Beyond this WC'22 for India

16 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

yes he is 

my choice of jitesh was above prabhsimran as keeper , about top order their are tons of better option avl then prabhsimran for that 

Who would be your pick if the team wants a pinch hitter opener ?

10 hours ago, express bowling said:

Who would be your pick if the team wants a pinch hitter opener ?

Pant open

Samson @ 3

My 1st criteria - I want guys who can adjust to slow wkts which is why iyer will be high on my list (whom im not a fan of)

backup choices - kishen and shaw 

Kishen - lacks adaptability on different kind of surfaces 

Shaw - he has too many areas of concerns 

But both are highly superior batsman then prabhsimran , prabhsimran has to score against quality bowlers in IPL for atleast 2 seasons to have a case. 

If they all fail ill go to gill-rutu as they have good adaptability and again much better quality. Not to concerned about high s/r for Wc in WI as avg scores wont be high . 

Another area that will remain must for me batting against short ball which is used to good advantage in WI as its not easy to time against short ball on slow wkts 

18 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Iyer will be high on my list

Another area that will remain must for me batting against short ball which is used to good advantage in WI as its not easy to time against short ball on slow wkts 

Iyer :laugh:

image.png.7fb3f7c710519ceb2cdb471aa2cb1e8a.png

Edited by singhvivek141
10 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Iyer :laugh:

image.png.7fb3f7c710519ceb2cdb471aa2cb1e8a.png

i knew someone will say this , bhai opener aur middle order men farq hai ...............i was talking about openers . Openers have to face it , middle orders ones wont get a lot of it in WI 

Reason - margin of error in Aus with bouncers is higher then WI , in Aus everyone will start bouncing you even bowlers with lesser pace.  In WI ull see middle overs being bowled by spinners and bowlers who rely on variation . 

In next 2 yrs expect a lot of teams to move on to bowlers who are doing well in leagues so Aus will go towards ellis-richardson and england like willey-curran-garton-luke wood. 

Their are very few high pace bowlers with top execution of short ball like nortje, wood, rauf . Even someone like lockie is on off with execution which is why pooran recently smashed his short ball in WI , pooran himself is very poor against short ball. WI grounds are small and margin of error isnt same as in Australia for short balls 

Would nortje, wood be fit till that time ???  Cant say , archer is already injury prone.

So Iyer will have enough overs of cutter bowlers and spinners to target. Iyer is one the best players of slow wkts and 160 totals, its just few genuine pace overs that needs to be taken care off . Even in regards to Kohli i kept saying same thing kohli is one the best batsman in world cricket for Aus conditions so take him no matter how bad form he is in . 

18 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

i knew someone will say this , bhai opener aur middle order men farq hai ...............i was talking about openers 

Reason - margin of error in Aus with bouncers is higher then WI , in Aus everyone will start bouncing you even bowlers with lesser pace.  In WI ull see middle overs being bowled by spinners and bowlers who rely on variation . 

In next 2 yrs expect a lot of teams to move on to bowlers who are doing well in leagues so Aus will go towards ellis-richardson and england like willey-curran-garton-luke wood. 

Their are very few high pace bowlers with top execution of short ball like nortje, wood, rauf . Even someone like lockie is on off with execution which is why pooran recently smashed his short ball in WI , pooran himself is very poor against short ball. WI grounds are small and margin of error isnt same as in Australia for short balls 

Would nortje, wood be fit till that time ???  Cant say , archer is already injury prone.

So Iyer will have enough overs of cutter bowlers and spinners to target. Iyer is one the best players of slow wkts and 160 totals, its just few genuine pace overs that needs to be taken care off 

Ok, so you're considering Iyer as an opener ? didn't thought that way.
I don't remember clearly but Iyer hasn't opened in IPL after 2015-2016, before that his performance as an opener was very so so.
Iyer mostly like to play at no 3 where he can play the role of anchor and then accelerate at later stage, but if Samson comes there then where would you keep Kohli ?

Edited by singhvivek141

Ok, so you're considering Iyer as an opener ? didn't thought that way.
I don't remember clearly but Iyer hasn't opened in IPL after 2015-2016, before that his performance as an opener was very so so.

nope 

i just said ill select keep conditions in mind , iyer is one such case (everyone here knows how i have never been a fan of iyer) 

Iyer will be in middle

For Selection of opener game against short ball will remain important for me (that was for whoever my choice as opener wud be, iyer has nothing to do with opening spot )

Iyer mostly like to play at no 3 where he can play the role of anchor and then accelerate at later stage, but if Samson comes there then where would you keep Kohli ?

if kohli is motivated and doesnt develop too many chinks by that time , kohli hands down will be my 1st choice

Kohli grasps over t20 has been excellent and when it comes to 160 totals who better . Kohli feels outdates when totals are 200+ but that wont happen in WI ..............anways in WC always reduce 20 runs from avg score in the country due to pressure. 

1) Chahal should be permanently out, he is a club cricket calibre bowler,  doesn't deserve to be in the same  sentence as Shadab or  Rashid Khan or Adil Rashid.  Just look at Chahal's eocnomy rate and strike rate after so many games. He is just extremely pedestrian.  We need to find and groom a world beating wrist spinner who can contain or take wickets consistently. 

2) KL should be out - he is not going to change. He is a very meek and submissive personality, it will show in his game - always. We cannot afford such openers when PP is so important.

I would groom Ishan Kishan ( being a left hander is added advantage ) 

3) Rohit should make way for another right handed opener, who is a fearless attacker

4) Bhuvi should make way for someone with genuine pace and with the ability to bowl yorkers consistently .

I think Bumrah can be dispensed with. He missed the world T20. He misses 60% of the matches anyway. He can just play his IPL and ODIs/Tests.  If he is going to miss world T20 not needed.

Rohit should be removed from T20 after this. Bilateral bully in t20is and fus fus in Wt20. Saying one Ko match can't define us ,Abey when did you play well in KO T20s in last 4-5 wt20s.. Now 2007 Wale stats mat Lana please. The guy is occupying the easiest position to bat and hardly does anything worthwhile in world tournament in t20s.