This was a Good series for us

18 minutes ago, Adamant said:

Iyer - age 27

In his peak years, can't play bouncers to save his life. 

Iyer is no better than Rayudu,slight quality in bowling and you better know

His glaring weakness against military medium short delivery is enough to judge him

Just now, Suhaan said:

His glaring weakness against military medium short delivery is enough to judge him

in his last 20-25 dismissal around 80% have been with short ball...........raina at his worse had lesser % of short ball dismissals

Also next t20 WC is in Aus his S/r isnt good too, we shudnt waste time on him in t20s for sure

4 minutes ago, Adamant said:

Bro, this is not the same era. 

Here you won't get same amount of chances. Yuvi got so many chances because he was talented and the cupboard was bare, the TM would look to replace Pant if he fails in one or two odi series, if people can question Kohli after being ICC cricketer of the decade who the hell is Pant? 

Dont you think he should actually have one grand year in lois now, 3 4 saal ho gaye debut ke. 

he hasnt been regular. Played some games before WC but was binned in the leadup ,then suddenly recalled to WC to bat at 4.

Again was dropped when KL started keeping. 

In this series he opened once and was run out at non-strikers end in 1st ODI.So wont judge.

Tons would be nice but first needs clarity on his role.I dont think its there

2 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

Pata nahi yaar kya hype kar rakha hai.? 

But atleast when Rahul comes in Iyer will be out. 

Our bowling looks good.   But MO remains the biggest concern.  MO is full of batsmen (like S Iyer and SKY) who will usually score 40-50 runs but will rarely convert them into a big/match winning hundred.   Yes, we won against 10th ranked Windies.  But will be found wanting against big teams with this MO.  

Another positive to me was Rohit publicly backing Kuldeep and saying he hopes to bring KulCha together at some stage. If not them, at least it shows he's thinking of a wrist spin oriented spin attack, always a much more attacking option. 

Hopefully Kuldeep takes that confidence to Ranji Trophy (good for him not to play the T20s) and does well. 

Just now, Ankit_sharma03 said:

in his last 20-25 dismissal around 80% have been with short ball...........raina at his worse had lesser % of short ball dismissals

Also next t20 WC is in Aus his S/r isnt good too, we shudnt waste time on him in t20s for sure

T20s are not his game anyway and his handling of short deliveries is utter ridiculous,he will be toyed in bouncy Australia

Tactically teams may not target him earlier but they can get him out whenever they want

1 minute ago, Frustrated said:

Our bowling looks good.   But MO remains the biggest concern.  MO is full of batsmen (like S Iyer and SKY) who will usually score 40-50 runs but will rarely convert them into a big/match winning hundred.   Yes, we won against 10th ranked Windies.  But will be found wanting against big teams with this MO.  

Iyer 25 ODIs - 9 50s and 1 100

SKY 7 ODIs - 2 50s

Pant 24 ODIs - 5 50s

Let them play more. They will get better. Plus these pitches were not those flat roads were our top 3 used to feast in earlier home series.

46 minutes ago, Lord said:

There won't be much swing on most pitches

There will be during in the next WC at home, unless all pitches are bone dry.

4 minutes ago, R!TTER said:

There will be during in the next WC at home, unless all pitches are bone dry.

Its in Nov. So there will be dew  I guess

Truly a pea sized brain

flat tracks at home = SA pitches! 

And compares how we did in SA in 2018 when top 3 had 100+ ODIs with how the middle order did there in their first tour.

Look at the 2013 SA tour ODIs with the top 3 playing together  for the first time in SA

2nd ODI: 19, 0, 0

1st ODI: 19, 12, 32

Thankfully 3rd ODI was rained out

Stick to PR.

29 minutes ago, Adamant said:

Why are people saying that Pant has been Decent enough? 

I Know he has been decent. 

But we don't want him to be 'decent' he should do way more than just decent

He is one of the most talented cricketers out there, needs to have a grand year in lois. 

Rishabh Pant in his last 12 ODIs:

486 runs

5 50s

40.5 runs per wicket

A strike rate of 116.54

20 SIXES

already improving , anyways his kind of attacking players will hardly be that consistent . This is enough consistency for me

8 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Rishabh Pant in his last 12 ODIs:

486 runs

5 50s

40.5 runs per wicket

A strike rate of 116.54

20 SIXES

already improving , anyways his kind of attacking players will hardly be that consistent . This is enough consistency for me

His getting into that Dhoni zone where he will be consistent

Hope he doesn't develop a pattern "taking it deep" to make chases impossible

Edited by Suhaan
Just now, Suhaan said:

His getting into that Dhoni zone(which i dont like)where he will be consistent

Hope he doesn't develop a pattern "taking it deep" to make chases impossible

His ODI batting is fine, will only get better.

He still hasn't figured out his T20I batting though. Ponting should help him free up and go back to his usual aggressive style with which he scored 1500+ runs @165+ SR  between 2017-19. Last two seasons he has been far too conservative. Doesn't help him at all.

1 hour ago, bowl_out said:

Some other things:

- Pant is better off at No.5 than opening.. He hits the ball hard and his game is more suited for middle and lower order hitting

- Top 3 is withering out fast.. We need Shaw and Ruturaj to play a few matches soon for succession planning

Dhawan is the oldest among the top 3 but looks more likely to last till WC 2023. Kohli is washed up and Rohit is injury prone and fat. Just a few days ago we saw an article about how he lost weight and is giving fitness goals, but looks like has been raiding the pantry again as he still looks overweight. 

Pant is a must in the middle order... Just give him a settled position at 4 or 5...only person who can hit at a strike rate of 100+ regardless of pitch or situation 

2 hours ago, Adamant said:

Sundar - Not fit to bat at 7 as of now, has potential but definitely can't risk it for WC 23.

Call it a gut feeling, or call it bias.  But I feel Sundar is a guy to invest in.  I think he's already a comparable or maybe even better option with the bat (and ball) than Jadeja.  And has potential to improve on the batting side for sure.  He should get a long audition in the leadup to the WC, because he would add a lot of balance and flexibility to the team in the local conditions ODI WC 2023.  

8 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Call it a gut feeling, or call it bias.  But I feel Sundar is a guy to invest in.  I think he's already a comparable or maybe even better option with the bat (and ball) than Jadeja.  And has potential to improve on the batting side for sure.  He should get a long audition in the leadup to the WC, because he would add a lot of balance and flexibility to the team in the local conditions ODI WC 2023.  

Jadeja's fielding will tip scales in his favor.  But he is no spring chicken. He is like 33 years. Next he will be 34. Already picking up injuries. Sundar is 14 years younger than him.  He is a long term prospect undoubtedly. At the age of 20 he was handling Starc, Cummins like a pro. Jadeja hardly had that ability at that age. It took so  many years to develop himself into a decent batsman.  So keeping him as his back up is not a bad idea.