Jay Shah confirms IPL will be having 2 and a half month window from the next ICC FTP

4 minutes ago, MultiB48 said:

Hardly anyone follows tests .When it is played in eng or aus do they watch, as it looks pretty .Even those are mostly one sided ,specially in aus .

For real cricket to be alive, everyone should follow test cricket. These T20 bilaterals must go away. They are pointless, taking away all the limelight from ODIs.

1 minute ago, zen said:

ICC is onboard with a longer IPL (more revenue sharing opportunity as well) … I won’t be surprised to see a 3-month window 

As for teams, we may not see more than 12, with next two teams coming from Central & Eastern India as other regions already have 3 teams:

North: DC, LSG, & PK

East/Center: KKR + 2 new teams

South: CSK, RCB, & SRH

West: GT, MI, & RR

Kerala (Kochi, T'puram, Kozhikode etc.) may bid as well, Gulf based Mallus are loaded and we may even have a Dubai based team sharing hosting rights with a couple of Kerala venues.....and can't rule out extra team from our 2 biggest cricket states->Maharashtra and Gujarat. Don't think all regions will be represented equally. In case of future bids East/Central will be left behind surely. Can foresee more participation from East in sports like football, hockey but cricket?

2 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Babar-Rizwan will be praying for this to happen. Then they will play against Z sides in remaining white ball internationals instead of E/F. 

Nah deep down they must be resenting not being part of IPL. 

Players like Babar, Shaheen will miss out on atleast 10 million dollars in lifetime earnings not playing the IPL. That's 200+ Cr PKR! 

Just like Canada has teams in NBA, NHL, MLB etc., won't be a bad idea to expand IPL beyond our frontiers, at least in our neighborhood. Lanka ruled out because of their economic/political situation (unlikely to improve for several years/decades), Pak out of the question, only a matter of time before Bangla dispensation turns hostile. Which leaves us with UAE, huge Indian diaspora, healthy bilateral relations, boards ke beech dosti, many factors working in favor....

@sandeep once wrote a long post about this IIRC. He suggested 2 phoren based teams, at least ek toh banta hai.

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

Kerala (Kochi, T'puram, Kozhikode etc.) may bid as well, Gulf based Mallus are loaded and we may even have a Dubai based team sharing hosting rights with a couple of Kerala venues.....and can't rule out extra team from our 2 biggest cricket states->Maharashtra and Gujarat. Don't think all regions will be represented equally. In case of future bids East/Central will be left behind surely. Can foresee more participation from East in sports like football, hockey but cricket?

There is Pune as well which attracts attention (has had 2 temp IPL teams). However, BCCI may have plans for regional level competition as well so for e.g. we may see CSK, RCB, & SRH playing in the South leg. We could also see a super 8 type of stage with 2 teams from each region advancing to it after playing the regional leg. With 12 teams, we could see a different format. 

And if the above is in play, Gwalior (Sindhia family), Gauhati, Patna, Jamshedpur (Tata), etc., would be among the favorites 

2 minutes ago, zen said:

There is Pune as well which attracts attention (has had 2 temp IPL teams). However, BCCI may have plans for regional level competition as well so for e.g. we may see CSK, RCB, & SRH playing in the South leg. We could also see a super 8 type of stage with 2 teams from each region advancing to it after playing the regional leg. With 12 teams, we could see a different format. 

And if the above is in play, Gwalior (Sindhia family), Gauhati, Patna, Jamshedpur (Tata), etc., would be among the favorites 

Endless possibilities and ways to take the system forward to ensure maximum viewership/interest and highest cricket quality. Hope BCCI has employed the best brains to the task. One thing we all can agree upon is that IPL must grow, be more ambitious, 5 foreign players per team (to maintain quality) etc.

7 minutes ago, MultiB48 said:

Who will pay the bills, salaries.Tests aren't going to do it, infact they need t20s to fund tests.

T20 leagues are there around the world, ODIs are also there. Before the T20 era, we did had ODIs and Tests and it worked.

11 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Endless possibilities and ways to take the system forward to ensure maximum viewership/interest and highest cricket quality. Hope BCCI has employed the best brains to the task. One thing we all can agree upon is that IPL must grow, be more ambitious, 5 foreign players per team (to maintain quality) etc.

yeah, more teams = more international players (ideally there should be no limit to ensure the highest possible quality if the goal is to make IPL the premier LOI event. The budget cap would ensure all types of players are selected in the squad) 

What I posted above is not speculation but based on what I read sometime back (options BCCI is considering). IPL is unlikely to have more than 12 teams in the near future. 

It's premature to think about the demise of International cricket right now. Too much International cricket is also not good! We still get 10 months it. If anything a 2 month break will do it a favour. 

You can't deny the huge demand for IPL. 2 months per year is not that long. 

12 minutes ago, AuxiliA said:

Nah deep down they must be resenting not being part of IPL. 

Players like Babar, Shaheen will miss out on atleast 10 million dollars in lifetime earnings not playing the IPL. That's 200+ Cr PKR! 

Sudhrenge nahi hamare padosi. So many avenues to get wealthier, more famous, access to bigger market etc. But all take a backseat to allow their rogue military officers and Hafiz Saeed types to set the agenda. 

Not just cricket, so many artistes from their mulk have missed out on millions of dollars from our film/music/culture industries. But self destruction and hatred for kafir blood take precedence for them. 

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

Sudhrenge nahi hamare padosi. So many avenues to get wealthier, more famous, access to bigger market etc. But all take a backseat to allow their rogue military officers and Hafiz Saeed types to set the agenda. 

Not just cricket, so many artistes from their mulk have missed out on millions of dollars from our film/music/culture industries. But self destruction and hatred for kafir blood take precedence for them. 

They have been moulded that way through decades of indoctrination. That's not going to change until there's a Renaissance. 

In India in order to become a radical you have to follow fringe whatsApp groups, in Pakistan you just have to read your school textbooks! 

BCCI is not India.

There's no need to defend it, it's an organization. 

Taking away a quarter of the international calendar makes no sense. 

Why not just make it a 10 months league and leave 2 months aside for real cricket.? 

Let me ask the idiots here what made Ben Stokes or Buttler a superstar? 

Answer is International cricket. 

If we don't play enough of that where are the international stars going to come from? 

One fourth of the calendar is just too much man, one months should be enough for this tamasha. 

Stokes is a superstar bcoz of his exploits in international cricket while he doesn't have good stats in IPL, now consider Pandya Sahab, no one apart from Indians gives a rat's ass about him, why? 

Coz he is a serial loser and failure in real cricket. 

46 minutes ago, MultiB48 said:

Salaries were low for most players ,as was the stadiums ,do you want to go back to those days.You can watch even the early ipls and see how horrible the stadiums and outfield looked.

Naah, not gonna be case now. Players get paid a lot through league cricket today especially IPL where you have all the international players.

IPL will grow and grow. Taking away bare minimum fair share of BCCI from ICC Tournament revenues by greedy ICC and its conniving members was probably what made BCCI realise and work on fact that Indians love cricket does not need Indian team competing International Tournaments every week.

3 hours ago, maniac said:

Expansion is a good idea but is there enough quality depth?

nope , even 10 teams at the end had huge holes due to lack of options which btw did make the league more competitve this time since every team had many problems so no team was far superior

12 teams wud be too much 

7 hours ago, Adamant said:

God no! 

International cricket will die a painful death. 

This is what happens when an Indian organization gains too much power, it's good that we are pedestrian level in  all other sports. 

We are not interested in this pyjama stuff man!, this takes up months off the international calendar. 

Shameful stuff, hope we always remain a minnow in every other sport. 

The cricket we love is heading towards a slow and painful death all thanks to a nepotistic idiot and his power ride. 

* you BCCI. 

Honestly I want t20 internationals scrapped. No need for t20 Wc in truth. Ipl is enough for this tamasha stuff. 

Odi WC and tests are the premier formats. 

5 hours ago, Jay said:

Honestly I want t20 internationals scrapped. No need for t20 Wc in truth. Ipl is enough for this tamasha stuff. 

Odi WC and tests are the premier formats. 

T20Is are huge money makers for the smaller boards. Don't think they will be willing to give up on that, unless ICC compensates them.