Popular Post Mariyam Posted November 8, 2024 Popular Post Posted November 8, 2024 I was making a post on the KL thread, then I thought I can pen down my delightfully profound insights for you proles in a much more articulate manner here. Mods: Please let this stay in Cricket Talk. Agreed that it is a societal discussion, but the basis is cricket. Since Independence, India has had two main modes of entertainment: Cricket and the movies ( without the loss of generalization; Bollywood) It didn't take long for them to intermingle. In some cases the intermingling was at a personal level, and in some cases it was a business transaction. Lets start with some of the earliest marriages: Pataudi and Sharmila Tagore. A case of a very average one eyed cricketer pretty much ending the career of India's top acting talent. And we have the same pattern repeat many times. A no name Azhar married Sangeeta Bijlani at the time she was 'the actress' on the back of super hits like Tridev. Some years later, another average bat with an anger management problem, a certain Kohli destroyed Anushka's career. She barely made any films after marriage. I mean what would you rather watch? Haule Haule ho jayega pyaar or some Kohli innings in MCG? Rinse and repeat, same examples with Yuvraj and Hazel, Harbhajan and Geeta. Actresses with great potential killed in the crib. Insite of the repeated betrayals, being the magnanimous industry that it is, Bollywood still decided to own and sponsor IPL sides. SRK, Juhi, Priety, Shilpa all put their hard earned money into IPL franchises. One of the biggest reasons for IPLs successes are the owners. They have contributed to the financial benefit of the league, and BCCI. BCCI has become the business behemoth that it is today on the back of the IPL. For all this money put into cricket, what has Bollywood gotten in return from cricket? NOTHING. A washed out Ajay Jadeja who acted in a forgettable movie. Has any Cricketer supported a production house. Or sponsored acting talent hunts? Zilch. This is text book colonization. Discuss. BacktoCricaddict, sandeep, Sgattick10 and 11 others 1 13
MK55 Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 Haven’t been following Bollywood lately (actually since forever) but this made me google KL’s partner… To find out who the latest casualty is lol. nevada 1
Vickydev Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 1 hour ago, Mariyam said: I was making a post on the KL thread, then I thought I can pen down my delightfully profound insights for you proles in a much more articulate manner here. Mods: Please let this stay in Cricket Talk. Agreed that it is a societal discussion, but the basis is cricket. Since Independence, India has had two main modes of entertainment: Cricket and the movies ( without the loss of generalization; Bollywood) It didn't take long for them to intermingle. In some cases the intermingling was at a personal level, and in some cases it was a business transaction. Lets start with some of the earliest marriages: Pataudi and Sharmila Tagore. A case of a very average one eyed cricketer pretty much ending the career of India's top acting talent. And we have the same pattern repeat many times. A no name Azhar married Sangeeta Bijlani at the time she was 'the actress' on the back of super hits like Tridev. Some years later, another average bat with an anger management problem, a certain Kohli destroyed Anushka's career. She barely made any films after marriage. I mean what would you rather watch? Haule Haule ho jayega pyaar or some Kohli innings in MCG? Rinse and repeat, same examples with Yuvraj and Hazel, Harbhajan and Geeta. Actresses with great potential killed in the crib. Insite of the repeated betrayals, being the magnanimous industry that it is, Bollywood still decided to own and sponsor IPL sides. SRK, Juhi, Priety, Shilpa all put their hard earned money into IPL franchises. One of the biggest reasons for IPLs successes are the owners. They have contributed to the financial benefit of the league, and BCCI. BCCI has become the business behemoth that it is today on the back of the IPL. For all this money put into cricket, what has Bollywood gotten in return from cricket? NOTHING. A washed out Ajay Jadeja who acted in a forgettable movie. Has any Cricketer supported a production house. Or sponsored acting talent hunts? Zilch. This is text book colonization. Discuss. nevada, Stan AF and Mariyam 3
Lord Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 kudos for cricket superstars for atleast sparing Bollywood fans from Anushka, Athiya etc's acting Vijy, bowl_out, Tillu and 4 others 7
Number Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 (edited) As bad as KL is, at least he is a selfmade talented man. What does Athiya have other than a surname. Also Hazel keech and Geeta had as much potential as Hemang Badani and Avishkar Salvi. Edited November 8, 2024 by Number Tillu, tweaker, Sgattick10 and 4 others 7
Sean Bradley Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 Who the F%k cares about Bollywood anyways? The name itself is so cringe, i would like to call it Indian/hindi cinema rather. Anyways bollywood, as the name suggests is a washed up community ruined by nepotism, favoritism & lack of story telling. I would take south Indian cinema over these muscular bad acting bad facial expressive coke heads any day. Bollywood ended the day Karaj johar entered movie making. No one give 2 hoots about them. Atleast i dont ! The Hound and bowl_out 2
Stan AF Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 1 hour ago, Number said: As bad as KL is, at least he is a selfmade talented man. What does Athiya have other than a surname. Also Hazel keech and Geeta had as much potential as Hemang Badani and Avishkar Salvi. Hemang badani did actually score a ODI 100 against peak Aussie side in 2001. I think we won that game. So there's that. nevada 1
The Hound Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 3 hours ago, Mariyam said: Some years later, another average bat with an anger management problem, a certain Kohli destroyed Anushka's career. She barely made any films after marriage. Tbf after her acting performance in Zero she should've been forced to retire but kohli did everyone a favor.
Lord Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 5 minutes ago, The Hound said: Tbf after her acting performance in Zero she should've been forced to retire but kohli did everyone a favor. Kohli is matching her performance lately so she doesnt feel bad. What a lover Laaloo 1
Number Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 (edited) 14 minutes ago, Stan AF said: Hemang badani did actually score a ODI 100 against peak Aussie side in 2001. I think we won that game. So there's that. Read that Akash Chopra then. Edited November 8, 2024 by Number Stan AF 1
Lord Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 46 minutes ago, Number said: Read that Akash Chopra then. Chopra was crucial in 2003-04 BGT in Aus. We're left with KL in the end.
Chaos Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 3 minutes ago, Lord said: Chopra was crucial in 2003-04 BGT in Aus. We're left with KL in the end. Chopra will make anyone go to sleep in 20mins with his leaves n tuk tuk. He was lucky af sehwag is on other side.
Number Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 (edited) 6 minutes ago, Lord said: Chopra was crucial in 2003-04 BGT in Aus. We're left with KL in the end. Yaar KL ka work to Hazel Keech aur Geeta Basra se to bahut acha hai. Both of these barely acted in any movies, let alone A lister movies and managed to get married to 2 of Indian cricket's legends. Edited November 8, 2024 by Number
NameGoesHere Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 (edited) 5 hours ago, Mariyam said: I was making a post on the KL thread, then I thought I can pen down my delightfully profound insights for you proles in a much more articulate manner here. As a prole, had I been able to read, I’d have felt insulted at what you wrote. Since Independence, India has had two main modes of entertainment: Cricket and the movies ( without the loss of generalization; Bollywood) You forgot a third: please to study our population growth since independence to know what it is. Hint: it isn’t singing bhajans. Lets start with some of the earliest marriages: Pataudi and Sharmila Tagore. A case of a very average one eyed cricketer pretty much ending the career of India's top acting talent. Sharmila Tagore, a decent actress I’ll grant you. But she moved up in the world marrying an Oxonian Nawab, who sacrificed one eye for India, before his other eye fell on a cross eyed Bong chick. A no name Azhar married Sangeeta Bijlani at the time she was 'the actress' on the back of super hits like Tridev. You should be burnt at the stake as a witch for suggesting that Bijli could act. Also Azharuddin probably couldn’t stand her - that’s likely why he took to consorting with bookies after marriage. Some years later, another average bat with an anger management problem, a certain Kohli destroyed Anushka's career. She barely made any films after marriage. I mean what would you rather watch? Haule Haule ho jayega pyaar or some Kohli innings in MCG? Personally I’d rather watch Kohli getting bowled out on a full toss in Pune. Rinse and repeat, same examples with Yuvraj and Hazel, Harbhajan and Geeta. Actresses with great potential killed in the crib. No- talent bimbos taken out of the acting pool, more like. India should thank Yuvi and Bhajji. Also, given their ‘acting talent’, there’s a strong argument for suggesting that, forget their talent, these ladies themselves shouldn’t have made it past the crib. SRK, Juhi, Priety, Shilpa all put their hard earned money into IPL franchises. One of the biggest reasons for IPLs successes are the owners. No wonder IPL is such $hite. Tainted at the source. For all this money put into cricket, what has Bollywood gotten in return from cricket? NOTHING Has any Cricketer supported a production house. Or sponsored acting talent hunts? Zilch. Do you remember Kapil Dev’s acting master class when broke down and denied he was involved with bookies? Or Bhajji when he said it was absolutely truly honestly “Teri ma ki”? Were we not all star struck when Pandya orated in high Urdu “main karke aaya”? Have you seen Sunny Gavaskar acting in that Marathi tour de force, Savli Premachi? Oscar material. Bollywood fakes can take lessons in Method acting. This is text book colonization. Discuss I read a text book on colonoscopy once, will that do? Edited November 8, 2024 by NameGoesHere tweaker, Lord, Number and 5 others 3 5
Serpico Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 Well Anushka stopped acting thanks to Kohli, so that's a win
Number Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 28 minutes ago, NameGoesHere said: As a prole, had I been able to read, I’d have felt insulted at what you wrote. Since Independence, India has had two main modes of entertainment: Cricket and the movies ( without the loss of generalization; Bollywood) You forgot a third: please to study our population growth since independence to know what it is. Hint: it isn’t singing bhajans. Lets start with some of the earliest marriages: Pataudi and Sharmila Tagore. A case of a very average one eyed cricketer pretty much ending the career of India's top acting talent. Sharmila Tagore, a decent actress I’ll grant you. But she moved up in the world marrying an Oxonian Nawab, who sacrificed one eye for India, before his other eye fell on a cross eyed Bong chick. A no name Azhar married Sangeeta Bijlani at the time she was 'the actress' on the back of super hits like Tridev. You should be burnt at the stake as a witch for suggesting that Bijli could act. Also Azharuddin probably couldn’t stand her - that’s likely why he took to consorting with bookies after marriage. Some years later, another average bat with an anger management problem, a certain Kohli destroyed Anushka's career. She barely made any films after marriage. I mean what would you rather watch? Haule Haule ho jayega pyaar or some Kohli innings in MCG? Personally I’d rather watch Kohli getting bowled out on a full toss in Pune. Rinse and repeat, same examples with Yuvraj and Hazel, Harbhajan and Geeta. Actresses with great potential killed in the crib. No- talent bimbos taken out of the acting pool, more like. India should thank Yuvi and Bhajji. Also, given their ‘acting talent’, there’s a strong argument for suggesting that, forget their talent, these ladies themselves shouldn’t have made it past the crib. SRK, Juhi, Priety, Shilpa all put their hard earned money into IPL franchises. One of the biggest reasons for IPLs successes are the owners. No wonder IPL is such $hite. Tainted at the source. For all this money put into cricket, what has Bollywood gotten in return from cricket? NOTHING Has any Cricketer supported a production house. Or sponsored acting talent hunts? Zilch. Do you remember Kapil Dev’s acting master class when broke down and denied he was involved with bookies? Or Bhajji when he said it was absolutely truly honestly “Teri ma ki”? Were we not all star struck when Pandya orated in high Urdu “main karke aaya”? Have you seen Sunny Gavaskar acting in that Marathi tour de force, Savli Premachi? Oscar material. Bollywood fakes can take lessons in Method acting. This is text book colonization. Discuss I read a text book on colonoscopy once, will that do? Bahahah. Potw NameGoesHere and Mariyam 2
tweaker Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 Many cricketers have also.acted in movies,Ajay Jadeja,Salil Ankola,Vinod Kambli,Sandip Patil etc. Then there is the famous Kofee with Karan episode of Pandya and Rahul. Mariyam 1
Lord Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 15 minutes ago, tweaker said: Many cricketers have also.acted in movies,Ajay Jadeja,Salil Ankola,Vinod Kambli,Sandip Patil etc. Then there is the famous Kofee with Karan episode of Pandya and Rahul. Don't forget Sgattick10, Sandz, Mariyam and 1 other 4
raki05 Posted November 8, 2024 Posted November 8, 2024 (edited) Deleted.. Edited November 8, 2024 by raki05