I saw that interview. It was a leading question to get the response and have the headlines. Left to him, he would not have mentioned Nadeem, because he doesn’t have to. 
That was such a loaded question where poor Neeraj had no other option and just ended up parroting what was already stated in the question. [emoji28]

Sent from my SM-M315F using Tapatalk

5 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

It was a leading question from the interviewer. Pretty stupid, Neeraj deserves the attention not some politics. It's disgusting. 

15 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

E8SfY0DUYAID3cX?format=jpg&name=small

Yeh kuch zyada hi ho gaya - Karan -Anjum ki jodi hai kya, saath chalne? I was surprised to see a Pakistani athlete in the finals. I thought "good for them" and that's that. Didn't wish him to win, or lose. All this ghar ka bacha talk makes no sense. 

Back on topic - padosi love has several reasons. One is virtue signalling. Afterall, what better way to aspire for peace and aman between the 2 mulq than show love towards the padosi mulq? This also results in more clicks and eyeballs as rightwingers get enraged at their outpouring of love. Free publicity!

People like Khushwant Singh, Kuldip Nayyar, etc are from present day Pakistan. They and present generation people who have roots in that area will have a soft corner for the country. The Jews manufactured overnight a homeland that they never owned, based on fables and fairytales. Imagine the plight of the displaced Punjabis, Sindhis, Peshawaris, and other unfortunate ones whose homeland is very much real, lies just 50-100 km from the border and is the most beautiful place ever, with the best tasting water, the most fertile soil etc according to their parents/grand parents. They cannot go back to it ever. So, fond wishes of "we are the same people, one day we shall be united" etc permeate their thinking like hope springs eternal. Another very real and strong reason besides virtue signalling and nostalgia is money. Some of the so called intellectuals are on the payroll of the Padosis or other external agencies. 

46 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Q: Did you wish Nadeem on the podium and got a medal? 

A:Yes (who the hell will say no)

Result headlines 

He said there were many countries that competed not just India Pakistan unlike cricket where only 8 countries that compete. If he was a bit more mature he could have commented differently. 

9 minutes ago, Laaloo said:

Libtards are worse than terrorists 

Remember many of these illiberals claiming a while ago to be "urban naxals"? A naxalite is a terrorist, period. Glorifying that word and proudly wearing it like a badge of honor is a disrespect to the people who die in Naxal violence. 

57 minutes ago, nikred said:

That was such a loaded question where poor Neeraj had no other option and just ended up parroting what was already stated in the question. emoji28.png

Any video links?

16 minutes ago, nikred said:

7:08

What a leading question?  , he being from the army , brought up we are not friends with Pak army, etc.. did you feel or wish he would be next to you with silver or bronze, aur Asia ka naam ho jata?

His response was classy, told her don’t do India Pakistan rivalry in Olympics, chal theek hai happy agar koi Asian country bhi aajata…

There is no way you can deduce the headline that way..

:bumsmack:

Asia ka naam ho jata was in the question, not in the response as stated by all..

New series coming up on Hotstar on Babur..a man who hated India and defaced hundreds of temples.No doubt he will be glorified and humanized as a poet by our bollywoodiyas

This is like having a series on Hitler in Israel or a series on ottomans in the Balkans.

Do we people have no sense of shame or respect for our own history?

8 minutes ago, Yoda-esque said:

New series coming up on Hotstar on Babur..a man who hated India and defaced hundreds of temples.No doubt he will be glorified and humanized as a poet by our bollywoodiyas

This is like having a series on Hitler in Israel or a series on ottomans in the Balkans.

Kabir Khan upset with demonisation of Mughals in Hindi cinema: They were the original nation builders

3 minutes ago, Gollum said:

From the article you've linked:

“What really makes me upset is that it’s being done just to go with the popular narrative. I can understand when a filmmaker has researched something and a filmmaker wants to make a point… Of course, there can be different viewpoints. If you want to demonise the Mughals, please base it on some research and make us understand why, why they were the villains that you think they were.” sic.

Fair enough?

1 minute ago, Mariyam said:

From the article you've linked:

“What really makes me upset is that it’s being done just to go with the popular narrative. I can understand when a filmmaker has researched something and a filmmaker wants to make a point… Of course, there can be different viewpoints. If you want to demonise the Mughals, please base it on some research and make us understand why, why they were the villains that you think they were.” sic.

Fair enough?

Can you cite examples where Mughals have been demonized unfairly in the Hindi film industry?

I think Akbar was always treated glowingly (that Hrithik movie for example), even Jahangir (who ordered the execution of Guru Arjan Dev). If Aurangzeb or Babar don't enjoy similar favors must I explain the reason behind their portrayals? 

I don't follow much of Bollywood. But what exactly has upset Kabir Khan? Who is he batting for? 

17 minutes ago, Yoda-esque said:

I hate arguing history, but the Hitler: Israel and the Babur: India equation isn't the same.

Also, if past attempts are anything to go by, the movie will be as fictitious as Jodha Akbar, Mughal e Azam and Mohenjadaro. Just a  canvas of a historical backdrop on which a love story consisting of anachronistic or totally made up characters festers.

Generally that formulaic guarantees 3-4 good songs and decent viewership.

I hate arguing history, but the Hitler: Israel and the Babur: India equation isn't the same.

Also, if past attempts are anything to go by, the movie will be as fictitious as Jodha Akbar, Mughal e Azam and Mohenjadaro. Just a  canvas of a historical backdrop on which a love story consisting of anachronistic or totally made up characters festers.

Generally that formulaic guarantees 3-4 good songs and decent viewership.
Why isn't not the same? Babur also wanted to kill the infidels and he did.He hated India and it's people,it well documented in baburinama and he destroyed lots of temples.

If at all he's worse.
3 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Can you cite examples where Mughals have been demonized unfairly in the Hindi film industry?

I think Akbar was always treated glowingly (that Hrithik movie for example), even Jahangir (who ordered the execution of Guru Arjan Dev). If Aurangzeb or Babar don't enjoy similar favors must I explain the reason behind their portrayals? 

I don't follow much of Bollywood. But what exactly has upset Kabir Khan? Who is he batting for? 

My guess is the truth. Or a balanced view.

To answer your question, not the Mughals, but Ranveer's character in Padmavati ( can't recollect the name) is shown as an absolute barbarian.  Someone who would tear away at a leg of a chicken like a hungry stray. Or sip some water/wine from his goblet and spit the rest on his servant. Also the portrayal was that of a debauched ruler who couldn't think beyond that one woman.

While I don't know any of the history behind this specific event, but Sanjay Leela Bhansali did all of this to show the contrast in personalities between Ranveer's character and Shahid's charatcter (the Rajput). This is demonization for the sake of character development.

Not that any of this irks me. #justsaying.

Aurangazeb has always been (rightly) portrayed as a nutter. In all movies/literature/plays to do with Shivaji Maharaj or his son who was brutally murdered.

It's embarrassing. Spain don't care about the much smaller Portugal, likewise Russia don't care about Ukraine.

Greeks still hate Turks