Positives from todays loss

mani sha

Kohli - think he is getting in good touch . Ok to have him 

batting unit - overall ok . Needs kishan or some left hander besides pant . Left arm spinners and leg spinners abound in World Cup . Kishan and pant are a must imo 

bowling - overall ok . A fast legspinner like chahar and a bowling allrounder like Deepak chahar need to be in team . Need no 8 to have batting abilities . 

A loss like this is better than a just win . Makes one introspect . 

india needs to have axar , bishnoi in all games this wc . Get chahar in place of avesh . Get bhuvi to bowl Yorkers . Pandya and hooda can be fifth bowlers . Bench chahal 

13 minutes ago, mani sha said:

batting unit - overall ok . Needs kishan or some left hander besides pant . Left arm spinners and leg spinners abound in World Cup . Kishan and pant are a must imo 

bowling - overall ok . A fast legspinner like chahar and a bowling allrounder like Deepak chahar need to be in team . Need no 8 to have batting abilities . 

india needs to have axar , bishnoi in all games this wc . Get chahar in place of avesh . Get bhuvi to bowl Yorkers . Pandya and hooda can be fifth bowlers . Bench chahal 

other positives: Bobbie's death bowling, Arshdeep's fielding

big positive was our approach.. we could have got to 195 playing conservatively.. we were aiming for 200+ and we fell short by 20 runs.. Eng has shown that this approach will have the odd days when things don't go as per plan but then this approach will be the differentiator on the big days when opposition will be under pressure 

Positives: Excellent and aggressive start with the bat.

Negatives: Big name middle order strikers struggling against spin. Sub par fielding effort

Now go plan and execute better.

Chuckte Raho

TC

Edited by Throwaib_Chuckter
1 hour ago, raki05 said:

Ghanta positive. Indian team is pathetic, if you can't win against this pathetic pak team after scoring 181 whose batting is nothing after Babar and rizwan. It talks a lot about bowling. This bowling unit will get expose 9/10 times on flat pit he's even against associates teams. And if pitch has juice like first match against pak then your batting will get expose. 

Having watched our batting last three years , it was refreshing to see them get 178 . I would say this is the most positive approach . 

bowling is an issue . I looked back at ipl 2022 

list of fastest balls 

mohsin , kuldeep sen , umran , mavi , nagarkotti , khaleel , siraj , harshdeep and simarjeet besides bumrah 

none of above playing in the t20 .this is main reason we lost the match 

get bumrah , mohsin and Shami / siraj and we will be high pace 

add pandya , axar along with maybe a chahar as all rounder swing bowler and we will definitely do better and win more . 

be happy with the approach . Last year we lost by 10 wickets . At least now we ain’t losing badly . Just hope that the trundler mentality is replaced by true fast mentality 

5 hours ago, mani sha said:

when Bumrah comes back one of these will be gone from the team :- avesh/alternative, Bhuvi 

deepak chahar and/or shardul must be in contention for a bowling allrounder and ideally if a spin bowling allrounder is in the team like axar/ krunal that will be even better.

In the last match we had 4 bowlers:- bishnoi,chahal,bhuvi,arshdeep and hardik as a fast bowling option along with hooda as a spin bowling option. We unfortunately were not able to try hooda because of rohit. but we should definetely replace chahal with axar/someone who can hit sixes as well. having two bowling allrounders is unlikely but would be ideal. if chahar can bowl yorkers then he should be in contention. Apart from this. we definitely need to have a power hitter someone wo can club the ball for six ala yusuf pathan/ dhoni. For so many years we haven't found any alternative for pathan. we do not have any body in the side who has some meat in his bones all the players barring pant skinny. Rohit is fat from the wrong side of the body. we definetely need a power hitter like russel. someone who can just club the ball for six. 

in this 

Edited by A1Singga

Pandya's atrocious pies, Rohit's mind boggling poor captaincy. Why did he remove Bishnoi after that one over? Why was Pandya not asked to stop the short ball tactics as this wasn't the pitch suited for it or did Pandya's ego won. Why was Hooda not given a single over? 

I am not sure if Ashwin is the answer to Chahal but he has had an astonishingly poor Asia Cup. Not turning the ball and picking wickets here is a crime. 

Bishnoi the ONLY positive and Arsh's death bowling despite that easy catch drop which eventually cost the match. 

1 hour ago, Majestic said:

@Lord once said,

"Bhuvi's death bowling is absolutely magnificent. Harshal's death bowling is not fit enough to tie the shoelace of Bhuvi's death bowling. "

Now say!

Bhuvi ho ya Harshal ho ye ek hi thali ke chatte batte hai. Bhai no one give respect to spinners in death overs even when you are Rashid Khan or Chucker Ajmal. Same way no one give respect to trundlers in death over no matter how good you are. India should have identified fast bowler from ipl and then work on their other skill. Look at Naseem and Rauf while they break in they were gun barrel straight even now they are not best but one thing is given once they get their line and length correct it will be difficult to hit them.As evident yday how Rauf was containing set Kohli in final over.

Edited by raki05

There are plenty of positives from this match. Pakistan are playing to a set plan and apart from Fakhar's lapses in the field, they are nailing every match up and bowling, fielding and batting to the best of their abilities. 

Despite losing the toss, we made them sweat. Rohit needs to get his changes spot on and play with more defensive fields upfront etc. 

Their team trusts a data driven process whereas Rohit and Co. still go a bit more on gut feel . India have a lot more to unearth from this lot let alone from others waiting to come in. 

Also, Pakistan are a top 3 T20 side and of a very high quality. It's hard to beat them every game  

10 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said:

There are plenty of positives from this match. Pakistan are playing to a set plan and apart from Fakhar's lapses in the field, they are nailing every match up and bowling, fielding and batting to the best of their abilities. 

Despite losing the toss, we made them sweat. Rohit needs to get his changes spot on and play with more defensive fields upfront etc. 

Their team trusts a data driven process whereas Rohit and Co. still go a bit more on gut feel . India have a lot more to unearth from this lot let alone from others waiting to come in. 

Also, Pakistan are a top 3 T20 side and of a very high quality. It's hard to beat them every game  

Agree. People expect us to beat this Pakistani team like every game just because our ceiling is much higher but the truth is this Pakistan team in UAE is a beast in T20s. It is good that even after missing Jaddu and Bumrah we are neck to neck with them.

17 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said:

That's even more shameful then , Our IPL superstars stand nowhere in front of a young inexperienced Pakistan Team !

I thought IPL was producing the besht of the besht and makes sure that the players develop balls of steel during crunch situation no?

45 minutes ago, nitinbwj said:

Why isn't Siraj playing? Injured? 

Team management for some reason is muddled about t20 . 

my gut feel is that they feel in australia , bhuvi avesh and bumrah are best options . I am hoping bhuvi will be injured and avesh will be beaten to 50 runs 4 overs by every minnow team . We still have few games to get our best bowling combo . 

krisna , bumrah and chahar might be our ideal attack . Gives pace bounce and swing with batting ability of chahar . Harshal / shardul should be also there as backup . Mohsin should be in or siraj/ Shami for pace .