Vikrant Gupta on Sports Tak

How many of you all watch the 'Sports Tak' chats by Vikrant Gupta and team?

What are your views about them? The channel is close to having 5 million subscribers. I have been listening to the chats on & off and have observed that most of their opinions are similar to ICFers (of course the criticism is civil it being a public platform). Just curious to know what other ICFers think about them?

1 minute ago, shychipmunk said:

What are your views about them? The channel is close to having 5 million subscribers. I have been listening to the chats on & off and have observed that most of their opinions are similar to ICFers (of course the criticism is civil it being a public platform). Just curious to know what other ICFers think about them?

similar to ICF...gaali mat de bhai. Joker hai wo 

• He n boria once ran a campaign against pandya coz he might have rubbed him wrong way 
  • Once i remember he asked what has manish pandey done in certain phase but when he was shown stats that he has done well he refused to acknowledge it

their understanding of the game is as poor as anyone on nukkad telling what tendulkar shud have done 

1 minute ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

similar to ICF...gaali mat de bhai. Joker hai wo 

• He n boria once ran a campaign against pandya coz he might have rubbed him wrong way 
  • Once i remember he asked what has manish pandey done in certain phase but when he was shown stats that he has done well he refused to acknowledge it

their understanding of the game is as poor as anyone on nukkad telling what tendulkar shud have done 

Agree with you about the point on Pandya, he has been unfairly critical of Pandya in the past, but I had no idea about there being some history to it.

But he has often been critical of top three batsmen hogging the limelight and not allowing others to prosper (similar to what ICFers feel), also is critical of head coach Shastri.

21 minutes ago, shychipmunk said:

I don't think he has good cricketing sense about Indian team & he sometimes overrates Indian team too much.  I listen to him randomly though I liked him when on England tour he was bashing Shastri left right n center when others were silent. 

Also in one of the recent chats I heard he wanted Rahul to open & bench Mayank at the start of the series. 

I watch Sports Tak sometimes and few things I have noticed:

1. Vikrant Gupta sits with 3-4 other people (maybe employees under him) for a chat but he himself speaks 90% of the time.
  2. Sometimes that Rahul Rawat guy tries interfere but Vikki paaji quickly shuts him down.
  3. There is also a lady who sits with them but not sure what her role is. Poor girl dont even get to speak one sentence.
  4. Pre Covid days even Madan Lal uses to join them but Vikrant used to shut him down too :giggle:
  5. Vikrant advertises his twitter and instagram account after every sentence. Also, asks you to subscribe to his youtube channel after each line.
  6. He is extremely biased against Pandya...looks like something personal but got a fan crush on Rishabh Pant.
  7. Last but not the least, he is a sports journalist in Aaj Tak but behaves like a mix of Gavaskar & Tendulkar. The way he gives gyaan how Kohli and co needs to bat in swing friendly conditions is hilarious.

I wont say its a bad channel. Actually its good to see a casual friendly chat on cricket daily. But would love if everyone gets equal chance to put across their points.

Channel has close to 5 million subscribers...so definitely many people watch their shows.

Edited by Austin 3:!6
6 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

1. Vikrant Gupta sits with 3-4 other people (maybe employees under him) for a chat but he himself speaks 90% of the time.
  2. Sometimes that Rahul Rawat guy tries interfere but Vikki paaji quickly shuts him down.
  3. There is also a lady who sits with them but not sure what her role is. Poor girl dont even get to speak one sentence.
  4. Pre Covid days even Madan Lal uses to join them but Vikrant used to shut him down too :giggle:
  5. Vikrant advertises his twitter and instagram account after every sentence. Also, asks you to subscribe to his youtube channel after each line.
  6. He is extremely biased against Pandya...looks like something personal but got a fan crush on Rishabh Pant.
  7. Last but not the least, he is a sports journalist in Aaj Tak but behaves like a mix of Gavaskar & Tendulkar. The way he gives gyaan how Kohli and co needs to bat in swing friendly conditions is hilarious.

I wont say its a bad channel. Actually its good to see a casual friendly chat on cricket daily. But would love if everyone gets equal chance to put across their points.

Channel has close to 5 million subscribers...so definitely many people watch their shows.

He is also a version of our very own tics paaji when it comes to Dilli and Punjab players. 

10 hours ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

Vikrant is the leader of the pack, no doubt about it, sometimes get the impression that he holds some stakes in the media house (as keeps on insisting us to subscribe and follow him, much more than others)

Girl you are talking about is Rashika Rajput. Her knowledge on cricket seems limited, although she is a genuine trier and is learning on the job. Good thing is others dont dismiss her as the mandatory female presence but treat her as one of them.

Best among them is Manoj Dimri. He is young, unbiased and does his homework well.

Rahul Rajput has some sort of attitude, but overall he is OK.

There is another guy called Sushant who appears now and then, is a bit loud and is just there to make up the numbers.

Earlier cricketers like Nikhil Chopra used to join along with Madan Lal. Even Sunil Gavaskar has joined them once in a while.

Edited by shychipmunk
13 hours ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

Gupta is an ex-cricketer, not just a sports journalist

5 hours ago, shychipmunk said:

Vikrant is the leader of the pack, no doubt about it, sometimes get the impression that he holds some stakes in the media house (as keeps on insisting us to subscribe and follow him, much more than others)

Girl you are talking about is Rashika Rajput. Her knowledge on cricket seems limited, although she is a genuine trier and is learning on the job. Good thing is others dont dismiss her as the mandatory female presence but treat her as one of them.

Best among them is Manoj Dimri. He is young, unbiased and does his homework well.

Rahul Rajput has some sort of attitude, but overall he is OK.

There is another guy called Sushant who appears now and then, is a bit loud and is just there to make up the numbers.

Earlier cricketers like Nikhil Chopra used to join along with Madan Lal. Even Sunil Gavaskar has joined them once in a while.

Wondering...kahi aap khud Vikrant to nehi hai? :hmmm:

Another arm chair quarterback.

Why can't he talk about the fact that a prime form Manish Pandey never got enough chances or the fact that Rohit Sharma and Kohli never won a worldcup or gave clutch performances in semi finals or finals?

Rohit scored 5 WC hundreds last worldcup yet didn't do squat in clutch movements where it mattered. 

Every single important game India lost neither of our top 3 contributed or came close to the finish line in recent important tournaments yet these armchair quarterbacks make money spewing garbage.