Need to reunite Kul-Cha ASAP!

SecondSlip

Post 2017 champions trophy loss, india changed their spinners from finger to wrist and that's when kulcha ( kuldeep and chahal ) came into the equation.

For the next 2 years until the world cup the duo proved to be deadly anywhere they played, india could pick wickets in middle overs and slow down the opposition thus winning a lot of games and series.

Even in England , in the limited overs leg they created an impression. We won 5-1 in SA & 4-1 in NZ thanks to these guys. 

We used to be the best wicket takers from overs 11-40 when we had both these guys in the side. We need to reunite them as soon as possible if we want to get back to winning ways. 

21 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

No kuldeep has become a sissy now, i hvent seen a mentally weaker cricketer like him . 

A young cricketer, despite being the best LOI bowler for 18 months, was in and out of the team from late 2018 at the whims of captain, which gradually destroyed his confidence. 

Any other player treated so shoddolily will get derailed. And the worst part is, if they thought he is not good enough, he hasn't been dropped from the squad either to focus on FC cricket and A teams to regain confidence and bowling form

Have been saying since Jan-Feb 2019, when project KulCha was already in the process of being disturbed, that Kohli is not going to win a single important tournament/trophy from now on. Kohli, when he soon gets sacked as a captain, will look at Sep 2018 to Jan-Feb 2019 and regret this one decision the most.

Kuldeep will be fine, he is still only 25 and has got at least a decade of career ahead of him. Needs to keep going back to his mentors and wait for the end of the tenure of this toxic captain and coach.

Oh come on, have none of you had enough of Chahaal :facepalm:

He was by far the worst bowler on a helpful pitch against NZ in the SF, the less said about his fielding, especially catching, the better! He did * all yesterday as well so if you haven't gotten over Yuzu fever yet, much like Kohli, you'll never get over him :laugh:

Need to give chances to Rahul Chahar I think.  Chahal is more often then not expensive & when he gets hit he's clueless. 

Kuldeep has lost his plot.  But I'd like to see him in Tests in Australia 

These Yadav's & Chahal's are not the solution to India's mess. Because they do not give anything to the side apart from their bowling, a captain is always reluctant to play both in a side which already has a long tail.

India needs one of the leggie who is a decent hitter, then both can be accommodated. 

Limited overs cricket is advancing at a rapid pace & Indian team is legging far behind partly because of resources & partly because of selection.

Australia is a vast sunburnt country with vast sunburnt cricket fields. In such huge spaces, it is said, it is hard to hide any weakness. Every small one gets magnified. India's in limited-overs cricket is the obvious one: their batsmen don't bowl, and their bowlers can't bat.

https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/_/id/30399043/australia-vs-india-1st-odi-india-one-dimensional-batsmen-hurting-their-five-bowler-strategy

CI nailing it as usual.

2 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

These Yadav's & Chahal's are not the solution to India's mess. Because they do not give anything to the side apart from their bowling, a captain is always reluctant to play both in a side which already has a long tail.

India needs one of the leggie who is a decent hitter, then both can be accommodated. 

Limited overs cricket is advancing at a rapid pace & Indian team is legging far behind partly because of resources & partly because of selection.

Exactly the thinking that has got our ODI team at crossroads. We got Jadeja back for the ODIs as he can bat, what exactly have we achieved? In any case, KulCha are never going to be the same force again under this captain-coach combo. And that only means further pain ahead in LOIs.

Even the Rahul as a WK experiment will flop after sometime. Only shows completed messed up thinking of this team management. 

Just now, ShoonyaSifar said:

Exactly the thinking that has got our ODI team at crossroads. We got Jadeja back for the ODIs as he can bat, what exactly have we achieved? In any case, KulCha are never going to be the same force again under this captain-coach combo. And that only means further pain ahead in LOIs.

Even the Rahul as a WK experiment will flop after sometime. Only shows completed messed up thinking of this team management. 

Well no Jadeja was back in the squad because Pandya got injured. Jadeja played along with both Kuldeep & Chahal. 

I was earlier critical of Virat regarding splitting up Kuldeep-Chahal duo but you have to understand where this change came from. Indian team with their current set up cannot afford two spinners who are absolute duds with bat. 

This Kulcha strategy might work against lesser sides like WI/Pak/SA but the day you come up against Eng/Aus/NZ, it will be exposed as these teams have starting neutralizing that strategy by smashing the leggies out of the game because they have resource to do that.

I think Time has come now to invest in Guys like Samad,  Abhishek especially Samad. 

These players will be critical for us if we have to form a strong LOI outfit.  Pandya isn't going to bowl anytime sooner.  He'll only bowl in WC's as he said. 

So instead of wasting time on TTF's like Jaddu bring in those guys & groom them.  Jaddu hasn't won us anything for a decade. 

32 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

I think Time has come now to invest in Guys like Samad,  Abhishek especially Samad. 

These players will be critical for us if we have to form a strong LOI outfit.  Pandya isn't going to bowl anytime sooner.  He'll only bowl in WC's as he said. 

So instead of wasting time on TTF's like Jaddu bring in those guys & groom them.  Jaddu hasn't won us anything for a decade. 

Yep the issues have been consistent since 2015 & it's high time they are addressed now. If the problem is lack of ready made resources, they have to try players with sone ability & make them desirable players. Indian cricket needs a long term thinker who takes Indian cricket forward. Unfortunately neither Kohli nor Ganguly have interest in that regard. Need complete overhaul.

3 hours ago, SK_IH said:

I was earlier critical of Virat regarding splitting up Kuldeep-Chahal duo but you have to understand where this change came from. Indian team with their current set up cannot afford two spinners who are absolute duds with bat.

You absolutely can when they're averaging 20/21 with the ball. They did brilliantly in the middle overs after Bumrah kept them quiet in the opening overs. Jadeja is not a wicket taker and at 7 he's useless with the bat except for the odd innings which comes maybe once a year. We had a great thing going with Kulcha and not surprisingly Kohli messed it up because of the stupid notion that we need bowlers who can bat just because he backed the wrong players for the middle order.

7 hours ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

A young cricketer, despite being the best LOI bowler for 18 months, was in and out of the team from late 2018 at the whims of captain, which gradually destroyed his confidence. 

No his confidence was destroyed by moeen ali , in n out to he has to understand was becoz of combination which has happened to many bowlers . 

KL n pant were sat coz of lack of trust not kuldeep 

Any other player treated so shoddolily will get derailed. And the worst part is, if they thought he is not good enough, he hasn't been dropped from the squad either to focus on FC cricket and A teams to regain confidence and bowling form

Even KKR treats him badly or what ?

Go listen to domestic cricketer interviews- recently heard manoj tiwary saying that kuldeep lacks self confidence that he needs to be told every 3rd ball that his action is coming good n all . ( i didnt beileve that time)

Guess what next game for KKR- DK is shouting from behind- ur arm coming right , ur action is coming smooth (never seen a wk shout ur action is coming good and that to so much when dk is generally quite)

look at his bowling in ipl,he bowled flat coz he is scared to get another whacking whereas chahal despite getting beaten will still toss it up this is where chahal has gone ahead.

U cant blame one TM coz story is same in KKR who backs their young players as seen with nagarkotti n mavi

Have been saying since Jan-Feb 2019, when project KulCha was already in the process of being disturbed, that Kohli is not going to win a single important tournament/trophy from now on. Kohli, when he soon gets sacked as a captain, will look at Sep 2018 to Jan-Feb 2019 and regret this one decision the most.

Aussies played them easily, they had their period and a phase was suppose to come when teams wud figure them out ....it happened

Kuldeep will be fine, he is still only 25 and has got at least a decade of career ahead of him. Needs to keep going back to his mentors and wait for the end of the tenure of this toxic captain and coach.

at this point he hasnt even bowled in long run, its better for him to go back to domestic n pick bundle of wkts

This is Indian cricket team, not Big Bazaar buy 1 get 1 offer. If either of them requires the other in the XI to not suck no need of that player, koi zabardasti nahi hai. Already we have plenty of duds with the bat (and in the field) like Bumrah, Shami, Saini....these 2 can't bat/field. Maybe they should improve their skills and make themselves indispensable. Enough opportunities to Chahal, what is the ROI? Kuldeep was bawling after getting whacked in an inconsequential IPL game, and he hasn't done himself any favors by failing to deliver whenever given chances since 2019 beginning. Kulcha did play in the 2019 home series against Aussies, taken to cleaners by hacks like Turner and Khawaja. Was sick of seeing them getting outbowled by Zampa, Lyon, Maxwell every game. Then they were rendered toothless in the WC, worst spin bowling display in India's WC history....and who can forget Chahal's SF show? Sure Jaddu too has sucked since then but as a package adds more cos of his fielding and occasional batting. Onus is on the wristies to improve, I still have faith in Kuldeep but Chahal nah.....I think he is in the XI only cos of Kohli's dosti. 

It was not management's problem. We can't play Bhuvi or Saini at no.7 in Indian ODI team. There was no other option except to bring Jadeja because Pandya got injured and we needed someone who can play that all-rounder role and only Jadeja is a feasible option.

also u cant play 3 spinners overseas in white ball

With 2 new white balls and 4 fielder restriction in middle over 3 seamers at-least are must , till pandya was bowling he was giving that 3rd seamer option but not the case anymore. 

U have to play ur best 4 bowlers and no way kuldeep current one is better then Saini. 

2 hours ago, Gollum said:

This is Indian cricket team, not Big Bazaar buy 1 get 1 offer. If either of them requires the other in the XI to not suck no need of that player, koi zabardasti nahi hai. Already we have plenty of duds with the bat (and in the field) like Bumrah, Shami, Saini....these 2 can't bat/field. Maybe they should improve their skills and make themselves indispensable. Enough opportunities to Chahal, what is the ROI? Kuldeep was bawling after getting whacked in an inconsequential IPL game, and he hasn't done himself any favors by failing to deliver whenever given chances since 2019 beginning. Kulcha did play in the 2019 home series against Aussies, taken to cleaners by hacks like Turner and Khawaja. Was sick of seeing them getting outbowled by Zampa, Lyon, Maxwell every game. Then they were rendered toothless in the WC, worst spin bowling display in India's WC history....and who can forget Chahal's SF show? Sure Jaddu too has sucked since then but as a package adds more cos of his fielding and occasional batting. Onus is on the wristies to improve, I still have faith in Kuldeep but Chahal nah.....I think he is in the XI only cos of Kohli's dosti. 

Great post. Fans here need to realise world class batsmen of top tier nations will (& have) come up with the strategies to neutralize the threat of wristys'. You can bully the batsmen early on but once the novelty factor is off the batsmen get their back. 

I too have more faith in Kuldeep but he needs a different IPL team who believe in his abilities & trust him as their premier spinner, not an auxillary one. He needs one good IPL season to get his confidence back in the limited overs cricket.

But one thing is clear, in the current setup both cannot play together because as you said there are already too many duds with the bat in the lower half

Edited by SK_IH