jalebi_bhai Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 Enough outraging people. This is a problem we've faced since 2014 T20 WC final. What are some of the constructive steps needed to remedy this problem? PS: Let's try and be civilized.
DGBOSS Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 Get genuine stroke players...not hackers in middle order diehardpacer, Adi BB and Stan AF 3
zen Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 Give more opportunities to players like Pant, Shaw, Gill, Pandya, Agarwal, Saini, etc., who would be playing the 2023 world cup. The guys in the top order never allowed anyone else to take their spot or develop their game. Real McCoy, ViruDilSeKhelo, diehardpacer and 2 others 2 3
jalebi_bhai Posted July 10, 2019 Author Posted July 10, 2019 4 minutes ago, zen said: Give more opportunities to players like Pant, Shaw, Gill, Pandya, Agarwal, Saini, etc., who would be playing the 2023 world cup. The guys in the top order never allowed anyone else to take their spot or develop their game. This I'll have to agree with. More rotation needed. Our middle order has also lost its bankability post 2011. People might not remember but our batting collapsed even in CT 2013 final. We were 66/5 before Kohli and Jadeja took us to a defendable total. We're fine in the bowling department I feel.
ThePhenomenal1 Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 Get youngsters in who are willing to grind and take the fight to opposition. We had agarwal who was shown to be a big match player, he wasn't given any opportunities. And we must learn to counter swing. Real McCoy 1
zen Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 Just now, jalebi_bhai said: This I'll have to agree with. More rotation needed. Our middle order has also lost its bankability post 2011. People might not remember but our batting collapsed even in CT 2013. We were 66/5 before Kohli and Jadeja took us to a defendable total. We're fine in the bowling department I feel. Collapses are part of the game. To handle those, we needed to give the guys in the middle the opportunity to play long innings to develop their game. We even backed some wrong guys. Pant, Agarwal, etc., could have been in the squad ahead of likes of Shankar, DK, etc. Real McCoy and diehardpacer 2
mani sha Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 Feel a- team selection matters . Can’t bowl kulcha on green decks , can’t rest your strike bowler On big games b- get middle order players . Don’t be fixated with experience . Punt on youth. Pant Pandya shaw get them to play in middle order give chance to Agarwal gill etc identify powerplayers c - get a coach with winning mentality and tactics . Ganguly Dravid Sehwag are good candidates . Zaheer as bowling coach d - get spinning all rounders - develop Jadeja further as a no 5 - punt on him to do well next World Cup . Add people like shreyas gopal and chahar and sunder and give them opportunity to bat . Rest players like Rohit in useless bilaterals SrinjayDutta 1
shami_123 Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 Start rebuilding right now... Mayank Shaw Gill Kohli -> you better bat at 4 rather than looking for number 4 Number 5 don't know yet Pant Pandya Young leg spinner other than Chahal who can bat Kuldeep Shami / Saini / Avesh Bumrah For God sake get rid of dibly dobly bowlers like Bhuvi, Shardul, etc. It is okay to concede 20 runs extra in death overs even Starc and Cummins gets belted in final overs. Always look for wicket takers upfront. diehardpacer 1
R!TTER Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 Aur banao dhoti phado threads diehardpacer, Adi BB and Bigg Brother 3
chewy Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 Fix Middle order. Dhawan injury and moving Rahul to open really messed things up. Spending four years on Rayudu, Rahane, Jadhav. You need two-three guys in the top order who are good Test players to negotiate tough conditions and pressure situations. I think management realised too late, hence Mayank's call-up, but didn't have the balls and went in with mental midget Karthik. Anyways, it's more about preparations. Look at the Semi-final India XI, and look at the guys with most caps last 4 years. World Cup SF 1-6 Rohit, Rahul, Kohli, DK, Pant, Pandya So in last 4 years Rahul, DK, Pant and Pandya have not played more than 30 innings. Why was Jadhav dropped for SF????, had been performing so much better than DK and Pant Pandya has limitations, can rely him to get you more than 40, he is no Ben Stokes Last four years, position 1 to 6, most innings, top 10: RG Sharma 2015-2019 77 77 10 4346 208* 64.86 4537 95.79 20 16 3 404 142 V Kohli 2015-2019 75 75 15 4700 160* 78.33 4784 98.24 19 21 2 427 56 S Dhawan 2015-2019 66 66 4 2815 143 45.40 2871 98.04 9 13 3 371 34 MS Dhoni 2015-2019 78 60 16 2025 134 46.02 2465 82.15 1 13 2 148 42 KM Jadhav 2015-2019 50 35 11 1124 120 46.83 1118 100.53 2 6 1 113 20 AM Rahane 2015-2018 34 32 1 1367 103 44.09 1690 80.88 1 15 0 135 14 AT Rayudu 2015-2019 26 24 8 907 124* 56.68 1107 81.93 2 5 2 82 18 KL Rahul 2016-2019 23 22 4 704 111 39.11 890 79.10 2 4 2 57 10 HH Pandya 2017-2019 22 19 4 407 78 27.13 364 111.81 0 1 2 27 18 MK Pandey 2015-2018 20 18 6 440 104* 36.66 479 91.85 1 2 2 37 4
shami_123 Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 6 minutes ago, Shaz1 said: 1.) Tell Kohli to stop selling his brand and become aggressive. 2.) Never ever even if you feel he is muslim drop Shami. He is your X-Factor! He will always find a way to get you wickets. I agree with your post except religion part. He was not played because of low IQ level and stupidity of our captaan mr. bollywood and bewda team management Frustrated, diehardpacer and Real McCoy 3
jalebi_bhai Posted July 10, 2019 Author Posted July 10, 2019 4 minutes ago, R!TTER said: Aur banao dhoti phado threads At least I have the fortitude to show up even when we lose I don't believe in being a rudaali. Mistakes/failures are inevitable. Hopefully the team will learn and grow stronger. Vilander 1
shami_123 Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 3 minutes ago, chewy said: Fix Middle order. Dhawan injury and moving Rahul to open really messed things up. Spending four years on Rayudu, Rahane, Jadhav. You need two-three guys in the top order who are good Test players to negotiate tough conditions and pressure situations. I think management realised too late, hence Mayank's call-up, but didn't have the balls and went in with mental midget Karthik. Anyways, it's more about preparations. Look at the Semi-final India XI, and look at the guys with most caps last 4 years. World Cup SF 1-6 Rohit, Rahul, Kohli, DK, Pant, Pandya So in last 4 years Rahul, DK, Pant and Pandya have not played more than 30 innings. Why was Jadhav dropped for SF????, had been performing so much better than DK and Pant Pandya has limitations, can rely him to get you more than 40, he is no Ben Stokes Last four years, position 1 to 6, most innings, top 10: RG Sharma 2015-2019 77 77 10 4346 208* 64.86 4537 95.79 20 16 3 404 142 V Kohli 2015-2019 75 75 15 4700 160* 78.33 4784 98.24 19 21 2 427 56 S Dhawan 2015-2019 66 66 4 2815 143 45.40 2871 98.04 9 13 3 371 34 MS Dhoni 2015-2019 78 60 16 2025 134 46.02 2465 82.15 1 13 2 148 42 KM Jadhav 2015-2019 50 35 11 1124 120 46.83 1118 100.53 2 6 1 113 20 AM Rahane 2015-2018 34 32 1 1367 103 44.09 1690 80.88 1 15 0 135 14 AT Rayudu 2015-2019 26 24 8 907 124* 56.68 1107 81.93 2 5 2 82 18 KL Rahul 2016-2019 23 22 4 704 111 39.11 890 79.10 2 4 2 57 10 HH Pandya 2017-2019 22 19 4 407 78 27.13 364 111.81 0 1 2 27 18 MK Pandey 2015-2018 20 18 6 440 104* 36.66 479 91.85 1 2 2 37 4 One good fix of middle order is to ask your captain and vice captain to bat at 4 and 5 respectively. Both were middle order players in their younger days. Give top 3 position to youngsters like Mayank, Shaw, Gill, Shreyas, etc. If Kohli and Rohit give you reliability at no. 4 and 5, you can easily build a team around them for next world cup mani sha and diehardpacer 1 1
R!TTER Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 Just now, jalebi_bhai said: At least I have the fortitude to show up even when we lose I don't believe in being a rudaali. Mistakes/failures are inevitable. Hopefully the team will learn and grow stronger. You were willing to ignore the very obvious flaws with kohli and Dhongi as long as we were winning, of course you'd show up to defend this train wreck.
jalebi_bhai Posted July 10, 2019 Author Posted July 10, 2019 Will we ever find an able replacement for peak Yuvi? I feel he was the x-factor in our last two WC wins. Any player who fits his profile in our current domestic set-up? Vilander, nevada and SrinjayDutta 1 2
Nonbeliever Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 Story hyping bilateral heroes. beetle and diehardpacer 2
jalebi_bhai Posted July 10, 2019 Author Posted July 10, 2019 2 minutes ago, R!TTER said: You were willing to ignore the very obvious flaws with kohli and Dhongi as long as we were winning, of course you'd show up to defend this train wreck. Where am I defending the train wreck? Kindly point out. It is a fact that we are one of the best teams in ODIs atm, hence we were tagged favourites. Didn't work out today. Just because I don't open threads abusing the team doesn't mean I blindly support them either. Vilander 1
rtmohanlal Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 first and foremost kick out that incompetent parasite moron coach. Then make a core batting group for all conditions . There should be an almost equal mix of left & right handers.There should be 3 to 4 grinders in the team like Dravid. In juicy conditions like today's, they are the ones who would stand up. SrinjayDutta and Adi BB 2
kubrickian Posted July 10, 2019 Posted July 10, 2019 (edited) Temperament has to be given the most importance. Players who can fight it out even in tough situations and win the games for their teams, not FTBs who can score tons when the pitch is a patta and sun is shining, like KL Rahul for instance. I have had enough of this guy's so called talent, selectors wasted so many opportunities over this guy and Raydu. Edited July 10, 2019 by kubrickian SrinjayDutta and diehardpacer 2