Pandya is the only “allrounder” to neither have a 50 or a 4fr

18 minutes ago, CG said:
3 hours ago, zen said:
Dropped on a single digit score every time, he made a 50+ score emoji38.png  .... For hint - against NZ, there was no drop, so got out for 1

You are sick man.Dropped chances are part of game when you are opening in England you are bound to give chances.

Everyone knows what happens in a game. It is obvious that it is mentioned for him because, unlike others, he has benefitted from it the most (abnormally high) and in almost every game! .... In one of the games, they even showed a graphics on it i.e dropped score vs final score .... Anyways, you are free to feel whatever floats your boat 

4 hours ago, Praveen Amre said:

Hardik Pandya is a captaincy material. Because he has a strong psychological makeup. He can be our next Dhoni. If I were a selector, I would groom him to lead the T-20 side for the 2020 WC and then possibly the ODI side.

Are you THE Praveen Amre?

2 hours ago, maniac said:

These shades are something we come up with to satisfy our arguments.

There are 3 categories of all rounders in cricket-period!

A bowling all rounder someone who is your strike bowler. someone who has great skills in the other dept. eg; Kapil, Imran,Pollock, Botham,Hadlee,Ashwin,Jadeja,Mitchell Johnson( in tests), Woakes,Akram etc. yes they may have varying talent in the other skill but still it is all one group. Even if they scores 10 ducks they will be in the side as a pure bowler

A batting allrounder- Your Top order bat who is great with the ball again with varying levels in the other dept Ben Stokes, Jacques Kallis, Gary Sobers, Ravi Shastri, Shane Watson, Shakib,Jayasuriya,Sachin,Yuvraj,Sehwag etc. even if they can't bowl they will make it to the side on batting alone

Bits and pieces- Grandhomme, Afridi, Chris Harris, Binny, Pandya,Hollioake,Irani etc. what are their primary skills?

As you can see within these 3 groups there are some who may be better than the other in a specific skill for example Afridi is a better bowler than say Irani or Kallis is a better bowler than Jayasuriya or Kapil a better bat than Mitchell Johnson within that specific group.

The "specialist" allrounder in my book is bits and pieces someone who is keeping the bench warm for a really skilled player. Pandya right now is category 3. That is not derogatory though, these bits and pieces can win you a match or 2 as all of those guys have but they are only stop gap. Afridi had a long career and hence him and  his country is the butt of all jokes. India is a proud cricketing nation and we don't need bits and pieces players, we will get a skilled batsman or bowler who will be decent in the other skill if we look hard enough

Pandya does fall under category three. As of now he is slightly better than a half batsman and as a bowler he does okay, plays the enforcer role with bouncers but also leaks runs. SL's Angelo Mathews was a similar player. Early in his career he used to bowl medium pace and bat a bit. In a test match in SL, Zahir Khan bowled one bouncer at him and he was caught in an awkward position and got out. The commentator remarked that this is the limitation of someone who is not a proper batsman. But later on in his career Mathews developed his batting so much he became an automatic pick despite not bowling at all. Pandya also can work on his batting and become better. Sending him at 4 or 5 in bilaterals or even at 3 will allow him to develop his batting. 

Pandya for me one of the biggest positives of this world cup.

Took 3 wickets against BD when Shami had a relatively bad game. Also got Hafeez and Malik out and buried the Pak game.

The way he wisely used slower balls makes me hopeful that he can become our 3rd option in death overs.

In batting he proved that he can take pace bowlers on from ball one in Eng & Aus games. Probably the only batsman we have who can do this.

Just kept picking wrong ball to hit because of lack of experience.

Impressed the way he batted against NZ fast bowlers.

Pandya will be an asset for us in LOIs.

Pandya walks into the one day xi without any fuss

But I maintain he must get  feeling of someone breathing down his neck,has  to be on his toes to perform,we should be grooming one more seamer allrounder to up the competition for places,but ,as of now Pandya is not our problem

Edited by Suhaan
12 hours ago, zen said:

If he had the opportunity to bat higher (and get his catches dropped), he would have scored 100s as well. Should have been promoted in games such as vs. SL. As for bowling, he is actually being praised for completing his 10 overs, which allowed Ind to play another specialist batsman 

On good batting surfaces, he does not get chances to bat. On good bowling surfaces, the guys who bat for long in other matches, do not deliver, exposing other batsmen earlier. On top of that, these openers mess up chases like that against Eng, setting the rest of the team for failure

Performed well in the knockout game. where likes of Rohit, who were supposed to be in good form, failed to deliver where it counted 

Rohit also dropped a catch on the field because he was fat and lazy

Hardik Pandya to Neesham, 1 run, a lazy effort from Rohit, will go down as a chance - the slower bouncer from Pandya and Neesham was completely done in - hung his bat as an afterthough, looped off the top-edge and lobbed wide of mid-wicket. Rohit ran across and then half-heartedly went with his left hand, can't even get a finger on that

Rubbish thread. Pandya had plenty of 40s and was a good 5th bowler. He has the potential to be the finisher like Dhoni was in his prime. He is also captaincy material well exhibited in his bowling and directing field placements when he bowls. I think Kohli and Rohit shoudl do what Sachin, Dravid, Ganguly did in 2007 and should retire from the t20 format and make Pandya captain for the t20 world cup in Aus. Can't go wrong when investing in youth and encouraging them. Dhoni, Yuvraj, Sharma, all played in the 2007 T20 WC and won

Don;t care about the stats, but Panya had a good WC and he has the talent to become #1 all rounder in the world. He bowled well in SF and batted well under pressure , until that shot, that was total inexperience. Had Dhoni was on the other end, or anyone with experience and not the youngman Pant, he would have won the game for India. 

So apparently 

Rohit,Virat,bowlers- did well so no issues there

Rahul- did an admirable job to fill in for Dhawan

DK,Jadhav,Jadeja- didn’t get opportunities,were chopped and changed or else they would have been amazing

Pandya- absolutely brilliant

Pant- oh he is learning,just a youngster 

Dhoni- what a fighting knock and stabilizing innings

Let is not complain as looks like we have a flawless team

The fact that people are trying to defend Pandya shows it is a mediocre performance that could go either way. Nothing comprehensive here.

As pointed out every other allrounder has a comprehensive knock or a spell >50 or more than 4 wickets which is usually a benchmark bar Pandya.

Clearly there were more than 4-5 games where he could have got a 50 or taken a 4fr and failed.

This is a out and out mediocre performance not outstanding. If you guys want to celebrate mediocrity I am not stopping you.

What a foolish thread. At one side people complain why do players worry about milestones here someone who did his job is being judged coz of lack of milestone. 

Pandya did well this Wc....ill rate his perfomance 7/10 . (OP shud read this coz i knw soon he ll use a fallacy "Oh u mean he was oustanding" which he ll hallucinate on his own ) He cud have done well ofcourse.

He was playing is 1st Wc.....

yuvraj in his 1st wc was good great....

rohit sharma in 1st Wc was avg to good......

Kohli was again avg to good......

Dhoni- Flop 

What is this Lack of patience @maniac u have for everyone ??? U Declared Shankar done n dusted in 2 games. But when it comes to ur ladla Rohit do u want me to remind u how many years n games he took .In test cricket rohit perform Once in 8 innings n make a thread of ultimatum again n again ...which at the end is him performing in 1 innings out 8 and on that basis giving more chance. Seriously what hypocrisy.

Only a fool wud see a scorecard....shud have watched games n match situation 

Sa game- while batting he was the only player who stroked ball fluently from ball -1 .............

Aus game- his innings was the game changer of what cud have been a chasable total to match winning. His game changing 46 doesnt but the 4 runs he didnt score mattered. No wonder ur a Manju fan

Pakistan- didnt get timing.....which is difficult for player who has to go from ball -1 every game 

Eng- The pressure of scoring all runs quickly by rohit, kohli, dhoni, jadhav was forced on one man....who literally had to bat at 300 s/r if team had to win ...is that fair. Do u even watch match situations

Afghanistan game- again had to go from ball 1 on that poor pitch where jadhav n dhoni wasted all time 

NZ- Semi game- He got injured and yet came back bowled his 10 overs...was batting ok

So whats the complain- Kohli, Rohit, yuvraj.....all had ok- good 1st Wc no one was great .   

And i dont get this A top order players failure is accpeted but a lower order batsman who gets chances rarely has to score in every game whereas he plays the highest risk game . 

Absolute foolish thread .....,Sounds like Manju Level complaning- "oh did well but shud have gotten milestone" 

@Ankit_sharma03^ I never said his performance was poor. It was average at best. Sorry none of his innings had the quality of innings played by other allrounders Stokes,Neesham and even Grandhomme. After a good platform coming all guns blazing is a “cameo” not a great innings.

Stokes played 4 clutch knocks, Neesham and Grandhomme got 50’s when their team was back to the wall. Adding Brathwaite’s knock

Our bowling was outstanding and he was a good supporting act. Nothing extraordinary.

Never once did I call this a poor performance. It was mediocre at best. Once again if you are happy then I am not stopping you. To each his own.

Edited by maniac

I am not a big Pandya fan, but the guy had a decent World Cup. He did his role decent enough to merit regular selection for a while. Wonder where the brain fart in the OP comes now after just one defeat in wc semis. 

He is not a Bumrah that you expect him to bowl with 10 - 30 runs and 5 wickets. You expect him to bowl under 10 overs, and never a full quota. He scored quick fire runs in league stage. Not outstanding performance, but nothing bad that we need to highlight his performance and make it look that he did not perform. 

He is overrated a bit by his fans I see here, but the ones who don't like him, talk lot of gibberish too at times when not needed. 

I am a fence sitter for now on him, he did alright in this World Cup. 

1 minute ago, Cricketics said:

I am not a big Pandya fan, but the guy had a decent World Cup. He did his role decent enough to merit regular selection for a while. Wonder where the brain fart in the OP comes now after just one defeat in wc semis. 

He is not a Bumrah that you expect him to bowl with 10 - 30 runs and 5 wickets. You expect him to bowl under 10 overs, and never a full quota. He scored quick fire runs in league stage. Not outstanding performance, but nothing bad that we need to highlight his performance and make it look that he did not perform. 

That exactly is the definition of mediocrity. Thanks for adding to my point. I never said he was poor. He was alright. but other allrounders played more clutch knocks. Not surprising from you who said the Indian team's performance and strategy was acceptable :facepalm:

Jaago mere bhai. ye USA ka raddi cricket team nahi hai. This is one of the most powerful sporting bodies in all of world sport

Sum of parts not greater than whole

So apparently 

Rohit,Virat,bowlers- did well so no issues there
Rahul- did an admirable job to fill in for Dhawan
DK,Jadhav,Jadeja- didn’t get opportunities,were chopped and changed or else they would have been amazing
Pandya- absolutely brilliant
Pant- oh he is learning,just a youngster 
Dhoni- what a fighting knock and stabilizing innings

Let is not complain as looks like we have a flawless team

Sent from my LM-Q710.FG using Tapatalk