Say sorry to Gavaskar now that Pujara and Rahane contributed to win this test match

Apology to Gavaskar  

20 members have voted

1. 1. Will you apologize to Gavaskar if this match ends up in draw

• Yes, I will. He has always been right about backing these two batsmen
    • No, I won't. I still stand by my criticism of Gavaskar's senile comments about these two batsmen
    • Not Applicable. I never criticized Gavaskar for his support of these two batsmen.

Here is the official highlights of day 4.

The top comment is:

Rahane, Pujara innings was crucial In tough conditions experienced players stood up.

Form is temporary class is permanent !!

Why does ICF criticize a batting pair that is being praised over the internet. If not for them, India has already lost the match. 

On ICF and every other platforms, almost every Indian fan knows that they are not going to be dropped anytime soon despite being serial underperformers. But more than anything, do we have found/included their replacements in squad who might be warming the bench now but can be called in when finally these guys will be dropped like how Rahane benched 2-3 tours before getting a debut, same with Pujara. Like,it was certain that these guys(Rahane, Pujara) were our future but who are now? Dont tell me Shaw & Sky. 

Why are posters such as @Ankit_sharma03 and @express_bowling shying away from this thread. If not for Pujara and Rahane, we would have some youngsters who would have score some quick runs but got out quickly enough and tail would have been exposed much earlier and probably would have got out very quickly. 

In test cricket, you need the solidity along with some quick runs here are there. While I won't defend Pujara totally for his too defensive innings but I will say that overall the duo has their place in the test team for a long time. The youngsters have to bide their time and do well in domestics to force their place instead of these two veterans. 

23 minutes ago, sarcastic said:

Why are posters such as @Ankit_sharma03 and @express_bowling shying away from this thread. If not for Pujara and Rahane, we would have some youngsters who would have score some quick runs but got out quickly enough and tail would have been exposed much earlier and probably would have got out very quickly. 

In test cricket, you need the solidity along with some quick runs here are there. While I won't defend Pujara totally for his too defensive innings but I will say that overall the duo has their place in the test team for a long time. The youngsters have to bide their time and do well in domestics to force their place instead of these two veterans. 

Dont dig ur own grave , its good that i consider it such a stupid post that im not answering but dnt poke me that i rip apart every line.

@express bowling - bhai tujhe iska jawaab dena hai de de

8 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Dont dig ur own grave , its good that i consider it such a stupid post that im not answering but dnt poke me that i rip apart every line.

@express bowling - bhai tujhe iska jawaab dena hai de de

Don't take it personally man. I am just being light veined poking you & express.
I guess all Indian fans are happy that India achieved a remarkable victory where everyone including the ones whose places are in doubt contributed.
Gavaskar for all his senility in his support of these two does enjoy the "I told you so" moment for today. We have to give it to him. 

Edited by sarcastic
29 minutes ago, sarcastic said:

Don't take it personally man. I am just being light veined poking you & express.
I guess all Indian fans are happy that India achieved a remarkable victory where everyone including the ones whose places are in doubt contributed.
Gavaskar for all his senility in his support of these two does enjoy the "I told you so" moment for today. We have to give it to him. 

See that i told you is my problem with all these X cricketers. They are showing off one inning which btw was no daddy 100 for some 20 failures. So basically the joke is on them coz others can say- i told you so times more then them. 

I knw even the ones that ll replace them will be aa inconsistent and who knws even more which is why im saying change one by one not all at same time. But time has come to start the transition. Our overseas problem have been becoz these 2 have been mighty inconsistent . Kohli form dipped now but previously he has scored heavily so i can take his excuse but not these guys whom ull find rare few consistent tours. 

1 hour ago, sarcastic said:

The main issuers are lack of consistency as well as lack of big innings from this duo ( and Kohli too from 2020 onwards  )

Look at replays of Rahane's fluent and stroke filled century at Lord's in 2014 and look at him nudge and prod now. Similar with Pujara too. Their reduced abilities is so aparent. 

We should look for new batsmen who have the potential to be consistent as well as play big knocks.

On 8/16/2021 at 9:07 PM, express bowling said:

The main issuers are lack of consistency as well as lack of big innings from this duo ( and Kohli too from 2020 onwards  )

Look at replays of Rahane's fluent and stroke filled century at Lord's in 2014 and look at him nudge and prod now. Similar with Pujara too. Their reduced abilities is so aparent. 

We should look for new batsmen who have the potential to be consistent as well as play big knocks.

There were lot of really detailed and excellent threads created for pace bowling (some by you). It would be nice if someone created a similar one for Indian batters. I really worry for our test team of the future in terms of batting. and likewise for spin bowling.

5 hours ago, Vijy said:

There were lot of really detailed and excellent threads created for pace bowling (some by you). It would be nice if someone created a similar one for Indian batters. I really worry for our test team of the future in terms of batting. and likewise for spin bowling.

I tried this thread below 3 years back as I felt the need too. (  Performances of Batsmen )

Just 7 pages in 3 years.

Compare it with the " Speeds and Performances of Bowlers " thread.  1000 pages in 7 years.

Seems like there is not that much interest in discussing batsmen in general. 

If you have any ideas to get it going, please come up with it.

Discussing batsmen would be good too.

Edited by express bowling
7 hours ago, express bowling said:

I tried this thread below 3 years back as I felt the need too. (  Performances of Batsmen )

Just 7 pages in 3 years.

Compare it with the " Speeds and Performances of Bowlers " thread.  1000 pages in 7 years.

Seems like there is not that much interest in discussing batsmen in general. 

If you have any ideas to get it going, please come up with it.

Discussing batsmen would be good too.

that's great! we should revive it.