K L Rahul and "body language"

10 minutes ago, Need4Speed said:

Its simple..wo bowlers ko chadhne ka mauka de rha hai..TM was going gung ho about agressive approach before WC..its nowhere to be seen from him…

That defensive demeanor is making him look like a sitting duck..which bowlers can sense easily..and he ends up getting out with inside edges many times..being on backfoot mentally..

He didnt even took DRS on that lbw he is so much poor..

he will struggle against Ngarva and Muzrabbani if he continues to be on backfoot mentally..

Hitman wanted him to be given out. lol. :hysterical:

KL was awful out there, absolutely strangulating the run rate.

13 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Half the discussions about K L Rahul focus on his supposedly "defeatist" "sad" "body language" issues being the cause of his failures.  I beg to differ.

Virat Kohli never had any body language issues but he struggled for 2.5 years before turning it around.  Prithvi Shaw has a confident demeanor but couldn't put bat to ball before working on his game recently ... heck, M S Dhoni had immaculate body language for the last few years of his career, but he couldn't buy a boundary.

Bad body language does not cause failures.  Failures lead to bad body language.  The guy is out of form and there is some glaring technical issue that has crept in and it won't disappear even if he strutted into the field chewing gum like Viv Richards.  Harping on his body language is not going to help solve his batting issues.  He needs to step away for some time and work things out, and come back when he is in good form. Because, when the guy is on song, he can be unstoppable - even with a sad look on his face.  

When they have nothing new to offer, no ideas, no knowledge, they end up taking about player's body language, physical stature (midget, walrus), appearance.

He has a face, and people have a problem with that.

Edited by Chakdephatte
3 minutes ago, BlueBlood said:

The TM did the same thing with Pant - put him in opening and gave him no clear role.

So Pant being a confused player either tried to attack too much or was too timid and get dropped.

Batsmen in lower order get promoted frequently to give them more time. That happened with Dhoni and Yuvraj in the past. Nothing new.

5 minutes ago, BlueBlood said:

This type of seniority culture needs to end. New Zealand dropped Guptill who is their best ever opener.

Guptill is 35 and out of sorts. He should have been dropped earlier and not just before a major tournament.

8 minutes ago, BlueBlood said:

England dropped Eoin Morgan who was a captain to make way for a better team.

Not a great move. He was useless for an year but so was Kohli. Slump hits everybody. 

6 hours ago, raki05 said:

@coffee_rules...lo bhaiya ab bolo.

Meh! Pant bandwagoner. Timing of the article right after Asia cup failure. Bilateral mein to accha khela and was even rested for last T20 against SA owing to his good form. All this talk of demeanor happens whenever a batsman has a slump

19 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Meh! Pant bandwagoner. Timing of the article right after Asia cup failure. Bilateral mein to accha khela and was even rested for last T20 against SA owing to his good form. All this talk of demeanor happens whenever a batsman has a slump

But k l r always had this issue. He doesn't have slump, he was running riots in warmups. Just tell him it's not crunch games and he is not playing against pak he will start scoring. With him it's definitely mental as he gets scared and brain fade as soon as he feel slight pressure. I bet he will flop against even associates if it will be ko match.

He just needs to score in games when there are eyes on him. Then it will never be looked too much into.

Nothing wrong with the body language. Even Quinton De Kock has sad look on his face all time.

Edited by Number
7 minutes ago, Number said:

He just needs to score in games when there are eyes on him. Then it will never be looked too much into.

Nothing wrong with the body language. Even Quinton De Kock has sad look on his face all time.

He can make all go away in the next match. Each failure pressure is going to be higher. 

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/i-think-he-switches-on-and-off-for-whatever-reason-former-coach-anil-kumble-on-kl-rahul-s-woes-101666875620956.html

Here is Anil Kumble's take on his form

KL Rahul's struggles continued on Thursday when he fell for just nine runs off 12 balls against the Netherlands. It was the second consecutive time that Rahul fell for a single digit score in the 2022 T20 World Cup, having been dismissed for four in India's dramatic opener against Pakistan on Sunday. It has led to a number of fans questioning India's decision to stick with Rahul at the top of the order instead of giving someone like Rishabh Pant a go.

Rahul had returned from a lengthy spell on the sidelines in late August and has since struggled for consistency. He had scored back to back half centuries against South Africa in the series just before the T20 World Cup, but the first of those was a 56-ball 51. India spin great Anil Kumble, who has experience of working with Rahul as India's head coach in the past and as head coach of the Punjab Kings in the IPL, said that the 30-year-old just needs to “switch on”. Rahul was captain the Punjab franchise and often came under criticism for his low strike rate at the top of the order.

Kumble said that he understood why Rahul tended to hunker down while playing for Punjab but it is a different situation when playing for India. “In the IPL it was a different conversation. All of us kept saying, look, you are the best player. Just go out and bat normally. From ball one, go hard, do what you are good out,” he said on ESPNCricinfo.

“Especially in the powerplay I don't think any bowler can keep him quiet. But I think when he played franchise cricket, he felt that he needed to bat longer because of the lineup he had and he was captain. You can say what you want from the outside but you can't control what happens on the field.”

“With the Indian team it is quite different. I think his role is to just go out there and bat. When I was coach, I didn't want that to change, I just wanted him to go and be KL Rahul, dictate terms from ball one. I think he sort of switches on and  switches off for whatever reason. We saw in his last game for Punjab against Chennai where we had to get those runs and have a crack at the net run rate, we saw what he can do. He just smashed everyone and Chennai had some good international bowlers," said Kumble.

CSK had scored 134/6 in an IPL 2021 match against Punjab with the latter under pressure to improve their net run rate. Rahul ended up blazing an unbeaten 98 off 42 balls, smashing seven fours and eight sixes as he led his team to a six-wicket win with 42 balls in hand. “So it is just a matter of Rahul switching on. It is not about any conversation any of us can have, it is just about him feeling that today is when I will start hitting shots or be tentative. We don't know,” he said.

Edited by vvvslaxman

So when KL Rahul plays as an opener he has so many options. He can anchor, he can go from ball one, he can even just block. Based on Kumble's take on his issues, he decides how he wants to bat. I think we have to take all the options away from him. Only way you can do is sending him down the order. 

Edited by vvvslaxman

Pant with his limited talent made 39(32) when India was in all sorts of trouble in the T20 WC game against Pakistani last year. 

rahul was 3(8) as usual. 

Pant always shows up in big games. 
deciding game of a test series overseas( Australia, South Africa)

WTC final

and then you have kl Rahul with all the talent in the world coming up small each and every time in big occassions. 

2 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

So when KL Rahul plays as an opener he has so many options. He can anchor, he can go from ball one, he can even just block. Based on Kumble's take on his issues, he decides how he wants to bat. I think we have to take all the options away from him. Only way you can do is sending him down the order. 

Or tell him what to do - after all this is a team sport, no?  If he doesn't buy in and does his own thing, have the courage to sit him and let him go figure out what is wrong with his technique. 

Kohli

Rohit

SKY

Pant

Rahul

Hardik

This looks much better lineup. Rahul needs to bat in middle order where he can do what DK does plus we'll have a better keeper

9 minutes ago, Chakdephatte said:

Pant

Rohit

Kohli

SKY

Rahul

Hardik

Pant can now suceed at only one position.

that's good too but I want someone to bash SLA and leggies rather than having to promote Axar

1 hour ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Or tell him what to do - after all this is a team sport, no?  If he doesn't buy in and does his own thing, have the courage to sit him and let him go figure out what is wrong with his technique. 

looks like he shuts his ears to them also lol If he is not listening to Kumble i am not sure he will listen to anyone. It is almost like he becomes a different person once he gets to the crease.

6 minutes ago, Majestic said:

There is definitely something wrong or technical faults otherwise your body language and your look coming to bat won't be so scared off or have that defeatish mindset to simply survive.

I have been hard on Kohli over the past few years, but one thing for sure, he never has this defeatist mind or turns up to the crease trying to survive. He always tries to take the opposition on.

KL may become good again, but one thing for sure, his body language is that of a state batsman facing a world class international bowler.