Tattieboy Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 1 minute ago, maniac said: while I agree with most of your post, I notice that IPL is brought up as a taunt usually when India loses in international cricket m. However I don’t see anything wrong with IPL over shadowing everything else. While every domestic cricketer good or bad has dreams of playing test cricket, what gets him his pensions and other perks are from the IPL. Lot more people will remember RCB or MI sub 100 all outs than this humiliation. May be that is pushing it as this is a world record but you get my point. There is a demand for IPL, players seem to want to play it, it brings huge money into the game and the average joe (like me) love it and it introduces a lot more new fans to the game than anything else would.So nothing wrong in moving on from this loss once IPL starts. Why can’t IPL be independent of Indias crappy performances in internationals? I don't bring it up as a taunt but to show as you have to a degree that whilst today is a black day for Indian cricket to a large amount of Indians what happens to Mumbai Indians of shiver is more important to them LordPrabhzy 1
R!TTER Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 India started slow & usually got much better under Ganguly as the test series played out, it's actually the reverse here!
LordPrabhzy Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 @maniac you may not want to see IPL as a taunt but there is inrefutble proof that since the inception of IPL the Indian teams performances in SENA test tours has been atrocious. we are simply not producing young players who are able to play the moving ball and having patience at the same time. BCCI and TM puts a lot more emphasis on LoI cricket and IPL management rather than send players to play in county or SA/ Aus domestics because they rather focus on playing IPL for money. Yes money is important but that’s what the coffers of BCCI are for to reimburse top players adequately for choosing to play abroad rather than IPL but it’s more concerned about the brand of IPL and not the Indian team performances. maniac 1
goose Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 (edited) not even close. it was over before any semblance of hope kicked in Edited December 19, 2020 by goose
NameGoesHere Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 This is the worst day and I have been following cricket actively since 1982. At least earlier we were underdogs/ crap/ not expected to do much. Now we're a bunch of massively overpaid a$$holes, riding on the shrill cacophonous tide of uber nationationalism, surrounding ourself in commercialised hype with a wrapping of tinsel thin razzmatazz. sorak, sandeep, maniac and 2 others 1 3 1
R!TTER Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 8 minutes ago, NameGoesHere said: Now we're a bunch of massively overpaid a$$holes, riding on the shrill cacophonous tide of uber nationationalism, surrounding ourself in commercialised hype with a wrapping of tinsel thin razzmatazz. So basically a poor man's US of A or somewhat democratic China? NameGoesHere 1
sandeep Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 7 hours ago, Stan AF said: Top. I salute the 90s cricket team as atleast they tried better than the bunch of sorry batters that we have these days. You think Debang Gandhi and co were 'trying better' than this lot? Everybody is reeling from the 36 AO. But let's not mix up facts and fantasy. Sandeep99 and zen 2
sandeep Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 3 hours ago, Sandeep99 said: With Rohit instead if Mayank maybe the slide would have started yesterday night itself instead of today's morning Stop hyping up Mayank as if he were something special - he would have been back for a nice duck previous night if Paine hadn't dived in front of 1st slip.
Texy Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 (edited) mazaa nehi aaya This feels like in an argument when wife accepts defeat before the argument even begins, instead of gradually defeating her argument point by point, that satisfaction is indescribable. Edited December 19, 2020 by Texy
RAZPOR Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 5 hours ago, Shaz1 said: I mean its Test cricket. With India missing there key cricketer Rohit Sharma. Not running a experienced coach. I am sure Indian cricket has seen worse. dekho kya din aagaye padosi bhi hume dilasa de rahe hain. bhai pls ,make fun,haso,ye mein kya dekh raha hu. 2020
Sandeep99 Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 8 minutes ago, sandeep said: Stop hyping up Mayank as if he were something special - he would have been back for a nice duck previous night if Paine hadn't dived in front of 1st slip. The point is - Rohit is equally not special
RAZPOR Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 1 minute ago, Sandeep99 said: The point is - Rohit is equally not special rohit would atleast hit one or two sixes. entertainment atleast
Stan AF Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 14 minutes ago, sandeep said: You think Debang Gandhi and co were 'trying better' than this lot? Everybody is reeling from the 36 AO. But let's not mix up facts and fantasy. Did you see a lower score than 36 anywhere in the 90s?.
sandeep Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 12 minutes ago, Sandeep99 said: The point is - Rohit is equally not special I gave up on Rohit the test cricket in 2014 when he threw his wicket away in the Adelaide chase. Folks on this forum do not remember but I was a big supporter of Rohit in test cricket - until that point. He kept letting hmself and the team down, and I kept thinking that he will finally put it together like he did in ODIs. Australian conditions especially are tailormade for him. But that game was the last straw. Yes, Rohit is no savior. Sandeep99 1
Gollum Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 Dec 19 2020 yuck pathetic Dec 19 2016 saw Karun Nair score 300, his acceleration from 140 to 300 that afternoon remains one of my most memorable passages of play rivalling Viru's similar onslaughts against RSA, Lanka. So all not that bad with the date, just the year. We may not have a single test win/draw in 2020. Dunno when was the last time something like this happened.
NameGoesHere Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 Here's a good article from the Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2020/dec/19/india-collapse-adelaide-test-cricket-australia-historic Quote But it’s here, in the Year Of Our Increasingly Demented and Perverse Lord 2020, that the Indian team just got bowled out for 36. The team organised by the richest board in the world, made up of players trained since birth. Players on professional salaries who are confined in a hermeneutic temperature-controlled bio-bubble, who finish up with their mindset coach before a relaxing evening getting a deep-tissue glute massage and settling in with their sleep specialist.This is not to scold cricketers for getting out, but to point out how absurdly unlikely it is that professionals of this era could better, or worsen, the efforts of amateurs from a century ago with vastly shorter average lifespans who had never heard of refrigeration and could buy over-the-counter cocaine.
maniac Posted December 19, 2020 Posted December 19, 2020 I don’t remember the exact date-timeline but somewhere in 2000 when Kapil Dev was crying on TV and it looked like cricket itself was over. I think that 54 allout vs Srilanka was more or less around the same time. That was even worse. Also 2007 wc getting knocked out by Bangla