"I Warned Him That He Would Get Injured": Shoaib Akhtar

vvvslaxman

2 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Who said cricketers should stay away from some routines? That was myth even in baseball when weight training was considered harmful.But It is just myth.

Not a Myth.  There has been studies on it. And also Coaches don't allow anything you want to do. They have prescribed routines. But i believe during off season they overindulge in weight lifting.

3 minutes ago, raki05 said:

Arey bhaiya kya faida 6 packs ka jab tum sala match hi na khel pao. Isse achha to motu thakur hai inspite of being unfit winning so many matches across format in such a short tenure.

You know when Kohli started sharing his gym pictures? Any time line? I don't follow him on twitter.

32 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

No i do understand "different bodies". I am just pointing out that your theory "having six pack will make you bowl faster" is wrong. Many of the yesteryear West Indian fast bowlers didn't exactly focus on 6 packs. Or even guys like Donald.  Most of them were athletes though.

Nobody said having six packs will enable bowlers to fast but it definitely implies a strong worked out core and less body fat percentage.

Just now, raki05 said:

Arey bhaiya kya faida 6 packs ka jab tum sala match hi na khel pao. Isse achha to motu thakur hai inspite of being unfit winning so many matches across format in such a short tenure.

Thakur is not unfit. He may not look like a Greek god but every team be it Mumbai, IPl, India A or India hos work ethic has received nothing but praise. 

on top of that I have seen him contribute in pretty much every single game he plays one way or the other.

He plays with full intensity every time.

Also it helps that since he isn’t a superstar he is actually dropped when unfit instead of being a burden due to his stardom.

I don’t think fitness is an issue with him. I mean not the injuries he encountered while playing but overall.

1 minute ago, maniac said:

Thakur is not unfit. He may not look like a Greek god but every team be it Mumbai, IPl, India A or India hos work ethic has received nothing but praise. 

on top of that I have seen him contribute in pretty much every single game he plays one way or the other.

He plays with full intensity every time.

Also it helps that since he isn’t a superstar he is actually dropped when unfit instead of being a burden due to his stardom.

I don’t think fitness is an issue with him. I mean not the injuries he encountered while playing but overall.

He is slightly on the heavier side. There is a pouch i can see. He is a shoulder bowler with fairly easy run up. 

Just now, Mesky99 said:

Nobody said having six packs will enable bowlers to fast but it definitely implies a strong worked out core and less body fat percentage.

There are different requirements. 

Look at a guy like Baba Ramdev, the way he moves his stomach around that requires immense core strength. Does he look like a builder to you?

I think this fascination with 6 packs comes from Soccer players. They don’t do that for glamor. It’s just that the sport requires a certain kind of conditioning which results in that physique which is organically obtained.

I used to play in amateur football (soccer) clubs in the 90’s in Mumbai. I was only part time but some of the guys who were good enough to play next level or were already playing it all had washboard abs from what I remember. It wasn’t a big deal either because it wasn’t a fad. In fact I remember my friend pointing at one of the guys stomach and saying “dekh uske pet me gold busicuts smuggle ho raha hai” or something like  that and we all cracked up.

You need strength and conditioning. If biceps and 6 packs are a byproduct that’s great.

I don’t remember Tennis players having huge biceps before Nadal too. Maybe @Gollum can educate.

You even look at army folk, who trains harder than them? However unless it is the movies, most army folk look like regular people even though they are tough and strong as nails.

Yes it takes dedication to get a 6 pack and obviously if you work hard in the gym day and in day out for that result it will have some positives but it is not the only solution and you cannot let it clash with your other conditioning and strength training. 

Is Hardik even serious about his career? Over a month since the T20WC and he hasn't yet reported to the NCA to work on his injuries. He isn't playing in the VH Trophy either.

Only way ahead for him is to begin the hard grind of Ranji Trophy again. Play as many Ranji games as he can, bowl plenty of overs and score big runs. Does he still have the hunger to do so though? If not his, career could well be over unless he suddenly proves himself as a specialist batsman.

55 minutes ago, Jay said:

I get very emotional when people mention umesh and varun. I love those 2. Put india on the map for fast bowling. I will be grateful to them for ever. So sad to see what happened to varun. He still bowls quick. 137-143 ish. Wish he had gotten more opportunities at the time. 

We wasted him and saini recently. 

Varun and umesh had the perfect build for fast bowling. Strong, fast and possessed excellent endurance. built like a brick shithouse. 

Abhimanyu mithun to was well built, sadly being around other Karnataka trundlers he couldn't reach potential.

45 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Not a Myth.  There has been studies on it. And also Coaches don't allow anything you want to do. They have prescribed routines. But i believe during off season they overindulge in weight lifting.

Now every baseball player has some sort weight training routine.There were many pot bellied baseball players in past not anymore.Being fit and having 6 pack  is never a bad thing.

Edited by putrevus
9 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Now every baseball player has some sort weight training routine.There were many pot bellied baseball players in past not anymore.Being fit and having 6 pack  is never a bad thing.

Absolutely not a bad thing as long as their game is good enough. Rohit/Pant/Shami/Thakur don't exactly have six packs.  

37 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Absolutely not a bad thing as long as their game is good enough. Rohit/Pant/Shami/Thakur don't exactly have six packs.  

VVS Laxman had a physique as if he was playing cricket with friends in evening after 9-5 job.

Sure fitness, diet and sleep are important, but too much muscle can cause fatigue.

25 minutes ago, MechEng said:

VVS Laxman had a physique as if he was playing cricket with friends in evening after 9-5 job.

Sure fitness, diet and sleep are important, but too much muscle can cause fatigue.

Fast bowlers need a lot of flexibility. Alan Donald made this as a point long back. Your body should be flexible enough to withstand the repetitive muscle movement.   Ishant sharma despite having a chequered career was able to withstand the load due to his flexibility. Flexibility should be part of their routine. 

1 hour ago, MechEng said:

Vvs was a pathetic runner between the wickets, lazy, non agile.

16 hours ago, Mariyam said:

What a creep!

Creep factor aside, I'm calling BS on this. Akhtar can touch a bowler's back and predict injuries? :confused:

Can he also predict migraines by simply placing two fingers on the temple? 

As a physician I can tell you will be surprised at  watch a knowledgeable person can tell from a look a touch and a listen.

5 hours ago, Iconoclast said:

As a physician I can tell you will be surprised at  watch a knowledgeable person can tell from a look a touch and a listen.

Basically Akhtar should come out of the closet. Feeling and touching grown men's muscles certainly means something.