sandeep Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 3 hours ago, maniac said: People saying Sundar is a T20 player haven’t watched this match. Sundar when batting looked like this is his 2nd Aus tour playing Starc,Cummins,Hazelwood. He took 3 wickets with beautifully set up bowling. OP rates Krunal Pandya more than Suadar because of tattoos and piercings. Natarajan yes has a long way to go still in tests despite the performance. How much do you practice, or does being a jackass come to naturally? I remember clearly, a couple of months after the ODI WC, I wrote in a thread that India should start grooming Washington Sundar for the 2023 ODI WC, and he has potential to help the Indian test team away from home. You took a gratuitous potshot like this at me at that time - claiming that Sundar is a "only a T20 player". Now you are out here creating threads about how you think Sundar is so special. Here you are, attacking @Ankit_sharma03 with an unrelated out of context half-truth about Krunal Pandya. I mean, that's just assholery. You repeatedly make disagreements personal, and go about arguing dishonestly. Its quite annoying. You should take a good look in mirror about this. Why are you like this? Did you get dropped on the head as a child? zen, IndianLegend, Ankit_sharma03 and 2 others 2 3
Gollum Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 If I have to grade our best test series in several tiers: Aus 2020-21.....GOAT series featuring India [daylight] Aus 2001, 2003-04; RSA 2010-11 Aus 2017, 2018-19; Pak 2004 Eng 2007; SL 2015; NZ 2009 BacktoCricaddict and Ankit_sharma03 2
Jamadagni Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 1 hour ago, Adamant said: If Kohli was there we would have won the scg test. For those who are saying that we are winning coz of Kohlis absence and that players play under pressure when he is there Just answer one question : How did we win 2018 series under Kohli and for f*** sake dont say bcoz Smith and Warner were absent coz our our bowlers have been able to stop them and they would have done that even under kohli it's no Rocket Science is it?(these bowlers have been at their best even with Kohli as captain) I am damn sure no one here will be able to give a straight answer to this. All these controversial theories are just made up fantasies which some idiots come up with who know nothing about the team but behave as if they have installed a hidden camera in the dressing room. Mayank agarwal played so brilliantly last time in aus under Kohli, wasn't he a debutant? I thought young players can't do well under Kohli What about Pant, who was indias secons highest run scorer? Bumrah in SA? As i said all this is made up BS. 1 hour ago, Adamant said: In indian conditions we defeat each and every team even when Kohli is captain. Think rationally now. Why do these youngsters and other players play so well in Indian conditions even after being under scrutiny and living in a negative environment (coz of kohli)? This negativity, ego etc talks come only when we tour abroad. Lol Take a hint. Our players dont perform well in away conditions, its easy to deduce this. Negativity home ke bahar hi kyu aati hai. Lol Keep living in your bubble. That guy is earning millions and just won the icc cricketer of the decade. Mental gymnastics se kuch nahi hoga. You just the nail on the head. "Psychology experts" on here will have no answers to this. Even I am not a fan of Kohli's captaincy, but posts on this thread are hilarious. Cricketics and Adamant 2
Gollum Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 Post-2000 that is, I am sure our victories in 1971, 1986 were great as well.
BacktoCricaddict Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 (edited) I don't know why this is important to tell this (true) story on this thread, but I think there is a connection: I was at the Indian store this morning. I have bought the same brand of banana chips for years. The first time I bought this brand, it was great - fresh and super-crispy! Over the years though, it's been up and down - some batches are great, others not so good, but I was so familiar with it that I did not change it. This morning, I panicked when they were out of this brand but had to buy some banana chips because the children love them. Reluctantly, I picked up this other brand and was nervous to hand it to the children. They whined a bit, but opened the bag, ate a couple and went "Wow, these are so much better - taste much fresher - than those other ones." What do I do now? Edited January 17, 2021 by BacktoCricaddict Adamant, Forever Indian, express bowling and 1 other 4
BacktoCricaddict Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 Just now, Gollum said: Post-2000 that is, I am sure our victories in 1971, 1986 were great as well. Yeah, but this series is shaping up to beat them all. 1971 Windies would probably be a close 2nd - mainly because a 21-yr old man-child demolished the scary speedsters. But remember, that WI attack in the first two tests was Vanburn Holder, Shilllingford and Noriega. Michael Holding and Bernard Julien bowled in the 3rd test. So, it wasn't quite the fearsome foursome that we might instinctively think it was.
maniac Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 17 minutes ago, sandeep said: with an unrelated out of context half-truth about Krunal Pandya. Which one is the lie? He doesn’t have a tatoo or a piercing, which one did I get right ?
Ankit_sharma03 Posted January 17, 2021 Author Posted January 17, 2021 3 minutes ago, Gollum said: If I have to grade our best test series in several tiers: Aus 2020-21.....GOAT series featuring India [daylight] Aus 2001, 2003-04; RSA 2010-11 Aus 2017, 2018-19; Pak 2004 Eng 2007; SL 2015; NZ 2009 This series has been just what great scripts are made of Fairytale - nattu whose life has changed post lockdown. He came in SRH camp among the lot of bowlers . Impressed them in nets so much that he ended up XI and by the time tournament ended he impressed even speed gun lovers . Doesnt get orignally selected for aussie tour but only as net bowler. Varun . C gets injured after that he plays t20 and more injuries kept making him playing every format. This a pure fairytale. Courage - injured player putting a fully fit aussie side on backfoot. One hero falls many new ones rises- its just not one but we found heroes in everyone specially among those whom we didnt expect. Story always sounds better when someone with lesser ability punches way above their weight. That 2000 side had big names n laxman n bhajjji had big ability, maybe thats why this is even better BacktoCricaddict and maniac 1 1
maniac Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 6 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: This series has been just what great scripts are made of Fairytale - nattu whose life has changed post lockdown. He came in SRH camp among the lot of bowlers . Impressed them in nets so much that he ended up XI and by the time tournament ended he impressed even speed gun lovers . Doesnt get orignally selected for aussie tour but only as net bowler. Varun . C gets injured after that he plays t20 and more injuries kept making him playing every format. This a pure fairytale. Courage - injured player putting a fully fit aussie side on backfoot. One hero falls many new ones rises- its just not one but we found heroes in everyone specially among those whom we didnt expect. Story always sounds better when someone with lesser ability punches way above their weight. That 2000 side had big names n laxman n bhajjji had big ability, maybe thats why this is even better I am so glad we don’t have too many budtameez,tagda and daler players in our team. These guys are great soldiers who execute their plans perfectly. No prima donnas except 1. Pant would have been 1 but this early setback brought him back to ground it looks like. Seems so much more mature. Rohit can be a prima Donna around Kohli though but in this crowd he gells well.
DeepSpace Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 2 hours ago, Cricketics said: Half of ICF wants Rahane outside. You want a player who is on the fringe of gettinng dropped to lead the side? It is time to think beyond and give Bumrah the captaincy. Rahane is one player who has lead and his example won us the Boxing Day Test. Pujara's knock saved us the Sydney test. We cannot let these guys go. Ankit_sharma03 and sandeep 1 1
Cricketics Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 16 minutes ago, DeepSpace said: Rahane is one player who has lead and his example won us the Boxing Day Test. Pujara's knock saved us the Sydney test. We cannot let these guys go. They should not, both should play but we need to find new leaders for the future. Keeping them captain at this age will only put pressure on them as they reach twilight of their careers. Fresh thinking needed beyond this. Set the seniors free of captaincy and leadership roles. Let them just play as batsmen until they can contribute.
DeepSpace Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 1 minute ago, Cricketics said: They should not, both should play but we need to find new leaders for the future. Keeping them captain at this age will only put pressure on them as tbey bit twilight of their career. Fresh thinking needed beyond this. Set the seniors free of captaincy and leadership roles. Let them just play as batsmen until they can contribute. The problem with a bowler captain, they tend to get injured and not play. 32 years is hardly twilight. Let Rahane be captain or maybe even Pujara and make a younger guy as vice captain so he can learn the ropes. Not everyone is like Kapil Dev, who just played on an on. Also back in those days we did not have such a packed schedule.
G_B_ Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 I think its fair to say regardless of who is captain india will do well outside sena countries. I do feel under kohli we fluffed our lines away to sa last time. A lot of self enforced errors.
Swag Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 I think those clamouring to get rid of Pujara and Rahane need to take a step back. As for OP's question, I am in 2 minds re VK, not sure if his absence did indeed help or was it just that things came together for India at the right time. We definitely need Virat the batsman in the team.
G_B_ Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 I think we still have 3 years of pujara and rahane subject to injury. They are 32 which is not old. A lot of these youngsters will focus on ipl etc. Its good for india to have test only options.
zen Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 (edited) By playing in IPL, many of these guys have got confident and better at managing pressure situations Edited January 17, 2021 by zen
Soldier Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 55 minutes ago, Swag said: I think those clamouring to get rid of Pujara and Rahane need to take a step back. As for OP's question, I am in 2 minds re VK, not sure if his absence did indeed help or was it just that things came together for India at the right time. We definitely need Virat the batsman in the team. Agreed.
Soldier Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 1 hour ago, G_B_ said: I think its fair to say regardless of who is captain india will do well outside sena countries. I do feel under kohli we fluffed our lines away to sa last time. A lot of self enforced errors. Bro we played parthiv Patel, Dhawan and Vijay vs South Africa. Had we just picked right selections we would have won the series. express bowling 1
gattaca Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 So many us see problem with Kohli but none of the former Indian players and BCCI see no issues ? Come on this got to make people think but they will comeback and say this Virat’s team.
gattaca Posted January 17, 2021 Posted January 17, 2021 46 minutes ago, zen said: By playing in IPL, many of these guys have got confident and better at managing pressure situations Ranji and A tours helped with skill building for red ball cricket. IPL helps them with facilities, pressure sometimes and approaching coaches and players Freely. IPL is not just be all and end all for all the good and bad.