Has the Thakur vs Saini debate been settled?

G_B_

this hard on for phhhast some of our posters have is not natural.

By all means have a fast bowler in the line up. But its ok to have pacers who operate in the 130 to 140 range.

Would rather take a 130-140 pacer who has variety and presence of mind than a 140+ pacer who is all over the place. 

6 minutes ago, OpeningBatsman said:

When people say saini has only played 6 matches they should also realise thakur has also only played 12 matches. 

But onr get abused and the other not. Bhedbhav q hai bhai. 

He gets abused because he does not fit the profile of  so called fast bowler.

16 minutes ago, OpeningBatsman said:

When people say saini has only played 6 matches they should also realise thakur has also only played 12 matches. 

But onr get abused and the other not. Bhedbhav q hai bhai. 

Saini has backing of the Delhi/Punjab lobby....

2 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

I think they should keep this lobby nonsense out of the team. Saini deserved to play both matches nothing wrong in him playing in opening two matches.He should get more chances in future too.I would not play Saini in tests, he bowls straight without much movement.

8 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

No, he had a good reputation coming to this series. Anyway if the lobby thing were true why did he not debut earlier? He is what 28-29 now? 

Unfair to judge him based on 2 matches, besides I think his back wasn't 100%. 

Before castigating Saini, fans must remember this Canberra pitch was more conducive for fast bowlers & most of them enjoyed it today. In the morning, I thought Gill played very well against Hazlewood, who was seaming it away beautifully.

Saini is a very good bowler & definitely deserves more chances.

On Shardul, I think a good utility cricketer & besides if someone has been backed MS Dhoni, he is bound to be good.

On the third seamer issue though, I think Chahar deserves a run ahead of both.

Shardul shouldn't be anywhere near this Indian team. Don't get fooled by this performance. He is a dud. 

Saini should improve his peformance no doubt about it as he is gun barrel straight. Need to add more variety in his armour. But if you are going to drop him  or settle the debates based on this series  where even the best in the world like Bumrah and Satrc got carted around, then it certainly is going to send a wrong message to everyone who wants to bowl fast.

Noway.

Saini is the better prospect,i dont know why he is bowling either too full or too short.

he just needs to go back to his basic line ,which will give him success.

With thakur you know what you ll get ,he is a hard trier and has good attitude ,but ability is limited .Not a bad ootion for lois.

But saini can be a much much better addition in test matches if he clicks.I always doubted him being that successful in lois.

Edited by RAZPOR
52 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

Shardul though hit and miss IMO offers more variety with ball and bat than Saini....

Yes he has variations no doubt but when he gets hit, he has no place to hide. In previous NZ tour, he was smashed twice for 80 runs & in the series before that against Aus, he was replaced by Saini due to the fact the TM thought it needed more pace on flat decks.

I think he is a good back, provides good utility but frontline I am not sure.

25 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

Yes he has variations no doubt but when he gets hit, he has no place to hide. In previous NZ tour, he was smashed twice for 80 runs & in the series before that against Aus, he was replaced by Saini due to the fact the TM thought it needed more pace on flat decks.

I think he is a good back, provides good utility but frontline I am not sure.

Weill Siani also got thrashed equally badly in the first 2 matches