ravishingravi Posted October 30, 2022 Posted October 30, 2022 Whatever the final fate of India in this WC, I would like to see Rohit and Kohli retire from T 20. Rahul out for good, unless he redeems himself again. I would like to see youngsters express themselves in this format. Gill, Ishaan, Pant, Samson etc. Maybe even Pandya or Pant as captain. We have way too many seniors for T20 game. The mix was spot on in 2007 T20 WC and result was there to be seen. This format need exuberance and freshness. sandeep and Norman 2
zen Posted October 30, 2022 Posted October 30, 2022 Gill Samson or Pant Hooda or Sundar or equivalent who can bowl SKY SDP (c) Pant or Samson Tewatia Moshin Umran Bumrah A wicket taking spinner - Kuldeep/Bishnoi/Chahal/... ravishingravi 1
singhvivek141 Posted October 30, 2022 Posted October 30, 2022 1. Yashasvi Jaiswal/DDP (Leftie) 2. Prithvi Shaw/Sanju baba 3. Rishabh Pant/Ishan Kishan 4. Surya 5. Pandya 6. Raj Bawa/Venkatesh Iyer 7. Tewatia/Sundar 8. Hangargekar/D Chahar/Shardul 9. Tyagi/Umran (one express pacer) 10. Bumrah/Shami/Siraj (one senior bowler) 11. Bishnoi/Kuldeep Yadav/Kuldeep Sen (depending on pitch) But hona Jana kuch nahi hai...khelenge wahi sab BacktoCricaddict, express bowling and nevada 3
zen Posted October 30, 2022 Posted October 30, 2022 1 minute ago, BlueBlood said: I think this is good but Venky Iyer needs another go. He can be tried at 3 depending on how Hooda, Sundar, and v Iyer are shaping up
Arvind32 Posted October 30, 2022 Posted October 30, 2022 Gill Pant Sanju Samson Surya Hardik Pandey Sarfraz Khan Washinnton Sundar Bishnoi Bumrah Mohsin Malik/ Siraj Reserve - Shaw , Patidar , Tripathi , Kuldeep , Arshdeep .
Lord Posted October 30, 2022 Posted October 30, 2022 Need a young team Jaiswal Shaw Gill SKY Pant (wk) HP Tewatia/Venky Iyer D Chahar Bishnoi Bumrah Umran Backups Samson Tyagi Kuldeep
ravishingravi Posted November 1, 2022 Author Posted November 1, 2022 Its worth remembering that last T20 WC that India won, was on the back of disastrous ODI WC which saw the seniors being left out of T20. There is message there. BacktoCricaddict and Norman 2
BacktoCricaddict Posted November 1, 2022 Posted November 1, 2022 2 minutes ago, ravishingravi said: Its worth remembering that last T20 WC that India won, was on the back of disastrous ODI WC which saw the seniors being left out of T20. There is message there. And our most historic test win? Fresh captain, practice squad players, fearless young guys firing ... next thing you know ... Gabba Dabba Doo! nevada 1
vvvslaxman Posted November 1, 2022 Posted November 1, 2022 Above 30 years old should be banned from playing T20 lol singhvivek141 1
adi B Posted November 1, 2022 Posted November 1, 2022 Rohit Rahul Kohli Bhuvi dk ashwin should all be dropped permanently from t20 and Odi (After WC23) , watched these Sooperstars enough and enough of their Failures and chokes on the big events ! Maaf karo and Rasta naapo re! express bowling, Norman and singhvivek141 3
singhvivek141 Posted November 2, 2022 Posted November 2, 2022 9 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: Above 30 years old should be banned from playing T20 lol IPL Contract says hi.
Sonix768 Posted November 2, 2022 Posted November 2, 2022 Kohli ain't going anywhere. He will be there in all formats till 2027 ODI WC regardless of his form. Rohit might retire from LOIs after 2023 WC. Ashwin, Bhuvi might not be considered in T20Is again DK will be discarded for good Rahul might be dropped for a while and a orange cap in the next IPL will make him back into reckoning Pandya (c) , Pant (vc) will be the trend going forward I reckon, as indicated in the recent squad selection
express bowling Posted November 2, 2022 Posted November 2, 2022 (edited) 1. Gill / Jaiswal / Dhull 2. Shaw / Samson / Prabhsimran 3. Kohli / Samson 4. SKY / Rahul ( only if he bats at a high S/R ) 5. Pant / Kishan 6. Hardik / Washington / Bawa 7. Jadeja / Shahbaz / Axar 8. Mohsin / Deepak C / Hangargekar 9. Kuldeep Y / Bishnoi 10. Bumrah / Arshdeep / Siraj 11. Umran / Tyagi / Sen 1. Solid opener with good S/R 2. High S/R opener 3. Batter who can switch gears based on situation. 4. High S/R batter 5. High S/R keeper 6. Batting allrounder 7. Spin allrounder 8. Pace allrounder 9. Wrist spinner 10. Skilful pacer preferably quick 11. Quick pacer with T20 skills .... Team should not look to play more than 1 swing bowler. If Arshdeep is playing then play Mohsin at 8. If Deepak is playing then play Bumrah or Siraj at 10. .... Pacers should be chosen so that all phases are covered. Bumran, Arshdeep, Mohsin and Siraj can bowl both upfront and at the death. Edited November 2, 2022 by express bowling Mosher, prudent_kreeda, Need4Speed and 2 others 3 2
prudent_kreeda Posted November 2, 2022 Posted November 2, 2022 8 hours ago, express bowling said: 1. Gill / Jaiswal / Dhull 2. Shaw / Samson / Prabhsimran 3. Kohli / Samson 4. SKY / Rahul ( only if he bats at a high S/R ) 5. Pant / Kishan 6. Hardik / Washington / Bawa 7. Jadeja / Axar 8. Mohsin / Deepak C 9. Kuldeep Y / Bishnoi 10. Bumrah / Arshdeep / Siraj 11. Umran / Tyagi / Sen 1. Solid opener with good S/R 2. High S/R opener 3. Batter who can switch gears based on situation. 4. High S/R batter 5. High S/R keeper 6. Batting allrounder 7. Spin allrounder 8. Pace allrounder 9. Wrist spinner 10. Skilful pacer preferably quick 11. Quick pacer with T20 skills .... Team should not look to play more than 1 swing bowler. If Arshdeep is playing then play Mohsin at 8. If Deepak is playing then play Bumrah or Siraj at 10. .... Pacers should be chosen so that all phases are covered. Bumran, Arshdeep, Mohsin and Siraj can bowl both upfront and at the death. Hope this is the team for T20s . 1. For me Dhull & Prabsimran do not make the cut . Pl watch How Prabh gets out . When he cannot hit out , will come running out and lob a catch when ball comes towards his throat . Happened in IPL and happened this years. SMA. 2. I would like to see Shabaz Ahmed bit more . Always get a feeling Jaddu's selection lowers spin bowling quality. Would look for an allrounder who also bowl in PP. 3. I would not go by only 1 swing bowler theory. >I would select 2 proven best death bowlers be it a swing bowler or a pacer . If those death bowlers are also PP bowlers great . -So as of now Jasprit & Arsh > Would go for pre dominantly a middle phase +PP or middle phase+Death bowler - Guy needs to be Quick or Bouncy -Mohsin , Umran /Tyagi/Sen > Would look for a predominantly PP bowler Who can also bowl Late middle phase Or can be lower order hitter - Most probably a swing /seam bowler -Siraj , Deepak Chahar . It may result in only 1 swing bowler or may be 2 if conditions suit but in that case 2nd swing/seam bowler has to be lower order hitter. And as you pointed out potentially Jasprit, Arsh, Mohsin & Siraj must be front runners of a good pace attack. express bowling 1
express bowling Posted November 2, 2022 Posted November 2, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, prudent_kreeda said: Hope this is the team for T20s . 1. For me Dhull & Prabsimran do not make the cut . Pl watch How Prabh gets out . When he cannot hit out , will come running out and lob a catch when ball comes towards his throat . Happened in IPL and happened this years. SMA. 2. I would like to see Shabaz Ahmed bit more . Always get a feeling Jaddu's selection lowers spin bowling quality. Would look for an allrounder who also bowl in PP. 3. I would not go by only 1 swing bowler theory. >I would select 2 proven best death bowlers be it a swing bowler or a pacer . If those death bowlers are also PP bowlers great . -So as of now Jasprit & Arsh > Would go for pre dominantly a middle phase +PP or middle phase+Death bowler - Guy needs to be Quick or Bouncy -Mohsin , Umran /Tyagi/Sen > Would look for a predominantly PP bowler Who can also bowl Late middle phase Or can be lower order hitter - Most probably a swing /seam bowler -Siraj , Deepak Chahar . It may result in only 1 swing bowler or may be 2 if conditions suit but in that case 2nd swing/seam bowler has to be lower order hitter. And as you pointed out potentially Jasprit, Arsh, Mohsin & Siraj must be front runners of a good pace attack. The reasons why I talked about just 1 swing bowler are because 1. We need 2 hit the deck quicks in the middle overs. Hardik does not have the fitness to play all the time which means we need two specislist quicks doing this. 2. As we saw today, with the new ball not swinging, Bhuvi snd Arshdeep looked innocuous upfront. 3. Arshdeep is a rare swing bowler who can bowl 138 to 142 k yorkers at the end. The other swing bowlers we have can't do this and look innocuous at the death. Mohsin is a hit the deck quick who swings the new white ball and can solve a lot of problems. He can bat and hit at No 8 position too. It would be in our best interests if we can develop a solid No.7 spinner allrounder. If Shahbaz Ahmed is that guy then it's great. I will include him in my list. It would be even better if we can find a good wrist spinner who can bat as a No.8 and hit big.. This will allow us 3 specislist quicks after that. Edited November 2, 2022 by express bowling SRT100, Mosher, Vk1 and 1 other 4
prudent_kreeda Posted November 3, 2022 Posted November 3, 2022 14 hours ago, express bowling said: The reasons why I talked about just 1 swing bowler are because It would be in our best interests if we can develop a solid No.7 spinner allrounder. If Shahbaz Ahmed is that guy then it's great. I will include him in my list. Looking at recent outings of Abhishek Sharma gives a positive vibe for a replacement of Jaddu in times to come in shorter formats. Most positive part is improvement in his bowling PLUS he is bowling in PP too. He always looked a batter who bowled a few overs also a good fielder. No doubt about his batting ability , fine timer of the ball, has higher ceiling than Jaddu as a batsman. Power hitting would have to improve but really positive signs. He can leapfrog all other SLA allrounders in 2 years time if his bowling gets improvement further . Batting he will sort out himself. express bowling and nevada 2
vayuu1 Posted November 3, 2022 Posted November 3, 2022 On 10/30/2022 at 8:37 PM, BlueBlood said: I think this is good but Venky Iyer needs another go. So instead of both Samson/Pant need one of them to be finalized. We don't know how long Pandya can bowl need another medium pace all rounder to be given a long rope/ U also need to groom raj bawa for that role.
prudent_kreeda Posted November 3, 2022 Posted November 3, 2022 My bet for the best pacers in short format are Jaspreet, Arshdeep & Mohsin Khan based on skillsets we have seen so far. But the big worry - Can Mohsin maintain same pace & bounce post Surgery ? Fingers crossed .
Stan AF Posted November 3, 2022 Posted November 3, 2022 I don't know about others but I feel that if we don't put up a solid performance in this t20wc. we will find it even more difficult in next year's ODI wc.