Smith will not appeal against the ban

2 hours ago, sandeep said:

BS.  There is absolutely no way that Cape Town was the first and only time that the Aussies tampered the ball.  And Smith didn't show balls by accepting anything with grace and dignity.  He threw Bancroft under the bus in the Press conference, blamed the "leadership group", lied about Bancroft "overhearing" instead of being told to tamper the ball.  Then lied about the sandpaper, claiming it was dirt and a piece of tape.   

I feel sympathy for Smith too, because his punishment is overly harsh - done by a bureaucratic corrupt organization out to cover up the full story, and cover its own ass from the bad publicity.  But spare me the cowdung about Mr Brainfade conducting himself with grace.   

How is blaming the leadership group a bad thing? In a factory if something goes wrong the management group takes the blame even if workers are involved in the * up. Not everyone is fired. If production targets are reached the managers get the plaudits and if things go awry they face the music. Similar to public administration where ministers/top babus are suspended/sacked if things go wrong, never the foot soldiers. We have so many rail accidents in India, most if not all of them are faults of linemen or railway workers or supervisors..but when an accident happens who takes the moral responsibility, the workers or the leadership group (rail minster/secretary...)? Regarding any other goof up in the PC you must remember that he didn't have time to prepare and most probably panicked. What happened out there was unprecedented, so cut him some slack will you? All teams tamper, Aus isn't the only villain here..ofc they were stupid enough to get caught. Smith could have simply lied at the PC saying the usual stuff 'under investigation' or downplayed like Du Plessis did with his zipper, but no he did something unexpected, may be it looks foolish in hindsight. In the coming days when he had more time to think over his mistakes he corrected himself and took full responsibility and that should be admired because he is the greatest modern day batsman about to miss out on a full year at the peak of his powers. He has cheated in the past but what he has done in the last week or so needs to be admired, he isn't even appealing against the ridiculously harsh ban.

2 hours ago, Gollum said:

How is blaming the leadership group a bad thing? In a factory if something goes wrong the management group takes the blame even if workers are involved in the * up. Not everyone is fired. If production targets are reached the managers get the plaudits and if things go awry they face the music. Similar to public administration where ministers/top babus are suspended/sacked if things go wrong, never the foot soldiers. We have so many rail accidents in India, most if not all of them are faults of linemen or railway workers or supervisors..but when an accident happens who takes the moral responsibility, the workers or the leadership group (rail minster/secretary...)? Regarding any other goof up in the PC you must remember that he didn't have time to prepare and most probably panicked. What happened out there was unprecedented, so cut him some slack will you? All teams tamper, Aus isn't the only villain here..ofc they were stupid enough to get caught. Smith could have simply lied at the PC saying the usual stuff 'under investigation' or downplayed like Du Plessis did with his zipper, but no he did something unexpected, may be it looks foolish in hindsight. In the coming days when he had more time to think over his mistakes he corrected himself and took full responsibility and that should be admired because he is the greatest modern day batsman about to miss out on a full year at the peak of his powers. He has cheated in the past but what he has done in the last week or so needs to be admired, he isn't even appealing against the ridiculously harsh ban.

So either Smith was lying when he said the leadership group knew all about it - or he's lying now, that only Warner and himself knew about it.  Pick which lie you like.   

7 minutes ago, sandeep said:

So either Smith was lying when he said the leadership group knew all about it - or he's lying now, that only Warner and himself knew about it.  Pick which lie you like.   

Smith and Warner were captain and VC, they were the leadership group by textbook definition. Now that both are punished, matter closed. Plus Bancroft because he was caught in the act. There has been no IPL style framing of lesser players while the big cats go unpunished. 

9 hours ago, Gollum said:

Heart goes out to Smith, stay strong legend and come back roaring like a lion. You have accepted your mistake and that is a rarity in the modern world, many teams have cheats/frauds who will likely never be caught and even if they are caught will cry conspiracy/never accept their wrongs. Much greater cricketer-frauds than you have served as MPs in India, some have captained the country and others have made lesser players the scapegoats. After your career is over you will be remembered in kinder terms.

The reason Smith accepted his mistake is the same why he won't appeal against the punishment. There was a huge public backlash in Australia about the incident. Camera caught the act as well as the cover up clearly. Plus no way he could have said bancroft, a newbie, planned on his own alone.As a captain he had no choice.

2 minutes ago, Pollack said:

The reason Smith accepted his mistake is the same why he won't appeal against the punishment. There was a huge public backlash in Australia about the incident. Camera caught the act as well as the cover up clearly. Plus no way he could have said bancroft, a newbie, planned on his own alone.As a captain he had no choice.

Agree he was pushed to a corner but I can imagine a few other captains/high profile players trying to wriggle out somehow. Smith took it like a man, this in the middle of his purple patch is laudable. 

18 hours ago, Gollum said:

Heart goes out to Smith, stay strong legend and come back roaring like a lion. You have accepted your mistake and that is a rarity in the modern world, many teams have cheats/frauds who will likely never be caught and even if they are caught will cry conspiracy/never accept their wrongs. Much greater cricketer-frauds than you have served as MPs in India, some have captained the country and others have made lesser players the scapegoats. After your career is over you will be remembered in kinder terms.

Over the top. He cheated. He will be remembered for that as well as a great batsman. 

14 hours ago, Gollum said:

Agree Smith made a mistake and has been punished more harshly than what he deserves, he is no saint. But my point is there are worse apples who are roaming scot free now. A murderer (Sidhu) became LS MP and was in line to become CM of a state, another serial ball tamperer (Imran) may become Pak PM this year, a serial match fixer cum friend of the underworld (Azhar) became LS MP and head of many sports associations....so many examples. Even guys like Jadeja, ,Mongia and Prabhakar don't have the tags of cheats in spite of doing much worse things than the Aussie. Even ex Aussie cricketers like Mark Waugh (contact with bookies) and Warne (bookies, doping) never had the stigma attached. Dhoni, Raina and Jadeja are no innocent angels. Dhoni committed perjury before the Mudgal panel to save Meiyappan, perjury is a far far greater crime than even match fixing, in civilized societies perjury attracts very harsh punishment. There are enough hints that both Jadeja and Raina took humongous amounts of money from betters, there is a huge cover up. In fact Raina may have deep ties with bookies, he was even caught in a hotel with a blacklisted lady associated with bookies in Lanka IIRC and BCCI had to hush up the matter. Guys like Sreesanth are small fish, if our judicial system were as efficient as those in 1st world countries or better if a stalwart like Seshan were in charge in stead of corrupt, self serving babus many many people associated with Indian cricket will suffer. Not just India, there are these treacherous elements in all countries but more in SC because India/UAE is the den of match fixing in cricket.

But some people like Cronje, Amir, Gibbs, Ashraful have accepted match fixing transgressions. Here we have an Azhar who played the minority card and cried conspiracy, even till now he hasn't accepted his mistakes. My point is we need to applaud those who accept their mistakes because that takes courage. Even recently Du Plessis was caught using zippers but he deflected the issue, when SRT was caught on camera lifting seam/cleaning dirt without telling the umps, we cried racism and created ruckus. Contrast that to how Aussies reacted when their players were caught this time, almost complete condemnation from all walks of society. I always believed Aussies used dirty tactics to win, but this time the reaction of both their players and public has been heartwarming. Never in a 3rd world country like ours will we accept our mistake, it isn't in our culture. We always look to deflect charges and play the blame game. Do you think we wouldn't have supported a Kohli or Ashwin had they been caught doing something similar like the Aussies? This attitude cuts across sports. When Narsingh Yadav tested positive in Rio he put the blame on the Sushil camp, later the federation and finally cried conspiracy by the scared European opponents. Whenever desis are caught with their pants down the only response is cry racism or conspiracy or bias or misunderstanding, somehow hoping the higher ups cover up the issue...clearly doesn't work in 1st world counties. Not just limited to sports, an Ambani scion can run over 2 people and media will cover up, a Salman Khan can run over people and poach endangered animals, kuch nahi hoga. But in an England when Stokes used excessive force against a guy who was bullying an LGBT couple, he got banned from an Ashes series. In India meanwhile Sidhu after killiing a man in a street fight and getting convicted by court went on to play matches and do his commentary gigs as if nothing had happened. Indian celebs are overprotected and held on a pedestal by the institutions/public, so it is nauseating to see us taking the moral high ground after this tampering controversy. 

Dhoni giving wrong statement was proved. I do feel that there was a lot of cover up regarding that issue. 

However, i did not see any source regarding the Raina issue. Any links ?

1 hour ago, Straight Drive said:

Dhoni giving wrong statement was proved. I do feel that there was a lot of cover up regarding that issue. 

http://zeenews.india.com/sports/cricket/icc-world-twenty20-2016/match-fixing-allegations-on-suresh-raina-resurface-ahead-of-world-t20-semi-final-clash-against-west-indies-reports_1871044.html

1 hour ago, Straight Drive said:

There were no news either if the BCCI had conducted proper investigations into the matter. The way COA handled with Shami's case was admirable, a process had been followed and he has been cleared of the charges. The same thing didn't happen with the likes of Raina, Dhoni.. Mysteriously media didn't push the matter either. 

Edited by Lannister
3 hours ago, Straight Drive said:

Raina being caught with a blacklisted girl (associated with bookies) in a Lankan hotel was big news until BCCI stepped in and hushed up the incident. 

https://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket/two-india-players-investigated-suspicious-activities-sri-lanka-hotel

https://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket/sri-lanka-cricket-investigate-suresh-raina-bookie-woman

http://www.cricketcountry.com/news/suresh-raina-to-be-investigated-by-sri-lanka-cricket-242853

https://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket/bookie-ms-dhoni-suresh-raina-match-fixing-ipl-cid-report-justice-mudgal

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

Just for my own personally curiosity I can find the information of those blacklisted girls where? :biggrin:

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

Wasn't aware of all this. This is disgusting. Thought he would have learned after CSK getting banned. I wonder how daring these players are to do such things in spite of what had happened earlier to the franchisee. Should be kept away from international team. Do not need such players whom the captain and fans can never trust upon.

21 hours ago, Gollum said:

Smith and Warner were captain and VC, they were the leadership group by textbook definition. Now that both are punished, matter closed. Plus Bancroft because he was caught in the act. There has been no IPL style framing of lesser players while the big cats go unpunished. 

Ghanta.

Apparently you are swallowing the BS that Australian cricket board's splurting out - 3 batsmen decided to tamper the ball, and the bowlers were neither told, nor did they notice.  They are all innocent lambs who just close their eyes and run in hard to "express" their natural skills.  

5 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Ghanta.

Apparently you are swallowing the BS that Australian cricket board's splurting out - 3 batsmen decided to tamper the ball, and the bowlers were neither told, nor did they notice.  They are all innocent lambs who just close their eyes and run in hard to "express" their natural skills.  

Degree of responsibility varies. Even assuming many people were involved in the tampering, it was up to the captain and VC to stop it from happening, they deserve max blame and rightfully got punished. This is unprecedented and these 3 have taken it in their stride for the betterment of the game. 

Just now, sandeep said:

Ghanta.

Spot on. CA wanted to nip this issue in the bud, if truth came out about whole team including coach were involved in this then their whole setup would go to dogs.They took a strategic decision to sacrifice these three and save the team and board from getting bankrupt. The outcry from Aussie public is commendable here .

There is no way bowlers and coach did not know about this and this is only time they have done it. Bancroft was caught putting sugar in his pocket during Ashes too which is conveniently being overlooked here.