I have a problem with his kind of cricketers in white-ball cricket’: Sanjay Manjrekar on Ravindra Jadeja

EoEl5LrVcAIMspG?format=jpg&name=4096x409

"My selection and thoughts are based on a principle that I have learned over the years: if you have specialists who can walk-in based on one discipline, you fill your team with those players. I do not have a problem with Jadeja; I have a problem with his kind of cricketers in white-ball cricket," Manjrekar told The Hindu on Saturday.

"Even Hardik Pandya will not be in my team. They add illusory value to the team. Of course, I have always rated Jadeja highly in the Test format."

Link - https://www.news18.com/cricketnext/news/even-hardik-pandya-will-not-be-in-my-team-they-add-illusory-value-sanjay-manjrekar-3129800.html

Just now, Lone Wolf said:

Manju is right about Jadeja.  He will never win us games..  But we don't have other options.  Tewatia comes closest but needs to be tried in T20s first. 

but 1st he needs to draw the line 

Jadeja and pandya are not same kind of cricketers

• Jadeja, Agar, Santner, Moeen ali, Narine, Axar, imad wasim are same kind 
  • Maxwell, pandya, pollard, russell are same kind 

Or he has a problem with both 

Manju is right about both jadeja and Pandya, they will never win any matches on their own in shorter formats. Pandya especially adds an illusionary value which will never translate into any wins.

But I cannot fault Shastri or Kohli for sticking with them as other Indian bowlers add zero with bat. These two are neccessary evils for Indian cricket. 

Edited by putrevus

The issue is that players with multiple skills get boxed in Ind. Steven Smith started as an AR (bowled leg spin) and if he had played for Ind, he would probably have never flourished with likes of Iyers and Pandeys rated above him :hehe:

Aus too plays Maxwell, Stonis, Hendricks,  and so on. In 2015 WC, Aus beat Ind with Watson, Maxwell & Flaukner 

Indians do not understand sports in general. Cricket is the only team sports where they can hope to be competitive (as many countries do not play it competitively). And these guys have corrupted cricket too 

3 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Manju is right about both jadeja and Pandya, they will never win any matches on their own in shorter formats. Pandya especially adds an illusionary value which will never translate into any wins.

And the same Pandya was MOS winning us an ODI series against Australia. Same Pandya has won us several games with bat. He won us his debut game with the ball.

3 minutes ago, zen said:

The issue is that players with multiple skills get boxed in Ind. Steven Smith started as an AR (bowled leg spin) and if he had played for Ind, he would probably have never flourished with likes of Iyers and Pandeys rated above them :hehe:

Indians do not understand sports in general. Cricket is the only team sports where they can hope to be competitive (as many countries do not play it). And these guys have corrupted cricket too 

True

Steve Smith was in and out of the team  he went and scored tons and tons of runs in FC. When Pandya does something similar we can talk about his value, Pandya made it to the team based on his illusionary value.He would not even make it for club team in Australia or England. 

Every tom dick and harry on here is compared with ATGs. 

2 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

And the same Pandya was MOS winning us an ODI series against Australia. Same Pandya has won us several games with bat. He won us his debut game with the ball.

also has the most runs in this series so far + among the best bowlers too in his short spell 

4 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

also

jadeja won CT 

Pandya bowling won decider t20 on england tour and ofcourse the england test 

8 minutes ago, zen said:

The issue is that players with multiple skills get boxed in Ind. Steven Smith started as an AR (bowled leg spin) and if he had played for Ind, he would probably have never flourished with likes of Iyers and Pandeys rated above him :hehe:

thats why these Ex cricket pollute our system with poor mindset

• Sambhal ke khelo - 350 ke zamane men they ll say sambhal ke khelo
  • he doesnt even know what kind of cricket....jaddu n pandya are very diff kind of players

Saala example to aise dete hai jaise ki khudh ATG aussie team men khelte the 

25 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

yea its fun ...whatever charges him up 

not fun for us. Had he flopped in the SF he would have probably been dumped by now. Based on that fluke he got another run. 

3 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Jadeja won CT 2013 as a bowler so what?  Stuart Binny took 6/5  , do I want these guys in the team.  Pandya after 2017 has scored his first 50 last match, why do we need players like him in the team. He was caddy for Dhoni , once Dhoni is out Pandya is not a must for this team.

I am not saying Pandya should not play next match or series but I would not make Pandya as a core member of the team.Same with Jadeja he also needs to play until they find some batsmen who can bowl. These two are playing purely as India does not have any other options.

Joke of a Kaptaan is adding zero value to the team rather

Yes he is right about Jadeja being a useless addition in LOI side but Pandya is no way a waste of spot

Iyer is in true sense useless

Kohli chamcha is defending this team today, yesterday that clown was abusing everyone but joke of a Kaptaan

Joke of a Kaptaan has no clue what is going on,he hasn't even noticed Jadejas performance since his inclusion but no worry guys like him and Iyer doesn't threaten his brand

He gets insecure about someone who can play at top 3

14 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

thats why these Ex cricket pollute our system with poor mindset

• Sambhal ke khelo - 350 ke zamane men they ll say sambhal ke khelo
  • he doesnt even know what kind of cricket....jaddu n pandya are very diff kind of players

Saala example to aise dete hai jaise ki khudh ATG aussie team men khelte the 

Plus we have many fans, who have no idea of cricket, forming opinions by following and listening to such cricketers and believing that a line up with top 6 like below is good in LOIs

Manjrekar

Manjrekar

Manjrekar

Manjrekar

Manjrekar

Mangrekar 

Bowlers

I won’t be surprised if Ind cricket is made fun off  (deserving too with concepts such as “God” in cricket) :rofl: