Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 18, 2022 Posted July 18, 2022 (edited) In the three-match ODI series, Pandya snared 6 wickets at 12.33 runs apiece against England. He took around 17 balls for each wicket and conceded only 4.35 runs per over. There is much more to take away from his bowling heroics than the numbers alone. The rhythm, quality and execution of plans remained flawless. There has been much emphasis on the necessity of hit-the-deck speedsters who can operate effectively in the middle overs. While that is obviously an arduous job, there are such specialists in every team. But, for India, it's an all-rounder - with superlative batting expertise - effectuating that drudgery. The Indian team did have Prasidh Krishna in the fold do do that alongside Hardik, as the former had done against the same opponents last year. As for the 2022 English summer, Hardik was a class apart. The Gujarat-born accomplished his enforcer's role with the utmost perfection. He steamed in and hit the back of a length and short balls impeccably. His rising pace had only compounded the misery for premier England batters. Hardik saved his best for the all-important decider. When he first came to bowl, Jason Roy and Ben Stokes were dealing aggressively despite Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root being dismissed for nought earlier in the innings. By the time he started his spell, Hardik had already got a fair idea of the conditions and planned his way forward. After bowling a good length delivery first up, Pandya bowled slower balls into the pitch, just outside off, cramping Roy for the room. With the kind of batter he is, Roy was certainly aiming to break the shackles. This was a repeat of the first T20I at Southampton, where Roy had succumbed to Hardik's short ball. As premeditated, Roy played a compulsive pull on a back of a length delivery. But, since there wasn't any room, the ball found the top edge of the bat, landing in Rishabh Pant's glove. His next prey - Ben Stokes - was dismissed off what was probably the best ball of the game. The southpaw was in a mood for counter-attacking and looking to unsettle the pacers' length by occasionally charging down the track, as he had done in Tests earlier in the season. He would have assessed Hardik's plan from the initial burst. Stokes again tried to take Hardik off by charging down the track in his third over. The pacer saw that and tweaked his line from just outside off to outside leg stump shrewdly. That line created a blind spot for the Englishman, and the length was short enough to cramp him. The ball zipped off the surface sharply and could only meet the upper edge of the Stokes' bat, who tried flicking off this nasty delivery. Hardik didn't even need any support from the fielders as he grabbed an easy catch running forward. When Hardik returned for his second spell in the 35th over, England still had the dangerous Jos Buttler and Liam Livingstone at the crease. Hardik had the onus to get rid of them to enable India restrict the hosts to a below par score. The Liam Livingstone vs Hardik Pandya battle was one of the highlights of the limited-overs leg. Both are adamant about their modus operandi, forming a fascinating contest. And another duel kicked off right away when Hardik bowled a short delivery the right-hander. Livingstone loves shifting on the off stump to hit the shorter length balls behind square. He tried doing that on the first ball itself and was unsuccessful. He ducked the next ball, which was relatively fuller than the previous one. On the third attempt, Livingstone finally managed to pull one to the deep square leg for a 76m six. A flurry of short balls continued as Hardik managed to smack on the batter's helmet. In his next over, Liam again hit a 88m six to another short ball. Most of the bowlers will push their lengths a tad fuller after this, but Hardik stuck to his plans to eventually get the better of Livingstone. Another ball landed halfway, and Livingstone could only manage to place it in Ravindra Jadeja's hand at backward square. The bowler wins the battle, as is the case on most occasions. The witty smile on Hardik's face after the dismissal summed it all.. "Livingstone likes to take on the short ball and that gives me goosebumps, he hit me for two sixes but I told my captain even if I go for four sixes here, if I take a wicket, it will make a difference," exclaimed Hardik about this intriguing battle. And he was not done just yet. In the same over, the speedster also dismissed the well set Jos Buttler. This dismissal depicted that Hardik's short balls are well-planned and not just bowled for the sake of it. While the other balls were on the off stump or just outside off stump line, this wicket delivery was a tad more outside off. Buttler attempted to lug that short ball to the mid-wicket region. It didn't have the required power, and Jadeja again plucked an excellent catch. Hardik Pandya bowled 69% short balls and around 19% short of a length balls in the innings. The short balls fetched him three wickets, and the remaining wicket came off the back of a length delivery. And mind you, that's not new for him. Hardik Pandya likes keeping the lengths shorter like anything. That's his go-to length in any format of the game. https://cricxtasy.com/opinion/hardik-pandya-enforcer-wreaks-havoc-against-england/cid8058540.htm Edited July 18, 2022 by Ankit_sharma03 Vijy and tweaker 2
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 18, 2022 Author Posted July 18, 2022 (edited) 9 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Hardik Pandya bowled 69% short balls and around 19% short of a length balls in the innings. The short balls fetched him three wickets, and the remaining wicket came off the back of a length delivery. And mind you, that's not new for him. Hardik Pandya likes keeping the lengths shorter like anything. That's his go-to length in any format of the game. I think Hardik pandya has shut the door on Umran malik for that one role that malik was good at Hardik has done the job not once but thrice ever since IPL final and gives consistency and extra skill over Umran Edited July 18, 2022 by Ankit_sharma03
Chakdephatte Posted July 18, 2022 Posted July 18, 2022 This is wrong. You should share the link only. Don't copy paste. The writer may be getting paid for ads on his platform. nitinbwj 1
coffee_rules Posted July 18, 2022 Posted July 18, 2022 Pretty impressed with his pace. One of the bouncers that hit LivingStone’s helmet was 88 mph, I think. Vijy and express bowling 2
zen Posted July 18, 2022 Posted July 18, 2022 Umran should have been or be in the mix of things for the world cup ... As for Sir Don Pandya, who thought he could edge out a genuine pace bowler post his back injury. What a player! Not enough words to praise him. tweaker 1
coffee_rules Posted July 18, 2022 Posted July 18, 2022 From my limited knowledge here in ICF: Pandya:@zen::Pant: @Ankit_sharma03 neel roy, Vijy, sandeep and 1 other 4
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 18, 2022 Author Posted July 18, 2022 10 hours ago, Chakdephatte said: This is wrong. You should share the link only. Don't copy paste. The writer may be getting paid for ads on his platform. i hve only shared the important section not whole
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 18, 2022 Author Posted July 18, 2022 9 hours ago, coffee_rules said: From my limited knowledge here in ICF: Pandya:@zen::Pant: @Ankit_sharma03 thats unfair i have fought for KL, pandya as well for years My next project- Return of Kohli Lord, Vijy and velu 2 1
coffee_rules Posted July 18, 2022 Posted July 18, 2022 (edited) 3 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: thats unfair i have fought for KL, pandya as well for years My next project- Return of Kohli Been noticing that. But you can’t hide your Pant fanboi obsession like zen Edited July 18, 2022 by coffee_rules sandeep 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 18, 2022 Author Posted July 18, 2022 9 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Been noticing that. Im saying loud n clear , he ll return with a BANG 9 hours ago, coffee_rules said: But you can’t hide your Pant fanboi obsession like zen ohh yes , generational talent We are extremely lucky to have him Lord 1
Majestic Posted July 18, 2022 Posted July 18, 2022 That's cringeworthy. All the hype based on one bowling performance. Enforcer bowler?? Bhai wo 10 over to usse hoga nahi kahe ka enforcer bowler. He did got smacked by Ireland batters not far back. Pandya is a good fifth/sixth bowling option. That's it. Let's not hype him as oh look here comes the enforcer, now we don't need Umran Malik lmao..He is no Kapil Dev and will never be. A good LOI all rounder and an integral part of Indian team but far from being good enough to get into the side for his bowling alone. coffee_rules and nevada 2
zen Posted July 18, 2022 Posted July 18, 2022 (edited) 29 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: From my limited knowledge here in ICF: Pandya:@zen::Pant: @Ankit_sharma03 I support most talented young players to varying degrees - SDP, Pant, Gill, Umran, Moshin, Hooda, Samson, etc. There can be exceptions, but I tend to slowly move away once the players are above 30 and/or gain a wider fan following. Then I look for new talented players who need support (or are treated unfairly by masses in their early stage/days of struggle). Edited July 18, 2022 by zen Vijy and coffee_rules 2
Clarke Posted July 18, 2022 Posted July 18, 2022 Keen to watch how long this can be done. Not only is it demanding for a bowler, batsmen could learn & adapt to some extent. Lord 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 18, 2022 Author Posted July 18, 2022 (edited) 9 hours ago, Majestic said: That's cringeworthy. All the hype based on one bowling performance. Enforcer bowler?? Bhai wo 10 over to usse hoga nahi kahe ka enforcer bowler. He did got smacked by Ireland batters not far back. Pandya is a good fifth/sixth bowling option. That's it. Let's not hype him as oh look here comes the enforcer, now we don't need Umran Malik lmao..He is no Kapil Dev and will never be. A good LOI all rounder and an integral part of Indian team but far from being good enough to get into the side for his bowling alone. 1. One ???? clearly u haven't been noticing 2.He did it in 1st t20 vs england 3. then recent IPL final which was a masterclass in Middle over bowling 4. https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/india-tour-of-england-2018-1119528/england-vs-india-3rd-t20i-1119545/full-scorecard- did same on last tour He is actually doing what umran was suppose to do in middle over- enforcing Infact he bowls in PP as well and did a very good job in IPL................in terms of pure bowling he is doing a job of a bowler Kapil dev kaha se aa gaya ???? Im talking about a role . Every player has a role in team , if pandya fulfills umran role then he has no case left specially with so many limitations Middle over enforcer is a role which Umran looked best in IPL , 2nd seamer who took a lot of wkts was harshal but he isnt an enforcer as he works more as speed bump Edited July 18, 2022 by Ankit_sharma03
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 18, 2022 Author Posted July 18, 2022 (edited) 9 hours ago, Clarke said: Keen to watch how long this can be done. Not only is it demanding for a bowler, batsmen could learn & adapt to some extent. then he ll have to adapt that international cricket But he has been doing that for years , even in IPL his matchups were solid against likes of miller, Morgan and many in middle order batsman becoz of short ball attack Edited July 18, 2022 by Ankit_sharma03
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 18, 2022 Author Posted July 18, 2022 (edited) to all those who has thought or may think that im saying hardik is better bowler then umran or hardik can play as bowler or whatever- Ghanta, dimaag ka ilaaj karao All im saying everyone has a role- Umran role was going to be middle over enforcer which was his one n only strength . What im saying since pandya is doing that job now it makes umran case quite weak Edited July 18, 2022 by Ankit_sharma03 Lord 1
Lone Wolf Posted July 18, 2022 Posted July 18, 2022 OT pitch has decent bounce. Hardik did bowl well & surface aided him as well. Morgan & Nasser on SKY said that OT is unique pitch in England where u pick players with high release points or those who hit the pitch hard.. They were praising Overton as well. Now coming on to Hardik he's bowling really well in fact he was on Fire with the ball in England. Really happy for him. Looks like he really has worked hard on his back (which is not easy) . His pace is up too. Signs are good. Now that being said Umran was never in contention for WT20 according to TM. I just hope Hardik's form means we get to see Jaddu bowl less & less as he is a match loser with the ball in T20. Hardik on one leg can bowl better. Vijy 1
Majestic Posted July 18, 2022 Posted July 18, 2022 (edited) 27 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: 32 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: 1. One ???? clearly u haven't been noticing 2.He did it in 1st t20 vs england 3. then recent IPL final which was a masterclass in Middle over bowling 4. https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/india-tour-of-england-2018-1119528/england-vs-india-3rd-t20i-1119545/full-scorecard- did same on last tour He is actually doing what umran was suppose to do in middle over- enforcing Infact he bowls in PP as well and did a very good job in IPL................in terms of pure bowling he is doing a job of a bowler Kapil dev kaha se aa gaya ???? Im talking about a role . Every player has a role in team , if pandya fulfills umran role then he has no case left specially with so many limitations Middle over enforcer is a role which Umran looked best in IPL , 2nd seamer who took a lot of wkts was harshal but he isnt an enforcer as he works more as speed bump So you have mentioned one T20 performance and one ODI performance and then mentioned a link which was 4 years ago to prove your point. Hardik since his return has only bowled and succeeded in middle overs in one T20 game which was 1st T20 match vs England. He has mostly bowled two overs spell with new ball or one over upfront and one over in middle and that's it. Expecting him to do the bowler job is keeping the hope beyond delusion. He would barely bowl more than 2 overs in a t20 match and hence the comparison with middle overs enforcer is completely absurd here. Had he done that job 3-4 times( he played 5 matches vs SA, 2 vs Ireland, 3 vs England so 10 T20I matches), it would have been worth relying on him. But doing it once in 10 games doesn't solve the problem. Edited July 18, 2022 by Majestic
rollingstoned Posted July 18, 2022 Posted July 18, 2022 2 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: In the three-match ODI series, Pandya snared 6 wickets at 12.33 runs apiece against England. He took around 17 balls for each wicket and conceded only 4.35 runs per over. There is much more to take away from his bowling heroics than the numbers alone. The rhythm, quality and execution of plans remained flawless. There has been much emphasis on the necessity of hit-the-deck speedsters who can operate effectively in the middle overs. While that is obviously an arduous job, there are such specialists in every team. But, for India, it's an all-rounder - with superlative batting expertise - effectuating that drudgery. The Indian team did have Prasidh Krishna in the fold do do that alongside Hardik, as the former had done against the same opponents last year. As for the 2022 English summer, Hardik was a class apart. The Gujarat-born accomplished his enforcer's role with the utmost perfection. He steamed in and hit the back of a length and short balls impeccably. His rising pace had only compounded the misery for premier England batters. Hardik saved his best for the all-important decider. When he first came to bowl, Jason Roy and Ben Stokes were dealing aggressively despite Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root being dismissed for nought earlier in the innings. By the time he started his spell, Hardik had already got a fair idea of the conditions and planned his way forward. After bowling a good length delivery first up, Pandya bowled slower balls into the pitch, just outside off, cramping Roy for the room. With the kind of batter he is, Roy was certainly aiming to break the shackles. This was a repeat of the first T20I at Southampton, where Roy had succumbed to Hardik's short ball. As premeditated, Roy played a compulsive pull on a back of a length delivery. But, since there wasn't any room, the ball found the top edge of the bat, landing in Rishabh Pant's glove. His next prey - Ben Stokes - was dismissed off what was probably the best ball of the game. The southpaw was in a mood for counter-attacking and looking to unsettle the pacers' length by occasionally charging down the track, as he had done in Tests earlier in the season. He would have assessed Hardik's plan from the initial burst. Stokes again tried to take Hardik off by charging down the track in his third over. The pacer saw that and tweaked his line from just outside off to outside leg stump shrewdly. That line created a blind spot for the Englishman, and the length was short enough to cramp him. The ball zipped off the surface sharply and could only meet the upper edge of the Stokes' bat, who tried flicking off this nasty delivery. Hardik didn't even need any support from the fielders as he grabbed an easy catch running forward. When Hardik returned for his second spell in the 35th over, England still had the dangerous Jos Buttler and Liam Livingstone at the crease. Hardik had the onus to get rid of them to enable India restrict the hosts to a below par score. The Liam Livingstone vs Hardik Pandya battle was one of the highlights of the limited-overs leg. Both are adamant about their modus operandi, forming a fascinating contest. And another duel kicked off right away when Hardik bowled a short delivery the right-hander. Livingstone loves shifting on the off stump to hit the shorter length balls behind square. He tried doing that on the first ball itself and was unsuccessful. He ducked the next ball, which was relatively fuller than the previous one. On the third attempt, Livingstone finally managed to pull one to the deep square leg for a 76m six. A flurry of short balls continued as Hardik managed to smack on the batter's helmet. In his next over, Liam again hit a 88m six to another short ball. Most of the bowlers will push their lengths a tad fuller after this, but Hardik stuck to his plans to eventually get the better of Livingstone. Another ball landed halfway, and Livingstone could only manage to place it in Ravindra Jadeja's hand at backward square. The bowler wins the battle, as is the case on most occasions. The witty smile on Hardik's face after the dismissal summed it all.. "Livingstone likes to take on the short ball and that gives me goosebumps, he hit me for two sixes but I told my captain even if I go for four sixes here, if I take a wicket, it will make a difference," exclaimed Hardik about this intriguing battle. And he was not done just yet. In the same over, the speedster also dismissed the well set Jos Buttler. This dismissal depicted that Hardik's short balls are well-planned and not just bowled for the sake of it. While the other balls were on the off stump or just outside off stump line, this wicket delivery was a tad more outside off. Buttler attempted to lug that short ball to the mid-wicket region. It didn't have the required power, and Jadeja again plucked an excellent catch. Hardik Pandya bowled 69% short balls and around 19% short of a length balls in the innings. The short balls fetched him three wickets, and the remaining wicket came off the back of a length delivery. And mind you, that's not new for him. Hardik Pandya likes keeping the lengths shorter like anything. That's his go-to length in any format of the game. https://cricxtasy.com/opinion/hardik-pandya-enforcer-wreaks-havoc-against-england/cid8058540.htm Are hardik and Umran really competing with each other though? We could use more than 1 wicket taker in the middle phase going fwd and the express pace skill set is a different one to Hardiks more varied quiver of arrows. express bowling 1