch India's first innings at Centurion. Quinton de Kock was keeping up front for Vernon Philander. That's how slow the wicket was. Bringing in Ishant made all the difference. He has been phenomenal. We knew Bhuvi had to be played at the Wanderers and in fact, given the Centurion wicket - it had nothing for pace bowlers, leave alone swing - we knew Bhuvi would be fresh for the third Test. Ishant bowled beautifully in the first innings at Centurion, he got us both, AB & Faf and what a tireless effort it's been from him. When did Ishant last bowl like this series? Not even Perth.

Chopping and changing
Shastri: That's why I'm saying, where are the experts now? What chopping and changing? Sometime during the Centurion Test, Ajinkya was getting back into his rhythm. He was knocking well in the nets and Rohit was struggling, so we decided to do whatever looked better at that point in time and Ajinkya was in the eleven. And he scored at the Wanderers. Dropping or picking Bhuvi was not chopping or changing. It was a decision taken according to the pitch and the conditions. It's simple, had we scored more runs in the second innings at Cape Town and the second innings at Centurion, this whole series would've been different.

shastri uncle is a chu...a , he is trying to ride the individual brilliance of Kohli and pace bowlers. Its on him the failure, he failed to identify the optimal team for first two tests, teams fielding failed ( part blame on shastri as this is down to pre match practice ) and batting failed in first game and second innings second test, this is down to lack of practice games for batters  ( this is blame on Shastri for failing to get the team practice games inspite of offer from BCCI to send them there).

So team has been very good, assisting coaches have been good, bench has been good, head coach has been pathetic , piss poor. 

Sashtri needs to be let go as he is showing basic incompetence in his role.

21 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Rohit over Rahane

Shastri: Right from the beginning, there was no doubt in the mind of the team management that Rohit was the batsman in form while Ajinkya was struggling, not just on the field but in the nets too. Rohit was averaging more than 200 in Tests and had scored around 1200-odd runs in ODIs. So, what does the team tell him? Your runs don't matter because that's how it works? Performances count and that makes this whole talking point a no-brainer. We all know what Ajinkya is capable of, but before coming here, he was averaging about 30 all through 2017.

Bumrah's debut

Shastri: It wasn't an overnight decision. Close to six months ago, we began work on this. Bumrah was our surprise package coming here and did it work? Of course. Tell me the last time a bowler has delivered so confidently on debut and has been learning so quickly. He was among the most consistent. In Cape Town, he bowled us back into the Test from where we could have won. In Johannesburg, he was simply intimidating.

Bhuvi missing in Centurion

Shastri: Watch India's first innings at Centurion. Quinton de Kock was keeping up front for Vernon Philander. That's how slow the wicket was. Bringing in Ishant made all the difference. He has been phenomenal. We knew Bhuvi had to be played at the Wanderers and in fact, given the Centurion wicket - it had nothing for pace bowlers, leave alone swing - we knew Bhuvi would be fresh for the third Test. Ishant bowled beautifully in the first innings at Centurion, he got us both, AB & Faf and what a tireless effort it's been from him. When did Ishant last bowl like this series? Not even Perth.

Chopping and changing
Shastri: That's why I'm saying, where are the experts now? What chopping and changing? Sometime during the Centurion Test, Ajinkya was getting back into his rhythm. He was knocking well in the nets and Rohit was struggling, so we decided to do whatever looked better at that point in time and Ajinkya was in the eleven. And he scored at the Wanderers. Dropping or picking Bhuvi was not chopping or changing. It was a decision taken according to the pitch and the conditions. It's simple, had we scored more runs in the second innings at Cape Town and the second innings at Centurion, this whole series would've been different.

Abe Shastri, test series to haar gaye tera team, 2 hapte pehle aane ka kya hua? abhi ek ODI jitke phar phar kar rahan hain? :giggle:

12 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

So, what does the team tell him? Your runs don't matter because that's how it works? Performances count and that makes this whole talking point a no-brainer. 

Fairly simple, the same thing that you probably told Jadeja, I don't have the stats, but i'm sure he must've been averaging close to 20 for the home season, with the ball. With Shastri's line of reasoning, didn't his wickets matter? So what if they came in India? Jadeja should have been an automatic starter alongside Ashwin in the first test, going by this argument!

Looking at the entire interaction, it's shocking that the, so called, PR specialist came up with this rehearsed statement a week after the test series was lost...is there anything that this guy is good at?!? Looking at the way a clearly combative & frustrated captain was thrown in front of the media, to fend for himself, after the 2nd test, it sure doesn't seem like Mr. 'Man Management' is getting that right either. Even if Kohli would have insisted on going alone, Shastri with all his experience & media skills had to have known that the situation was a powder keg waiting to go off! He could so have easily avoided that entire episode by being present there. Instead he decides to pretend to man up once he has a couple of wins to throw in people's faces. Not quite sure what his contribution is in the set up.

Edited by despondent_artist
Added content