Tokyo 2020 Paralympics: Record 19 medals thus far!!!! Amazing

Just now, LordPrabhzy said:

Do you know how much shuttle cocks cost LOL. My mum was a state level teen champ in badminton and it was a very expensive sport. Rackets are similar costs, tennis balls are cheaper, nets are similar costs. Logically if you can play badminton you can play tennis too

Tennis is a lot more expensive bro at least when I was growing up. Tennis balls might be  cheaper but in India to book a tennis court is very expensive. Badminton you can do setting  anywhere and get a net. Also tennis racquets  are way more expensive compared to badminton.

1 minute ago, maniac said:

Tennis is a lot more expensive bro at least when I was growing up. Tennis balls might be  cheaper but in India to book a tennis court is very expensive. Badminton you can do setting  anywhere and get a net. Also tennis racquets  are way more expensive compared to badminton.

Yes need a very flat surface for tennis which is only possible on courts.

Badminton can be played on any kind of surface in the start.

13 minutes ago, I6MTW said:

Why are Indians so good at badminton but not at tennis? I know they are different sports, but Badminton is supposed to be more physically demanding, there are literally no free points on serve unlike tennis.

We really aren't supposed to have the genetics for either technically.

Is it because of height that prevents Indians from having a good serve in tennis? Or is it because tennis is more competitive and a more deeper playing field than Badminton?

Both. Also tennis is unaffordable for most in India, badminton is a middle class sport. 

We were good at tennis once upon a time, at least compared to non-Western standards. Check Vijay Amritraj's H2H against ATGs of his era, you'll be surprised. 

2 minutes ago, maniac said:

My point is if we have the investment and money in academies to invest in badminton courts, then we can replicate that for indoor tennis courts too. Ultimately there might be a difference in the cost of the badminton and tennis racquet but that's where funding comes in. There will always be sports where the initial investment done in children are by families with money.. even in the west not many working class/council estate children have the capability of playing competitive sports like this as there is no funding for them.

Ultimately in India its upper middle class parents who have the money have the potential to invest for coaching in their kids for these specific sports from which the talent can be spotted and built on ( like badminton) in more formal academies. 

Just now, Gollum said:

Both. Also tennis is unaffordable for most in India, badminton is a middle class sport. 

We were good at tennis once upon a time, at least compared to non-Western standards. Check Vijay Amritraj's H2H against ATGs of his era, you'll be surprised. 

Yes, but back then tennis was a different sport. Vijay, Ramesh, Ramanathan etc. Tennis was less physical back then, racquets and technology were different, less power and baseline, more of touch, finesse,wooden racquets etc.

Even Leander Paes who was top 100 for quite some time , gave up on singles and decided doubles is where the glory is at. 

As the game changed, Indians couldn't keep up with it. Chennai was the birthplace of Indian tennis.

10 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Dude, go easy there. Saina is one of the most decorated sportspersons in India. Has struggled since her knee injury in 2016 but she was the pioneer in her sport by winning its first ever medal.

No i am not demeaning her. She is still Indias pioneer. But at later years she fought with federation, was not happy with Sindhus rise etc... but you have to admit she was lucky in the bronze medal match..and we indians dont have much luck normally in premier sporting KO matches..

4 minutes ago, neel roy said:

As a patriotic person yes. As a prgamatic person No

As an analogy ::To me she is Andy Murray in her prime. But Tzu is Federer in prime. And its Wimbledon.. if any other competitor it would have been fine..

15 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Sindhu's most important match since Rio final. Hopefully today's inconsistent Tai Tzu shows up again. 

Saw her first time. Has an intimidating gameplay. That aura and a very confident look saying I have this in bag.

13 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Do you know how much shuttle cocks cost LOL. My mum was a state level teen champ in badminton and it was a very expensive sport. Rackets are similar costs, tennis balls are cheaper, nets are similar costs. Logically if you can play badminton you can play tennis too

Do you really have more friends growing up playing badminton or tennis?

Shuttle cock cost comes much later, the first thing is buying a racket ..which every middle class parent is more willing to pay for than a tennis racket. Then you have a issue of Finding a tennis court, while you can play badminton even on road and this is exactly why a kid growing up is more inclined to pick up badminton than tennis in India and naturally chances of finding world class talent is much much higher with badminton.

2 minutes ago, jusarrived said:

Do you really have more friends growing up playing badminton or tennis?

Shuttle cock cost comes much later, the first thing is buying a racket ..which every middle class parent is more willing to pay for than a tennis racket. Then you have a issue of Finding a tennis court, while you can play badminton even on road and this is exactly why a kid growing up is more inclined to pick up badminton than tennis in India and naturally chances of finding world class talent is much much higher with badminton.

Bhai mitti hai. Akhade bana lo.. kushti hi kar ko.. mineral water or towel hi to chahiye… repechage rounds bhi hai.. haar ke bhi baazigar ban sakte ho end main..