Austin 3:!6 Posted November 4, 2024 Posted November 4, 2024 (edited) Okay I know we all want him to go but we must understand where BCCI & selectors are coming from. We will probably never see a batsman of Virat's calibre again. In an era of T20s/IPL, chance of India producing another batsman of his level and dedication is rare. You simply don't find a batsman who scores 50 ODI & 29 test centuries everyday. BCCI want to give an over extended rope just to see if he can regain back his form. The pleasure he has given to we fans between 2012 (starting from Malinga innings) till 2020 Covid was immense and can never be forgotten. Think we can all give him back a little bit more support now when he is down. I think we as fans should be behind Virat Kohli in this troubled times and hope he had a great BGT. Edited November 4, 2024 by Austin 3:!6 Mariyam and Adamant 1 1
Popular Post saransh Posted November 4, 2024 Popular Post Posted November 4, 2024 Arre bhai pichhle 5 saal se toh support hi dete aa rahay hai, aur kitna support chahiye isse? From 2019 till now I think the only decent year he had was last year (that also mainly in whiteball) and apart from that the knock against Pak in 2022 T20 wc. There is nothing else. He looks so finished in test cricket it isn't even funny. Ultimate_Game, nitinbwj, sorak and 7 others 4 3 3
Popular Post Number Posted November 4, 2024 Popular Post Posted November 4, 2024 (edited) Now we have paid threads on ICF. Edited November 4, 2024 by Number Sgattick10, JaFanatic, Texan and 17 others 18 2
R!TTER Posted November 4, 2024 Posted November 4, 2024 3 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said: BCCI want to give an over extended rope just to see if he can regain back his form. He should've been removed from captaincy in 2019/20 itself—yes, in the first year of that slump I said it back then! One of the reasons is that every cap has a shelf life; when his returns as a cap are stagnant and/or his batting returns are dwindling, then they should be let go—it's true across 145+ years of cricket across all formats. Now who would've taken up the mantle? I'd have done split capacity with Rahane for tests and RGS for LO till at least 2023 WC or so. I talked about this right after the Oz series win in 2021 as well, but Kohli fangirls and probably like 90% of the forum were too busy sucking up to better than SRT's antics Rahane was doing well in the 2-3 years up to 2021, at least on par or slightly better than Brat. Of course we had turners at home, and everything went sideways. If the reason to go for turners was say WTC, then * this mindset—a test series win always comes first and should always be prioritized. Secondly, when you go down that route, you are also putting short-term gains over longer-term ones. How the * are your batters going to be in form when they keep getting out on stupid *ing minefields to part timers? I always try to look 5/10/20 years down the line & see how the planning should be to get better/consistent results
Austin 3:!6 Posted November 4, 2024 Author Posted November 4, 2024 Also I find it funny when people say both Kohli and Rohit has passed it in test cricket. Rohit was never a test batsman where as Kohli was a terrific test batsman all his life. Rohit don't even deserve to be in test team, let alone being a captain. Kohli should have led India for few more years and groomed someone like Pant under him for taking it over. The entire fault of the present situation lies with Ganguly who screwed it big time. Sgattick10 and rtmohanlal 2
sensible-indian Posted November 4, 2024 Posted November 4, 2024 (edited) Well, BCCI is way ahead of you in executing this plan. First victim Ashwin. You gotta throw someone out to assuage public anger. Voila you got it. If that doesnt work, next victim will be Rohit. If that doesn't work, Jaddu will be thrown out. If that too doesnt work, lets try kohli for 10 innings in England and if he fails there too... We will give him a home farewell series. Traditional media will be notified to hype it up. Commies will wax lyricals about him. Social media teams will be ready with emotional content that engulfs fb, twitter, insta...even reddit won't be spared. He will be asked to give a speech like Tendulkar. Fans will be teary eyed. What a beautiful send off. Goosebumps. Edited November 4, 2024 by sensible-indian saransh, Texan, Norman and 2 others 5
saransh Posted November 4, 2024 Posted November 4, 2024 (edited) These are his stats in test cricket in the last 5 years. 3 hundreds in 36 test matches!! 2 of them against power houses of world cricket WI and Bangladesh. His 186 against Australia is the 3rd century on a super flat track in Ahd where match ended in a draw. But still for the sake of it let us consider this. So 1 hundred in the last 5 years!! Isn't this rope long enough? We bayed for Sachin's blood after a poor 1-1.5 years. Here this guy has been given atleast 3-4x amount of time! Edited November 4, 2024 by saransh Ultimate_Game, diga and Norman 1 2
Austin 3:!6 Posted November 4, 2024 Author Posted November 4, 2024 4 minutes ago, sensible-indian said: Well, BCCI is way ahead of you in executing this plan. First victim Ashwin. You gotta throw someone out to assuage public anger. Voila you got it. If that doesnt work, next victim will be Rohit. If that doesn't work, Jaddu will be thrown out. If that too doesnt work, lets try kohli for 10 innings in England and if he fails there too... We will give him a home farewell series. Traditional media will be notified to hype it up. Commies will wax lyricals about him. Social media teams will be ready with emotional content that engulfs fb, twitter, insta...even reddit shouldn't be spared. He will be asked to give a speech like Tendulkar. Fans will be teary eyed. What a beautiful send off. Goosebumps. Ashwin just had one poor series. He shouldn't be thrown out at all. I think he can play for couple of years more in home tests if he can maintain his fitness. Don't think he will play in BGT through as Sundar in red hot form. For Rohit, BGT will be his last. Infact, I will not be surprised if he has already played his last test. He is not playing in the 1st game in Perth and if India does well, I don't see him coming back. His PC yesterday also gave a lot of clues. Jadeja and Kohli's future depends on BGT performances. Both will be dropped for Eng series if they don't perform in Australia
Lord Posted November 4, 2024 Posted November 4, 2024 I'll support him in IPL. Leave Indian team alone. OP is a very individual centric instead of team based. Kohli has nothing much to offer especially in Tests Texan, Norman and Ultimate_Game 1 2
Popular Post Mariyam Posted November 4, 2024 Popular Post Posted November 4, 2024 32 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said: Okay I know we all want him to go but we must understand where BCCI & selectors are coming from. We will probably never see a batsman of Virat's calibre again. In an era of T20s/IPL, chance of India producing another batsman of his level and dedication is rare. You simply don't find a batsman who scores 50 ODI & 29 test centuries everyday. BCCI want to give an over extended rope just to see if he can regain back his form. The pleasure he has given to we fans between 2012 (starting from Malinga innings) till 2020 Covid was immense and can never be forgotten. Think we can all give him back a little bit more support now when he is down. I think we as fans should be behind Virat Kohli in this troubled times and hope he had a great BGT. Okay I know we all want him to go but we must understand where BCCI & selectors are coming from. We will probably never see a batsman of Gavaskar's calibre again. In an era of T20s/IPL, chance of India producing another batsman of his level and dedication is rare. You simply don't find a batsman who scores 0 ODI & 34 test centuries everyday. BCCI want to give an over extended rope just to see if he can regain back his form. The pleasure he has given to we fans between 1897 till 1914 WWI was immense and can never be forgotten. Think we can all give him back a little bit more support now when he is down. I think we as fans should be behind Sunil Gavaskar in this troubled times and hope he had a great BGT. Stan AF, BacktoCricaddict, Number and 11 others 13 1
sensible-indian Posted November 4, 2024 Posted November 4, 2024 (edited) 11 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said: Ashwin just had one poor series. He shouldn't be thrown out at all. I think he can play for couple of years more in home tests if he can maintain his fitness. Don't think he will play in BGT through as Sundar in red hot form. For Rohit, BGT will be his last. Infact, I will not be surprised if he has already played his last test. He is not playing in the 1st game in Perth and if India does well, I don't see him coming back. His PC yesterday also gave a lot of clues. Jadeja and Kohli's future depends on BGT performances. Both will be dropped for Eng series if they don't perform in Australia Reports from BCCI suggest otherwise. If we are not qualifying for WTC finals..they say all seniors will be dropped. Bold move. Time will tell how much BCCI follows through. But Kohli, Rohit and Jaddu will play in BGT and so if they do decently, some of them might go to England. Ashwin wont be a starter for BGT and might play if someone is injured. We aint winning 4-0 so someone has to take the fall for BCCI shitting the bed and keeping non performers. And it will be Ashwin first. Others may join him but time will tell. There is over a 95% possibility that he has played his last test for India. Ideally he should announce his retirement in the next few days instead of going through with this farce. But he wont. So he will be dropped post BGT. Edited November 4, 2024 by sensible-indian
Lord Posted November 4, 2024 Posted November 4, 2024 8 minutes ago, sensible-indian said: Reports from BCCI suggest otherwise. If we are not qualifying for WTC finals..they say all seniors will be dropped. Bold move. Time will tell how much BCCI follows through. But Kohli, Rohit and Jaddu will play in BGT and so if they do decently, some of them might go to England. Ashwin wont be a starter for BGT and might play if someone is injured. We aint winning 4-0 so someone has to take the fall for BCCI shitting the bed and keeping non performers. And it will be Ashwin first. Others may join him but time will tell. There is over a 95% possibility that he has played his last test for India. Ideally he should announce his retirement in the next few days instead of going through with this farce. But he wont. So he will be dropped post BGT. Nah Ashwin is too big to be retired like that. He'll likely get a farewell series in India, just won't play overseas They'll go after small fishes first. KL is already gone hopefully and Jaddu will be next. However our performances won't improve until Rohit and Kohli go.
Austin 3:!6 Posted November 4, 2024 Author Posted November 4, 2024 5 minutes ago, sensible-indian said: Reports from BCCI suggest otherwise. If we are not qualifying for WTC finals..they say all seniors will be dropped. Bold move. Time will tell how much BCCI follows through. But Kohli, Rohit and Jaddu will play in BGT and so if they do decently, some of them might go to England. Ashwin wont be a starter for BGT and might play if someone is injured. We aint winning 4-0 so someone has to take the fall for BCCI shitting the bed and keeping non performers. And it will be Ashwin first. Others may join him but time will tell. There is over a 95% possibility that he has played his last test for India. Ideally he should announce his retirement in the next few days instead of going through with this farce. But he wont. So he will be dropped post BGT. Yeah that will be unfair to Ashwin big time if that is the case. He saved India multiple times including in the previous series against BD. Throwing out a player of his stature based on 1 poor series makes no sense. Ashwin's bowling avg in last 3 years is 22 with 7 5fer's. That is terrific stats.
Austin 3:!6 Posted November 4, 2024 Author Posted November 4, 2024 Just now, Lord said: Nah Ashwin is too big to be retired like that. He'll likely get a farewell series in India, just won't play overseas They'll go after small fishes first. KL is already gone hopefully and Jaddu will be next. However our performances won't improve until Rohit and Kohli go. There are reports of KL opening in Perth since Rohit will not be playing saransh and Lord 2
Throwaib_Chuckter Posted November 4, 2024 Posted November 4, 2024 He has gotten more than his fair share of a long rope and will still linger on despite what many here say. Kohli is his own worst enemy, he has chipped away at his averages and credibility consistently over the past several years. More than what non-Kohli campers say or feel, its his own actions that continue to be his undoing. Number 1
R!TTER Posted November 4, 2024 Posted November 4, 2024 3 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said: Ashwin's bowling avg in last 3 years is 22 with 7 5fer's. That is terrific stats. Most of those games are at home, on massive turners! The issue is similar to RJ but he's come out slightly on top overall - Primary team India Start of match date greater than or equal to 1 Jan 2022 Qualifications wickets taken greater than or equal to 75 Ordered by bowling average (ascending) Overall figures Player Span Mat Inns Overs Mdns Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 5 10 RA Jadeja 2022-2024 20 38 627.0 118 1815 87 7/42 10/110 20.86 2.89 43.2 6 2 R Ashwin 2022-2024 23 45 786.2 132 2480 107 7/71 12/131 23.17 3.15 44.0 7 1 The issue is especially stark against top 5 sides! Keep in mind this includes 8 tests at home- Primary team India Opposition team Australia or England or New Zealand or South Africa Start of match date greater than or equal to 1 Jun 2023 Qualifications wickets taken greater than or equal to 30 Ordered by bowling average (ascending) Overall figures Player Mat Inns Overs Mdns Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 5 10 JJ Bumrah 8 15 193.2 37 603 34 6/45 9/91 17.73 3.11 34.1 2 0 RA Jadeja 9 16 288.4 39 935 39 5/41 10/120 23.97 3.23 44.4 3 1 R Ashwin 9 17 273.3 24 1057 36 5/51 9/128 29.36 3.86 45.5 2 0
Majestic Posted November 4, 2024 Posted November 4, 2024 24 minutes ago, sensible-indian said: Reports from BCCI suggest otherwise. If we are not qualifying for WTC finals..they say all seniors will be dropped. Bold move. Time will tell how much BCCI follows through. But Kohli, Rohit and Jaddu will play in BGT and so if they do decently, some of them might go to England. Ashwin wont be a starter for BGT and might play if someone is injured. We aint winning 4-0 so someone has to take the fall for BCCI shitting the bed and keeping non performers. And it will be Ashwin first. Others may join him but time will tell. There is over a 95% possibility that he has played his last test for India. Ideally he should announce his retirement in the next few days instead of going through with this farce. But he wont. So he will be dropped post BGT. Ashwin is the oldest of them and he anyways isn’t first choice overseas so of course he will be the first one Over next 10 months, we have test tour of Australia, England and Champions Trophy. Ashwin is the easiest of the four because he is not a first choice selection in any of these series. It is almost over for him, maybe one home series as farewell but for that, he may have to prove his worth when he gets a chance in Australia or England.
Lord Posted November 4, 2024 Posted November 4, 2024 11 minutes ago, R!TTER said: Most of those games are at home, on massive turners! The issue is similar to RJ but he's come out slightly on top overall - Primary team India Start of match date greater than or equal to 1 Jan 2022 Qualifications wickets taken greater than or equal to 75 Ordered by bowling average (ascending) Overall figures Player Span Mat Inns Overs Mdns Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 5 10 RA Jadeja 2022-2024 20 38 627.0 118 1815 87 7/42 10/110 20.86 2.89 43.2 6 2 R Ashwin 2022-2024 23 45 786.2 132 2480 107 7/71 12/131 23.17 3.15 44.0 7 1 The issue is especially stark against top 5 sides! Keep in mind this includes 8 tests at home- Primary team India Opposition team Australia or England or New Zealand or South Africa Start of match date greater than or equal to 1 Jun 2023 Qualifications wickets taken greater than or equal to 30 Ordered by bowling average (ascending) Overall figures Player Mat Inns Overs Mdns Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 5 10 JJ Bumrah 8 15 193.2 37 603 34 6/45 9/91 17.73 3.11 34.1 2 0 RA Jadeja 9 16 288.4 39 935 39 5/41 10/120 23.97 3.23 44.4 3 1 R Ashwin 9 17 273.3 24 1057 36 5/51 9/128 29.36 3.86 45.5 2 0 He also batted better AFAIK. Both better than RoKo though but will be chopped first
vayuu1 Posted November 4, 2024 Posted November 4, 2024 33 minutes ago, sensible-indian said: Reports from BCCI suggest otherwise. If we are not qualifying for WTC finals..they say all seniors will be dropped. Bold move. Time will tell how much BCCI follows through. But Kohli, Rohit and Jaddu will play in BGT and so if they do decently, some of them might go to England. Ashwin wont be a starter for BGT and might play if someone is injured. We aint winning 4-0 so someone has to take the fall for BCCI shitting the bed and keeping non performers. And it will be Ashwin first. Others may join him but time will tell. There is over a 95% possibility that he has played his last test for India. Ideally he should announce his retirement in the next few days instead of going through with this farce. But he wont. So he will be dropped post BGT. Offcourse he will be booted out and then he can tell all his kutti Kamini hawramzadi bkl stories to people,i am curious to know what will he say about this white wash,what went wrong,