Thoughts on Laxman as next coach?

Poll  

16 members have voted

1. 1. Impressed with Laxman's coaching thus far?

2. 2. Do you want to see Laxman as head coach (provided he is willing)?

• Yes, in all formats
    • No, continue with Gambhir
    • Yes, as test coach
    • Yes, as ODI and T20I coach
    • Just ODI or T20I coach, one of these two

22 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Indians analysts and coaches in general are not good tactically in sports... It's a harsh reality but it is what it is..  Same goes for rest of Subcontinent as well, they are even worse than us in this regard.

Innovation is an alien concept and so is risk taking in Indian society.  Psychologically it's a barrier..

Actually that's a bit of a myth.  Analysts and quite a few coaches are open to it. 

GG is not and many players are not .

Even our batting heavy strategy for the last World T20 had SKY written all over it. 

GG would've compulsorily had Sundar in that lineup 

33 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Amol Muzumdar? Just 51. Granted he doesn't have a resume like Pandit's, but he too has put in the hard yards and made progress along the way. 

With the women's WC in his resume, he will also enjoy more stature and backing from BCCI bigwigs. 

He may be a good choice, should be in consideration 

I feel Laxman is good as a stop gap for a series or two but not on a long term basis. The fact that he himself turned down the coach position shows he doesn't feel he is suited for it long term. But he could add value as an occasional consultant coach/mentor wrt playing spin, developing clutch mindset etc. 

As for GG - he needs to tone down his chop and change tactics plus perpetual support of low ceiling players. Due to format illiteracy of the selectors, he gets a long rope because of his results - wins in IPL and the T20WC. But in test cricket, he has only the drawn England series to boast about amidst a bunch of disasters. Some blame must also go to the players, who bottled atleast one doable chase each in the NZ, England and SA series. We could have avoided the humiliation of clean sweep against NZ and SA, and won the series against England but the players just threw in the towel. 

3 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Actually that's a bit of a myth.  Analysts and quite a few coaches are open to it. 

GG is not and many players are not .

Even our batting heavy strategy for the last World T20 had SKY written all over it. 

GG would've compulsorily had Sundar in that lineup 

I meant from strict coaching perspective... Indian coaches at grassroots cannot even teach kids how to play conventional sweeps or slog sweeps... Forget about reverse sweeps and everything

They are that level risk averse.  That's not the case with foreign coaches.  They will push players to get better.

Accountability is another aspect missing from Indian psyche 

14 hours ago, tapandrun said:

Yes , look out for other coaches but vvs is not the solution.

And fix the selection process, stop selecting test batters based on IPL

They were not picking players from IPL before these two bozos. Sarfraz was selected, Jaiswal was selected.

This idiot  Gambhir is hell bent on making bits and pieces players into so called allrounders in tests. Nobody asked him to play Sundar at number 3 and Jurel at number 4. Except these two idiots nobody else thought Karun Nair and Sai would be answer for middle order.

How many chances do these two idiots get to ruin players careers.

These two bozos robbed SKY the credit due for winning world cup and took all the credit. It is very clear SKY was the reason for team's success.

Edited by putrevus

There is no need to get any outside coaches.You want a coach who is not craving for limelight and is willing to take backseat to captain and players but is very comfortable in his own skin.

How did Andy Flower do after his initial succcess, the same players became against his controlling nature.

3 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Problem is Rahane still thinks he is the answer to our middle order woes. :(

When Gambhir is hell bent on turning  a guy like Jurel into middle order with his Bradmanesque avg of 8.0 as a batsman.

Rahane is saying why not me.

23 hours ago, Gollum said:

Test cricket hasn't really changed much over the years, fundamentals are the same and you need to do the basics consistently and persistently, be patient, (bowlers) hit the same areas whole day, hold on to catches, no silly run-outs etc. Need more tactical minds in white ball setups, with the fast evolving and dynamic nature of those formats. Maybe let GG continue for a while there, and if he continues his nonsense, go with a coach who is up to date with the rigors of modern white ball.

Have we ever had two different coaches - one for red ball and another for white ball?

That might open another can of worms. I don't know how someone like Gambhir will react to a situation like that.

The shenanigans then might be epic....

he is a placeholder who will execute what is asked of him 

he doesn't have the x-factor or charisma to be full time head coach

9 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Why the sad emoji @Mariyam?

You tagged all of ICF but not me.

:heartbreak:

Its like that time when one of your closest friends doesn’t invite you to a party.

On asking her later she cites one of the following reasons:

Oh but the theme would not be to your liking.

Oh but there were people I invited who you aren’t on good terms with.

I thought you were travelling/your daughter had exams.

The food would not be to your liking

You are family do you even need an invite?

16 minutes ago, JazzyB said:

he is a placeholder who will execute what is asked of him 

he doesn't have the x-factor or charisma to be full time head coach

And Gambhir is charismatic?

He comes across as a party pooper. All he has to do is enter a room and watch the mood get tense.

15 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Its like that time when one of your closest friends doesn’t invite you to a party.

Maaf karo mujhe yam. 

Though you were inactive these days, on a break. Haven't seen you post here since IPL, so thought why disturb? 

I also didn't tag @randomGuy @velu @asterix and many others whose posts I haven't seen in cricket section for a long time. 

48 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Perhaps because Laxman is not linked to :mi:

47 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

And Gambhir is charismatic?

He comes across as a party pooper. All he has to do is enter a room and watch the mood get tense.

Aise hi naam gambhir nahi hai.