Want a game against Sri Lanka to impress Hardik Pandya.

Pollack

Want a game against Sri Lanka to impress Hardik Pandya, says Shivam Mavi.

The 24-year-old is supremely confident that he won't let Hardik down.

"Hardik Pandya supports every player. He is a great leader. It is very difficult to be the IPL champions in the first outing but he managed to do it. He led Gujarat Titans from the front and became champions. He is a calm leader but took some bold decisions," the 24-year-old told PTI in an exclusive interview.

"As a captain Hardik bhai is very shrewd and a master tactician. He knows exactly whom to bowl when and whom to promote in the batting order. I know it is not going to be easy for me but I am just hoping to get a game, perform there and be a regular for India."

Despite a below-par performance in last IPL, Mavi was confident of a good price in this year's IPL mini-auction and also got the team of his choice.
"Yes, I was expecting something around Rs 5 and 6 crore. It is a result of my consistent performances. I always wanted to be in GT because I have heard that their management is very good. GT has Hardik bhai and (Ashish) Nehra bhai, the two best thinkers of the game," he said.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/sri-lanka-in-india/want-a-game-against-sri-lanka-to-impress-hardik-pandya-says-shivam-mavi/articleshow/96594151.cms?from=mdr

Edited by Pollack
18 minutes ago, Majestic said:

Consistent performance??

I can't remember but kisine Mavi ki bahut pitayi ki thi pichle IPL me..

Last IPL, he played with injury.

His domestic numbers are impressive. It's the right time for him to be picked, is in peak form this year in domestic. Just want him to not compromise on his pace. 

1 hour ago, Majestic said:

Consistent performance??

I can't remember but kisine Mavi ki bahut pitayi ki thi pichle IPL me..

Shaw hit six fours in an over of him. But Shaw isn't good enough. Mavi is

1 minute ago, Lord said:

Shaw hit six fours in an over of him. But Shaw isn't good enough. Mavi is

He was playing with a heel injury last IPL. Was really down in pace too. I talked to his coach about the decrease in his pace. Coach said he was struggling with heel injury. Coach had posted a video of him hitting 150kph in the nets just before this domestic season started.

Just now, rkt.india said:

He was playing with a heel injury last IPL. Was really down in pace too. I talked to his coach about the decrease in his pace. Coach said he was struggling with heel injury. Coach had posted a video of him hitting 150kph in the nets just before this domestic season started.

if he has regained pace its good. But we'll only know once he plays.

Good thing is he can bat too.

Good to hear that a youngster is raring to go. I hope that he gets an opportunity esp. with matches in Mumbai and Pune. 

Ind could go with a bowling attack of Mavi, Arshdeep, Unram, and Chahal/Sundar, with. Sir Don and Hooda 5-6th bowlers. 

1 hour ago, rkt.india said:

Do tell coach to pass the msg that he shouldnt listen to Bhuvi bhaiyya..who could neither improve fitness nor pace..we dont want Mavi to become a trundler..haha

18 minutes ago, cricketfan28 said:

Pandya will be the next sharma/kohli, looks like pr machine already on it.

Sanju Samson says "hold my beer". Already Shashi Taroor is sharing a random meme on his twitter feed lol

2 hours ago, rkt.india said:

in domestic match highlights karthik tyagi looked faster than him , he does maintain line and length but does he touch 145K?( i am sure he does not touch 150K)

my understanding is even now he is 130 to 140K bowler and if i have to choose between him , Shammi and Umran - i would pick shammi and Umran ahead of him. Do you think his selection is well deserved. 

I kind of think that Kuldeep sen is a faster and probably better bowler than Shaivam Mavi. karthik tyagi is not a finished product as of now so i can understand that they want to give him time to improve. earlier navdeep saini was picked and he was not  played - is he unfit now.

I think mukesh kumar is steady in line n length but a shade slow andhad shivammavi had slowed down a bit and he was not rocking the domestic circuit where as kuldeep sen was the talk of the town and he was played for one or 2 matches only.

My only gripe with all these speedstars is they come to team, bowl few overs or play few matches then out with nack hip leg shoulder finger knee ankle injuries ( did i miss anything).. prasidh krishna, kuldeep sen, navdeep saini, deepak chahaar..whatever said and done Ishant Sharma to me is the most underrated pace bowler india ever had.. this guy started in 2007 and was still bowling well till last year ( remember the Lords match.. Bairstows wicket just before tea).. he hasnt got the appreciation he deserves after being the work horse for 105 tests..