Late Cut Posted January 24, 2022 Posted January 24, 2022 Who would be your "match winners only" ODI Team? No trundlers in batting or bowling, or ineffective stat padding gurus. Rohit- ATG but needs early initiative driven by others Shaw- go for his shots, VS mode, will give Rohit the ability to play the longer game Padikkal- Solid combo in the middle order w lefty right combo Gaikwad- Has solidity and shot making Samson- Brings down the order shot making and can drive momentum Pant- Can win matches especially with other match winners to give him freedom and play with less pressure Jadeja- Needed in ODIs for solidity and all round combo Axar/Umran Malik/Washington/Thakur- Depending on the need/pitch this is your bowling bench Varun Chakravarthy- A good leggie to bring some needed wrist spin and variations for different surfaces Siraj-Smooth and effective, clearly missed when he is not in the team or fully fit, always brings and makes key breakthroughs Avesh Khan- Can move the ball both ways, and hit the deck and extract bounce, multi dimensional -------------------------- Batting Bench: Gill (can fill multiple roles, can replace one of the more volatile batters if needed in the lineup) What is your team? Adamant and Chakdephatte 2
Majestic Posted January 24, 2022 Posted January 24, 2022 (edited) Match winners award being given by OP based on IPL performances Rohit Shaw Kohli Pant SKY Pandya S Thakur D Chahar None Bumrah Siraj Edited January 24, 2022 by Majestic
dilliboy Posted January 24, 2022 Posted January 24, 2022 3 hours ago, Lord said: Samson Samson can be a good no 3 player if groomed well.. Last couple of years he has matured quite well in the IPL
maniac Posted January 24, 2022 Posted January 24, 2022 (edited) Rohit back up Rituraj Pant back up Kishen Kohli back up Dhawan Rahul back up S.Iyer SKY back up SRK R.Jadeja back up Sundar D.Chahar back up Pandya S.Thakur back up V.Iyer R.Bishnoi back up Y.Chahal (still the top 2-3 leg spinners in India unfortunately) M.Siraj back up P.Krishna J.Bumrah back up Umran Malik Extra pool: Tyagi, M.Aggarwal, P.Shaw, V.Shankar,S.Dube, M.Shami, S.Gill, A.Patel Monitor progress: Jaiswal, Mavi,Samad This should be our pool of 30-35 for LOIs we need to pick from. Need to back and stick with these players for 2-3 years unless someone is injured. These are the best LoI players we have. Some of them are not like to like replacements but enough pool to try different combos. It doesn’t look that great but it is what it is. Give them backing and hope they come good. Rest I of the juniors or fringe players need to prove their worth and do something incredible to break through. Yes life is not fair too bad but that’s how you become a star player. Edited January 25, 2022 by maniac bowl_out, AuxiliA, Vijy and 1 other 1 3
Vijy Posted January 24, 2022 Posted January 24, 2022 Shaw Pant (wk) Gaekwad Rohit (c) --> if fit, since someone needs to captain SKY/KLR FGP (fragile glass Pandu)/Sundar Lord/Deepak Axar Markande/Bishnoi Prasidh/Siraj Shami/Bumrah batting till 9, 6 bowling options; lots of fire power.
Late Cut Posted January 25, 2022 Author Posted January 25, 2022 18 hours ago, maniac said: Monitor progress: Jaiswal, Mavi,Samad How do you rate these 3? Can Mavi be a bowling allrounder? 18 hours ago, maniac said:
maniac Posted January 25, 2022 Posted January 25, 2022 32 minutes ago, Late Cut said: How do you rate these 3? Can Mavi be a bowling allrounder? Out of the 3 I rate Jaiswal as having the highest upside. A proper bat who is more than a decent leg spinner. Mavi should have been playing ODIs already but looking at his progress so far, I would still hold off and see where he goes in the next year or 2 Samad has some talent but need to see more. So far he has flattered to deceive on a few occasions. nevada 1
Adamant Posted January 25, 2022 Posted January 25, 2022 4 opener hai aapki team mai Aur no. 7 par batting khatam ho rahi. Match winning team to hai par opponent ke liye. Lord 1
Adamant Posted January 25, 2022 Posted January 25, 2022 19 hours ago, Vijy said: Shaw Pant (wk) Gaekwad Rohit (c) --> if fit, since someone needs to captain SKY/KLR FGP (fragile glass Pandu)/Sundar Lord/Deepak Axar Markande/Bishnoi Prasidh/Siraj Shami/Bumrah batting till 9, 6 bowling options; lots of fire power. Rohit at 4 would be completely useless, the last time he batted at 4 WG Grace was still playing cricket.
Late Cut Posted January 25, 2022 Author Posted January 25, 2022 6 minutes ago, maniac said: Out of the 3 I rate Jaiswal as having the highest upside. A proper bat who is more than a decent leg spinner. Mavi should have been playing ODIs already but looking at his progress so far, I would still hold off and see where he goes in the next year or 2 Samad has some talent but need to see more. So far he has flattered to deceive on a few occasions. Jaiswal certainly has potential w the bat, he needs to upskill his bowling a bit I think. It's interesting that Mavi outperformed BK recently in domestics significantly, and BK was still the choice for the ODI team. maniac 1
Frustrated Posted January 25, 2022 Posted January 25, 2022 (edited) 19 hours ago, dilliboy said: Samson can be a good no 3 player if groomed well.. Last couple of years he has matured quite well in the IPL Same thing was said before he played the t20 series in SL (last July). In those 3 games in SL, he averaged 10 runs at an outstanding SR of 100.. Edited January 25, 2022 by Frustrated Lord 1
maniac Posted January 25, 2022 Posted January 25, 2022 Also one glaring omission in my list is Harshal Patel. He should be a part of T20 but will not work in ODIs. Frustrated 1
cricketfan28 Posted January 25, 2022 Posted January 25, 2022 SDP is a must, good thing is sarma knows that and he will back him up. I would try samson and shaw. zen 1
maniac Posted January 25, 2022 Posted January 25, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, Adamant said: 4 opener hai aapki team mai Aur no. 7 par batting khatam ho rahi. Match winning team to hai par opponent ke liye. Kya kare bhai India me talent khatam Ho Gaya hai. 152-0 ke baad BCCI bankrupt Ho Gaya jo hai wo hai now we don’t even have a great leader leading us anymore who brought the best out of these trundlers and hacks. we have to back them and pray. kaash hamare paas PSL players hotey. chalo ab aage badke discuss karenge ki kiski jagah banti hai. Any suggestions on topic or is it all over? Edited January 25, 2022 by maniac
Vijy Posted January 25, 2022 Posted January 25, 2022 (edited) 12 hours ago, Adamant said: Rohit at 4 would be completely useless, the last time he batted at 4 WG Grace was still playing cricket. I believe that having only one of Virat and Rohit fulfills the demands of modern ODI game - hard to accommodate both. If Virat is there, then someone else could/would be captain. Bumrah/Pant maybe. Not KLR Edited January 26, 2022 by Vijy
badmash Posted January 26, 2022 Posted January 26, 2022 India’s match winner only odi team - Dhoni - tendulkar - gavaskar - dravid - laxman - kapil dev - zaheer khan - anil kumble retirement say laani paray gi team Vijy 1
prudent_kreeda Posted January 26, 2022 Posted January 26, 2022 14 hours ago, Frustrated said: Same thing was said before he played the t20 series in SL (last July). In those 3 games in SL, he averaged 10 runs at an outstanding SR of 100.. One thing we need to understand about Samson is that he is poor against quality spin of any kind . One needs to see closely his performance vs good spinners so far. Till he overcomes that he cannot be a MO player for India . He won't get opener slot . The way present indian players play spin , the MO batters need to be good in playing spin as most of MO bowling will be spin. First we need to try to fit in Surya & Ruturaj between #3 to #6 who are better players of spin and also play pace better than Iyer. Frustrated 1
rkt.india Posted January 26, 2022 Posted January 26, 2022 There are no ODI match winners at this point in this team right now. Don't count T20s.