England vs India, 5th Test, 7th-11th Sept - The Oval

Austin 3:!6

5th test winner - ICF Poll  

55 members have voted

1. 1. Who will win the Oval test?

3 minutes ago, Switchblade said:

Fact is as you said this bunch is complacent they have the number 1 rank in test cricket in the ranking system and they are adored hyped and get millions in Ipl so they are complacent and don’t push themselves as they know home series or a quick Lankan series will bring them back to form so they just go through the motions when overseas cricket is concerned.

How can they be complacent? When was last time we won a match in swinging condition. Even Lanka at home on that some grassy track (Kolkata or somewhere) allmost screwed us. And Lanka was all newbies

3 minutes ago, Temujin Khaghan said:

Sanjay manjrekar - India prepared dustbowls for some easy wins during hadlee era...

Inferiority complex reached peak stage ...

Iss harami ke pille ko comm box se bahar nikalo :mad: saale Eng, SA kaun sa spinning track prepare karte hain hamare liye... 

Just now, mishra said:

How can they be complacent? When was last time we won a match in swinging condition. Even Lanka at home on that some grassy track (Kolkata or somewhere) allmost screwed us. And Lanka was all newbies

They are bhai ye sab apne aap ko bahut bade star samajhte hai flat wickets just around the corner.

3 minutes ago, Switchblade said:

They are bhai ye sab apne aap ko bahut bade star samajhte hai flat wickets just around the corner.

Yeah we will absolutely smash the hapless windies at home 2-0 and then play Australia without a single warmup since skipper thinks warmups are overrated. And MSK prssad will select another pathetic squad of 18. Wash. Rinse. Repeat. 

it seems pujara,KL rahul bcos of his catching and a bit of batting in this test and kohli are certain for australia, 

kartik,vijay ,dhawan seems to be OUT for australia

may be PANT may also not be picked in australia, he has one innings, if he scores less than 30 runs , he wont be picked in tests.

6 minutes ago, RAZPOR said:

Rahane is like a wet cat ..scared and meek

Quoted for truth. He's the Indian Asad shafiq. Doesn't have the stomach for test cricket anymore. Heck shafiq score d a ton in England and also scires in the UAe. This guy is a flop against part time spin even. I retract my statement - he's a poor man's Asad nowadays. 

Just now, Nikhil_cric said:

Yeah we will absolutely smash the hapless windies at home 2-0 and then play Australia without a single warmup since skipper thinks warmups are overrated. And MSK prssad will select another pathetic squad of 18. Wash. Rinse. Repeat. 

Saviour Rohit will be on the plane for that tour who knows Gavaskar and Manjrekar might advocate for them that they should be given double batting and underarm bowling should be given to them.

Time Ravi Shastri stepped down. The team management and captain have to be accountable. There is no excuse. Virat is a great batsman but a below par tactician and not a thinking captain. Either Virat needs to step down as captain or at the very least needs to be mentored by somebody versed in the art of captaincy on a daily basis (any thoughts who it might be ?). The two who fit the bill of great coach and thinking captain are - Rahul Dravid and Anil Kumble. Virat will not like it, but he has to swallow his pride and accept one of them as coach.  Also, in future the team selection (including fitness levels) and preparation for an away series cannot be the sole call of the captain, or the humiliations will continue. It has to be the coach, the captain and another member. I do hope the BCCI and CoA show some spine in taking a strong line!

In all this glumness let us not forget the excellent effort of the Indian seam bowlers. I think they were brilliant except on 2 occasions in the current series - one of them being today (4th day of the final test) when they bowled too many short of length and wide off stump deliveries (I can't understand why does Kohli not pack the field on the off side and why does he not provide enough fielders behind and square of the bat, especially when he has such a good seam attack!).

11 minutes ago, Switchblade said:

This is differenece. Before the start of series while half of icf was enthusiastic to win the series before Edgbaston Test, My feeling was (somewhere posted on icf) , Park the bus at Edgbast. Intent should be "No matter what we arent loosing the test". Look at Cook. A old limited Cook , just went on and on and batted with "Intent". Thats what intent is.

But there are too many t20 lovers on icf who want t20 style, in test cricket. TYhey shoulkd *in limit themselves watching test cricket.

There was one guy who told me, Leaving late is intentional from Rahul. I was like, wtf , It clearly means there is problem in judging the length swing of ball or he lacks confidencs

1 minute ago, mishra said:

This is differenece. Before the start of series while half of icf was enthusiastic to win the series before Edgbaston Test, My feeling was (somewhere posted on icf) , Park the bus. No matter what we arent loosing the test. Look at Cook. A old limited Cook , just went on and on and batted with "Intent". Thats what intent is.

But there are too many t20 lovers on icf who want t20 style, in test cricket. TYhey shoulkd *in limit themselves watching test cricket.

There was one guy who told me, Leaving late is intentional from Rahul. I was like, wtf , It clearly means there is problem in judging the length swing of ball.

Thread was by Gollum where majority were predicting 3-2 or 4-1 to us but I had mentioned that edge will always be with England due to our track record and mentally fragile batting line up.

2 minutes ago, Switchblade said:

Thread was by Gollum where majority were predicting 3-2 or 4-1 to us but I had mentioned that edge will always be with England due to our track record and mentally fragile batting line up.

where are you @Gollum