Hockey World Cup 2023- India

LordPrabhzy

1 minute ago, Vickydev said:

Tbh it's never going to give results long term. We'll rather need a professional league first

There is no defined domestic structure for Hockey in India.. random clubs in different states with no coherrent approach to make sure the best players are being produced for the national team.

Even the Hockey India League with just 6 teams.. is probably much inferior in quality to the Dutch/Belgium domestic lcub league

crores being spent on stadiums and facilities for international team has no value if widespread hockey facilities and coaches are not there at the grassroots- We cannot compete with the European giants till our sporting culture in childhood does not change.

China sucks in football and hockey because it's much easier to take a totalitarian approach to individual events... team events require a sporting culture to succeed

10 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

There is no defined domestic structure for Hockey in India.. random clubs in different states with no coherrent approach to make sure the best players are being produced for the national team.

Even the Hockey India League with just 6 teams.. is probably much inferior in quality to the Dutch/Belgium domestic lcub league

Yeah even that league isnt going on anymore I think.

10 minutes ago, nitinbwj said:

That Olympic bronze was the best hockey that we played. Haven't seen any good hockey after that. Sreejesh the freak saved his best for that Olympic glory. He could have saved a few today if not for that injury but the attempt at goals was shocking. 

he did save one to get us into sudden death

3 minutes ago, Vickydev said:

Yeah even that league isnt going on anymore I think.

"The goal is to have a strong club competition in this area and improve the quality of the players for international level,” said David John who has been roped in as the Director of Odisha Hockey."

“India doesn’t have a strong club system. The problem with the domestic players is that they don’t play enough competitive matches to keep themselves ready for the big stage. The aim is to provide them a proper platform where they will play competitive hockey and hone the subtle nuances of the game,” said John.

They had a golden chance to make an impression here at Home but the preparation was poor...no back up PC specialist once Harmanpreet was off color. The only one decent striker was lost to injury and they could not just convert Penalty Corners. After the first game despite winning 4-2 it looked like this was at best good Asian games team but no where world class. Aus/Dutch/Beg would have anyways butchered them in later stage.

Hockey players need to understand that everything works in reverse in India.. as there is no sports culture, a sports can only be popular in the country only IF you WIN the World Cup or the pinnacle of the sport, THEN people start to follow it. Same thing happened with cricket.. only when we won a WC then the popularity increased.

14 minutes ago, Mesky99 said:

Some of these Punjab players are massively overrated and should be no where near the squad, Jarmanpreet shouldn't be in the squad, manjeet, sukhjeet, shamsher should not be playing, they left possibly the best young talent in the country out of the squad selvam Karthik

Bhai baaki b koi khaas nhi hai. Neelam Xess was making school boy errors in defence. Abhishek Prasad looked deer caught in headlight as soon as he was under pressure.

32 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Hockey players need to understand that everything works in reverse in India.. as there is no sports culture, a sports can only be popular in the country only IF you WIN the World Cup or the pinnacle of the sport, THEN people start to follow it. Same thing happened with cricket.. only when we won a WC then the popularity increased.

This is so true!! We tend to totally undermine anyone who doesnt reach the top and deify whoever does. 

1 hour ago, nitinbwj said:

That Olympic bronze was the best hockey that we played. Haven't seen any good hockey after that. Sreejesh the freak saved his best for that Olympic glory. He could have saved a few today if not for that injury but the attempt at goals was shocking. 

We did okay in the Cwg. **** opposition mostly but at least we looked convincing. This team has choked or just not managed to turn up in a home world cup sadly. 

I needed 2 hours to calm down after the way we lost it and shat the bed. 

2 hours ago, Number said:

Bhai baaki b koi khaas nhi hai. Neelam Xess was making school boy errors in defence. Abhishek Prasad looked deer caught in headlight as soon as he was under pressure.

Most of them are average players, bar sreejesh, Hardik and maybe rohidas the rest just make up numbers, Indian hockey team is doing nothing great despite massive funding, dipsan should have been in the squad, midfield not creative enough