putrevus Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 (edited) 22 minutes ago, tapandrun said: Bgt is long shot for Mayank. He can only play of he is the 4th fast bowler in the team and bowls 4/5 over spells at max. Do not think this is going to happen Shami will be returning from injury and Siraj is already declining would the team risk a new bowler with overhanging injury clouds. This would put extra pressure and burden on Bhumrah was is also coming back from 2nd back injury No it is not, as long as he can bowl 12-16 @ 145 plus overs in day.He should be fine, he does not have play all five tests either. Pace bowlers like this rare, you need to use them when they are healthy. Sydney and Adaleide, Ashwin and Jadeja will play so only three fast bowlers are needed there. Aussies can be rattled by pace , you need pace bowlers there. Edited October 10 by putrevus express bowling 1 Link to comment
prudent_kreeda Posted October 10 Share Posted October 10 2 hours ago, express bowling said: I meant to write 140 k ... and 150 k was a typing error. Someone bowling 140 to 150 k is a 145 k pacer. And a 145 k pacer in T20s may become a 140 k pacer ( 135 k to 145 k ) in the longer formats and this is pretty common nowadays. Ok. NP. Link to comment
Ultimate_Game Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 Needs to bowl in domestic cricket to have better control of line & length. Looking nowhere close to the bowler he was in IPL. Link to comment
MK55 Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 9 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: Needs to bowl in domestic cricket to have better control of line & length. Looking nowhere close to the bowler he was in IPL. Problem is that he’s bowling 10k slower than ipl. That’s a big problem for a bowler like him Link to comment
Ultimate_Game Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 16 minutes ago, MK55 said: Problem is that he’s bowling 10k slower than ipl. That’s a big problem for a bowler like him I think predictable length and lack of control is a bigger issue. Pace in 140s is good enough. Link to comment
express bowling Posted October 12 Author Share Posted October 12 4 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: I think predictable length and lack of control is a bigger issue. Pace in 140s is good enough. Is bowling with good control. Hardly a bad ball bowled. Let's not forget that this is a very easy pitch where we scored almost 300 in 20 overs. Mosher, Lone Wolf, rahulrulezz and 1 other 1 3 Link to comment
MK55 Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 6 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: I think predictable length and lack of control is a bigger issue. Pace in 140s is good enough. It’s good enough but not when you’ve got the ability to go 150-155. It’s something not many possess and at no cost should be compromised. Slight exaggeration but you’re turning a Ferrari into a Prius that’s reliable. rollingstoned, cricspirit, AKane and 4 others 1 6 Link to comment
rkt.india Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 35 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: Needs to bowl in domestic cricket to have better control of line & length. Looking nowhere close to the bowler he was in IPL. He has good line and length but line and length alone doesn't work in T20 cricket. Must have something extra like the pace he bowled in IPL. Need4Speed, nitinbwj and tapandrun 2 1 Link to comment
singhvivek141 Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 2 minutes ago, express bowling said: Is bowling with good control. Hardly a bad ball bowled. Let's not forget that this is a very easy pitch where we scored almost 300 in 20 overs. Bro..no problem with his control. It's just that we don't want him to lose his USP. He is much more accurate that trundlers Bhuvi & Mukesh....but when he can do that at 150, why to limit at 140. cricspirit, express bowling, Sgattick10 and 3 others 1 5 Link to comment
nitinbwj Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 Indian National Team, coaches,NCA, management just can't handle raw pace over 150kmph. We saw Varun,Umran and now Mayank,the guys who bowled 150 consistently in IPL just couldn't reach the same pace in internationals. I don't blame the player. The fault lies in the soch. There is something wrong with the thinking of Indian Team Management rollingstoned, express bowling, AKane and 3 others 6 Link to comment
nitinbwj Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 Dropping pace from 153 to 149 is acceptable but 145-147 ..nope. MK55 and nevada 2 Link to comment
Ultimate_Game Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 9 minutes ago, rkt.india said: He has good line and length but line and length alone doesn't work in T20 cricket. Must have something extra like the pace he bowled in IPL. Length is too predictable. I would like him to nail the good length and mix it with short of length and yorkers. Need more bowling under his belt. singhvivek141 and Lord 2 Link to comment
Ultimate_Game Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 12 minutes ago, MK55 said: It’s good enough but not when you’ve got the ability to go 150-155. It’s something not many possess and at no cost should be compromised. Slight exaggeration but you’re turning a Ferrari into a Prius that’s reliable. If Mayank can stay injury free and have control in 150s, I'm all for it. But most importantly he needs to be able to nail that good length delivery. Link to comment
Ultimate_Game Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 14 minutes ago, express bowling said: Is bowling with good control. Hardly a bad ball bowled. Let's not forget that this is a very easy pitch where we scored almost 300 in 20 overs. He bowled too short. His bowling was so much better in IPL. I recall his spell against Dhawan where he mixed his lengths so beautifully. When Dhawan tried to camp on the back foot he bowled fullish length and was able to hit good length more often. In thsi series so far he has mostly bowled short. Could be due to long layoff but he definitely needs more bowling under his belt. Link to comment
cowboysfan Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 the only thing which made him exceptional was his ability to bowl over 150kph,now he is another run the mill fast bowler who cant bat or field.upto him to up his pace and improve his fielding. Link to comment
vayuu1 Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 Abey bsdwalo give poor kid a break,he has bowled well this series,he is just coming back from injury it takes time to get fully used to it plus he would also have comfort issues whenever he feels comfortable he will bowl quicker,saale sab talwaar le ke Chad jaate hai itna bhi chewtiyapa theek nahi for heaven's sake Sgattick10 1 Link to comment
vayuu1 Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 Reading comments in this section makes me feel like chappal nikal ke maaru,sahi main kya gadhe log hai raki05, Sgattick10 and Number 3 Link to comment
raki05 Posted October 12 Share Posted October 12 May be he was asked to take it easy as its against bhikhari razakaars . Why waste 150 kph rockets against bhikharis when you can do it at 110 speed. He may increase his speed against worthy enough teams. Suhaan, singhvivek141, Sgattick10 and 1 other 4 Link to comment