Neeraj Chopra

28 minutes ago, dilliboy said:

Abey bewde.... My point was why bring Modi to the discussion at all when ghe government has done * all to make this happen. It's your guys' obsession with associating every achievement with his name that is getting toxic day by day. 

Indira Gandhi taking to Rakesh Sharma. That is what PMs do, to be of relevance. Choo 

2 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

India should scout more from armed forces for Olympic athletes 

Neeraj was an athlete first, became army man only later on the basis of his sport. You will be minimum 19-20 when you enter army. You can't make sportsmen at that age. You need to start at 10-12 years of age which can happen from school. Sports should become mandatory in every school at least athletics and football. Sports like weight lifting, wrestling, boxing from college onwards from 18.

Edited by rkt.india

Olympic gold medalist Neeraj Chopra was given a rousing welcome as he arrived home in India after winning the men's javelin event in Tokyo and securing the country's first-ever athletics gold.

In a cricket-mad country, Chopra's Olympic win was seen as a triumph for the nation of nearly 1.4 billion people, catapulting the 23-year-old to stardom.

Hundreds of people gathered at New Delhi's Indira Gandhi International Airport to greet Chopra, who gave the V-for-victory sign as he looked over the crowd.

https%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2Ffs%2F230472e5-aba2-46ab-905d-d2bb80625092

Chopra won the country's first ever athletics gold. (Getty)

Chopra and other members of the Indian Olympic team received flower garlands as they left the airport. People held Indian flags and chanted "Bharat mata ki jai" (Long live mother India).

"I feel very happy that I am getting so much respect from the people," Chopra said.

A nationwide celebration erupted the moment he won the gold medal on Saturday. Rewards started flowing for Chopra, with several state governments and private organisations honoring him for his achievement.

https%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2Ffs%2F4b432c65-3fec-4128-9ac1-2cf4e7340ae2

Gold medalist Neeraj Chopra of Team India stands on the podium (Getty)

Chopra, the son of a farmer, won the javelin title with a personal-best throw of 87.58 metres. His gold was India's seventh medal in Tokyo, its best-ever Olympic showing and surpassing the six it won in London in 2012.

Apart from Chopra's gold, India won two silver medals and four bronze medals at the Tokyo Olympics. The silver medals came from weightlifter Mirabai Chanu and wrestler Ravi Kumar Dahiya. The bronze medals were won by shuttler P.V. Sindhu, the men's hockey team, boxer Lovlina Borgohain and wrestler Bajrang Punia.

Chopra is the second Indian to win an individual gold medal at the Olympics after sport shooter Abhinav Bindra won gold at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing.

https://wwos.nine.com.au/olympics/tokyo-olympics-2021-neeraj-chopra-rousing-welcome-india/fc056c7c-9a69-4eee-8021-4d9ca2c77dbb

Shows Australian people care more about gold on the world stage rather that just cricket.

On 8/10/2021 at 7:52 AM, coffee_rules said:

:facepalm:Hum log ko shaadi, GF ke alawa kuch soohjta nahin hain kya

Saw the video. Really CRINGE! She was relentlessly pushing him. I would have snapped. 

And imagine Shekhar Gupta asking the same to PV Sindhu. Creepy, to say the least

It would be rather hilarious, albeit disturbing, to watch.