Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 1st 10 over often can turn the momentum . Im going to post this in a general argument sake not considering one two games Batting- 1st 10 over can setup the game and shift the momentum , after all its called powerplay. We remember how sanath and kalu changed the whole aspect of using initial overs. Sehwag who i believe was an underachiever inn odi still had an impact in 1st 10 over. Ind-Pak 2011Wc game where he took Umar gul factor out of game at the start only. But now we have been seeing a very cautious approach from our openers. Dhawan has been slow in 1st 10 overs in past many ODi, Rohit takes his time and now Rahane . We are pretty much wasting the advantage of it. Aus has the x-factor of warner , Sa has De kock n amla who play at a swift rate . Gambhir and sehwag use to play at a faster rate than dhawan and rohit in early t20 era. Suggestion - Rohit needs a partner like Rahul or Pant(its to early for him) or he needs to pull up his game in 1st 10 overs Bowling- downfall of bhuvi in last 2 yrs with new ball also impacted our team. IF wkts arent taken upfront it doesnt help our spinners. The reason we have seen a lot of 300+ total scored against our team. We really need to change our approach in 1st 10 overs for batting n bowling, bowling still looks ok but the opening stand is a worry. I expect this problem to be solved once shami is back. Rasgulla, G_B_, helperononline and 1 other 4
fineleg Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 (edited) Cross-posting from another thread: Ankit, There is zero blame on Rahane. It's not his fault. 100% fault of selectors. Jinx is NOT a limited overs batsman. Should not be selected in this format, and this 22 (50) type innings is exactly what he will do. He is a very good Test batsman and its not his fault that he is selected here, and then that's his ability in ODI. I hope he is NEVER selected for this format ever again. Just not cut out for this. Other countries have aggressive ODI openers and we desperately need them too. And I really hope Rohit Sharma can take singles rather than sucking the momentum in first 10 overs. Edited October 20, 2016 by fineleg tweaker and adi B 2
maniac Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 Rohit is not in the side to give you 30(14) or 40(25) kind of starts...He is in the side to be at 50(70) around the 30 over mark and then hit turbo mode to end up with 180+(120-130) deliveries.....that is the ideal scenario and role for him. But yes we need to have a foil for him....why not open with Pandya or even Manish Pandey when Rahul/Dhawan are away..Pandey got a T20 100 while opening IIRC in the IPL. Rahane does not have that Turbo Mode...Dhawan may not work against quality attacks....so Rahul is the guy for that job tweaker 1
New guy Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 I am waiting for 10 threads to open for blaming 10 players except the most experienced player who is also the captain who will be defended to death You do not need to be a rocket scientist to know that when chasing 240, you DO NOT need to score at 6 an over in the first 10. That is the one time openers can relax. This is an extremely dishonest thread made only to defend one player. Who on earth blames first 10 over when chasing 240 in modern ODI? Ironhide, maniac, Mosher and 4 others 7
fineleg Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 ^ That's true that openers can relax, but this issue is not isolated to this match. RS and AR are very slow openers in general. And yes, I am one of those who has been blaming MSD tuk tuk tuk lunge approach for this match. tweaker, Vilander, Ankit_sharma03 and 1 other 4
bowl_out Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 Agree.. Need someone like Sehwag to make the first 10 overs count.. Rahul seems a good mix of aggression and technique.. Ankit_sharma03 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 20, 2016 Author Posted October 20, 2016 3 minutes ago, fineleg said: Cross-posting from another thread: Ankit, There is zero blame on Rahane. It's not his fault. 100% fault of selectors. Jinx is NOT a limited overs batsman. Should not be selected in this format, and this 22 (50) type innings is exactly what he will do. He is a very good Test batsman and its not his fault that he is selected here, and then that's his ability in ODI. I hope he is NEVER selected for this format ever again. Just not cut out for this. Other countries have aggressive ODI openers and we desperately need them too. And I really hope Rohit Sharma can take singles rather than sucking the momentum in first 10 overs. 0 blame What??????????? doesnt he want to play Odi cricket???? Is he forced from selectors like when they forced afridi to captain test side????? He isnt bad, he can play shots. Problem is he doesnt rotate strike and throws his starts. Something that can be worked on. He is not pujara who is an absolute misfit. He only looks misfit coz there are far better player that we have. Had he been playing for Pakistan he would have been in XI for sure. He himself wants to play LOI and he is failing and he deserves full blame on him. How are we blaming selector n captain when two of our main players like dhawan n rahul are injured. How right is to expect result from 3rd bets option from Captain n selectors. Dhawan has had same problem , have a look at his S/r before Aussie series where Patta's saved him . Talk about talent, who told him its wrong to rotate strike . Unless he has started considering himself Inzamam post his runout history. Rahane, dhawan rohit they all havent helped the 1st 10 over problem tweaker and Rasgulla 2
maniac Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 Just now, Ankit_sharma03 said: 0 blame What??????????? doesnt he want to play Odi cricket???? Is he forced from selectors like when they forced afridi to captain test side????? He isnt bad, he can play shots. Problem is he doesnt rotate strike and throws his starts. Something that can be worked on. He is not pujara who is an absolute misfit. He only looks misfit coz there are far better player that we have. Had he been playing for Pakistan he would have been in XI for sure. He himself wants to play LOI and he is failing and he deserves full blame on him. How are we blaming selector n captain when two of our main players like dhawan n rahul are injured. How right is to expect result from 3rd bets option from Captain n selectors. Dhawan has had same problem , have a look at his S/r before Aussie series where Patta's saved him . Talk about talent, who told him its wrong to rotate strike . Unless he has started considering himself Inzamam post his runout history. Rahane, dhawan rohit they all havent helped the 1st 10 over problem Chasing 240 on a tricky pitch doesn't need 80/1 in 10 overs kind of starts...in fact it requires consolidation in the middle and proper finishing.....If we were chasing 300+ then blame the first 10 overs...The way the last 2 pitches behaved these starts are fine. Ironhide 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 20, 2016 Author Posted October 20, 2016 2 minutes ago, maniac said: Chasing 240 on a tricky pitch doesn't need 80/1 in 10 overs kind of starts...in fact it requires consolidation in the middle and proper finishing.....If we were chasing 300+ then blame the first 10 overs...The way the last 2 pitches behaved these starts are fine. I quoted in my main post, m not posting this on the basis one game We have had a problem with starts for a while . Do i need to go T20WC or before may Ind-Sa series 29 from 48 balls when ball is new field is up, 30 runs in 10 over still makes no sense. This has been a story for while. M still ok with rohit atleast he cover up but what about rahane and dhawan. Dhawan n Rohit both cant bat with same approach. They dont even rotate strike. Gambhir n sehwag use to dab n run and use to bat at faster rate than these two.
maniac Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 Just now, Ankit_sharma03 said: I quoted in my main post, m not posting this on the basis one game We have had a problem with starts for a while . Do i need to go T20WC or before may Ind-Sa series 29 from 48 balls when ball is new field is up, 30 runs in 10 over still makes no sense. This has been a story for while. M still ok with rohit atleast he cover up but what about rahane and dhawan. Dhawan n Rohit both cant bat with same approach. They dont even rotate strike. Gambhir n sehwag use to dab n run and use to bat at faster rate than these two. As I said fair enough if you question slow starts in T20's or on flat pitches where 350 is not safe....but the timing of this thread is what the response was far....the pitches and the games did not require unnecessary risks in the first 10...these were old school,keep wickets for the last 10 overs kind of pitches, We lost the game in the middle when spinners and parttimers were bowling and we know who is to be blamed....Jadhav despite the lack of ability against quality fast bowlers was taking advantage of the spinners and showing great match awareness. Ironhide and tweaker 2
New guy Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 16 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: 0 blame How are we blaming selector n captain when two of our main players like dhawan n rahul are injured. How right is to expect result from 3rd bets option from Captain n selectors. We can blame the captain because 1) We were chasing just 240 2) Captain played one of the worst innings in ODI cricket 3) The timing of this thread is ridiculous. You do not need fast starts when chasing 240 and the game was well in control till captain came and upped the asking rate Ironhide, maniac and tweaker 3
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 20, 2016 Author Posted October 20, 2016 4 minutes ago, maniac said: As I said fair enough if you question slow starts in T20's or on flat pitches where 350 is not safe....but the timing of this thread is what the response was far....the pitches and the games did not require unnecessary risks in the first 10...these were old school,keep wickets for the last 10 overs kind of pitches, We lost the game in the middle when spinners and parttimers were bowling and we know who is to be blamed....Jadhav despite the lack of ability against quality fast bowlers was taking advantage of the spinners and showing great match awareness. When did ODi cricket became keep wkts in 1st overs, ok in some cases understandable. But as i pointed out its been going on for long. Not only considering this match We lost game in few portions rather one 1. Poor start, A good start would have always kept less pressure on us. Ill ask u a ques an wouldnt this team be better with an x-factor like sanath,warner, viru,gilly be in 1st overs . Even Pak has sharjeel now who will give them edge in few games. 2. Jadhav's wkt slowed down dhoni, as i felt he didnt have much faith in axar, pandya which is fair enough as they are new but he himself is struggling to more mentally than technically 3. Axar n mishra brain-fart as they both are still capable with bat and Pandya n umesh showed if u bat till last over things were in our favour Another math equation had rahane rotated strike better with his 49 balls innings we would have been over the line. Just singles in 10 balls out of 20 Same goes for Dhoni as well had he n Axar rotated a lil more than playing dots . Its always those cruical 10-15 runs in running and fielding. But that where powerplay comes important, field is up and the game is same . About this match , its known delhi pitch slows down so new ball is the best time to score.
Lord Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 24 minutes ago, maniac said: Chasing 240 on a tricky pitch doesn't need 80/1 in 10 overs kind of starts...in fact it requires consolidation in the middle and proper finishing.....If we were chasing 300+ then blame the first 10 overs...The way the last 2 pitches behaved these starts are fine. Not always true.If the pitch is expected to get worse,you have to make use of first 10 and kill the game there itself. Dot balls suck the momentum out whatever the target is
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 20, 2016 Author Posted October 20, 2016 5 minutes ago, New guy said: We can blame the captain because 1) We were chasing just 240 2) Captain played one of the worst innings in ODI cricket 3) The timing of this thread is ridiculous. You do not need fast starts when chasing 240 and the game was well in control till captain came and upped the asking rate U want to know what worst innings, go watch taylors innings today way worst Go watch yuvraj singh struggling to even hit the ball in 2013 Ind-aus series where it was a run fest. Rahane,taylor with a poorer S/r wasnt the worst innings. Yes we were chasing 240 and we batted 7 batsman, baaki baraat men aaye the UR reading of this thread is wrong when i have clearely mentioned its not only about this game. its been sometime now 1st 10 over costing us games for some time now. (sometime ka matalab kya hota hai ) Our score was 35/1 after 10 over means 3.5 RPO when ball was new and field was up yet dhoni who was batting with lower order was at complete fault. (For ur info the best time to score on a slowish pitch is with new ball not when its old and difficult to time, unless u though its perth not kotla ) tweaker and sscomp32 2
New guy Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: U want to know what worst innings, go watch taylors innings today way worst Go watch yuvraj singh struggling to even hit the ball in 2013 Ind-aus series where it was a run fest. Rahane,taylor with a poorer S/r wasnt the worst innings. Yes we were chasing 240 and we batted 7 batsman, baaki baraat men aaye the UR reading of this thread is wrong when i have clearely mentioned its not only about this game. its been sometime now 1st 10 over costing us games for some time now. (sometime ka matalab kya hota hai ) Our score was 35/1 after 10 over means 3.5 RPO when ball was new and field was up yet dhoni who was batting with lower order was at complete fault. (For ur info the best time to score on a slowish pitch is with new ball not when its old and difficult to time, unless u though its perth not kotla ) It is amazing that you have blamed people like Yuvraj, but still not blaming the most senior batsman in the team!! Yes there were 6 others batsmen but no one is as experienced as Dhoni or the captain. The most experienced player gets the most blame. After Yuvraj's sad innings he was dropped BTW Why is Taylor's innings of 42 ball 21 worse than Dhoni's 65 ball 39? Who wasted more balls? Edited October 20, 2016 by New guy Ironhide and tweaker 2
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 20, 2016 Author Posted October 20, 2016 2 minutes ago, New guy said: It is amazing that you have blamed people like Yuvraj, but still not blaming the most senior batsman in the team!! Yes there were 6 others batsmen but no one is as experienced as Dhoni or the captain. The most experienced player gets the most blame. After Yuvraj's sad innings he was dropped BTW Bhai aapki knowledge kamaal hai Tip : please read and come back with facts..... Talking about ur yuvraj singh counter attack , the series i quoted was Ind-Aus 2013 where yuvi avg below 5 and dhoni still woudl avg above 25 this series. No yuvi wasnt dropped after that he still got chances for 2 more series. check how many chances yuvi got before he was dropped and check his avgs and dhoni's and then counter back. Ill tell u still there would be a difference of day light Now ur telling me there is no diff between this series of yuvraj singh where it took him 4 games to make 12 runs and dhoni;s this series where he has scored around 60 runs in 2 games......... 2013-2014 India v. Australia 6 4 0 0 0 12 19 4.75 1 0 Mashalllah kya maths hai OK drop dhoni, but the logic will prevail to blame senior most guy so who next blame kohli. Kyunki usne har baat jeetane ka theeka liya hua hai sscomp32 1
velu Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 i blame dhoni for our tuk tuk batting in the power plays
Tibarn Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 I guess move Rahul to opener, as he is talented at 6 hitting and move Dhawan to 4? Rohit is really good as an opener and wasn't great in the middle. tweaker 1
maniac Posted October 20, 2016 Posted October 20, 2016 (edited) So moral of this thread...attack world class bowlers like Southee and Boult on a tricky pitch when they are bowlign with the new ball but play safe and consolidate against the parttimers and spinners especially in case of Santner who is a rookie upcoming spinner Dhoni was clueless against Santner so the ball was spinning? He was made to look ordinary against Southee...must be a green track? The fact is he messed up...period. Edited October 20, 2016 by maniac express bowling and Mosher 2
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 20, 2016 Author Posted October 20, 2016 23 minutes ago, maniac said: So moral of this thread...attack world class bowlers like Southee and Boult on a tricky pitch when they are bowlign with the new ball but play safe and consolidate against the parttimers and spinners especially in case of Santner who is a rookie upcoming spinner Dhoni was clueless against Santner so the ball was spinning? He was made to look ordinary against Southee...must be a green track? The fact is he messed up...period. The same rookie Santner destroyed us in T20 WC, The Same rookie made the god like batsman look foolish with a new ball Yes dhoni didnt perform upto the mark , mess up is a huge word Again its not about this match, its been a while since we are not getting good opening partnership or fiery starts. It happens only in case of Patta's Southhee and boult on tricky pitch what asst they had from the pitch....... kotla pitch only gets tricky with old ball as it slow down. N again I have written in topic - For sometime now means this has been bugging us for a while not only this match. Rasgulla and G_B_ 2