Chetan Sharma and his team set to lose job

Suhaan

“Time has changed and it is important to recognise that T20 will dominate world cricket. So, you cannot have a former player in the selection panel without any experience in T20s, playing or coaching. When the new CAC is appointed, at least one selector in the committee will focus on T20s as we have a T20 WC every two years,” a top BCCI official told InsideSport

Dekhte hain kya hota hai,paisa kamana hai toh bhaiya apni team bh top quality rakhni hogi

Sooner or later sponsers will show your worth,it is all on the backdrop of your national sides performance and that counts in world events

5 minutes ago, Frustrated said:

I m working in a PSU (govt) job.    Even in my work place, there is some accountability.   There is audit/vigilance and lot of questioning involved.   But this bunch of selectors and kaptaan are in a setup which is actually worse than a govt job.    Absolutely,  zero accountability.  Disgraceful performance one after the other.  Yet, they continue with the same old washed up players/ TTF thinking the result would be different.   Don't hv any words to describe these scumbags.  It's a National Shame for a cricket crazy country with 1.3 billion population. Someone pls tell me where is our fat belly- kaptaan hiding till now. 

Still remember before t20wc 2007
We had platforms to discuss criticize then TMs,selection committees etc
But they have completely caged the media ,not a single member of this setup is questioned
This has been started by Dhoni,who became bigger than the game,Kohli well and truly continued it and the whole nexus became Power ful with each day
There is no open discussion ,criticism,they have become immune to criticism
Gullible fans  remain deluded,but that cant continue for any longer
It has to end,if not today sometime else

2 minutes ago, bowl_out said:

Hero worship of captains started in the Ganguly era. Dhoni took it to a new level where captains shouldn't be questioned. Kohli continued the Dhoni style of authoritarian style, but couldn't back it up with any trophies.

Bhai even now there are some fool experts on TV who say Dhoni should accompany the team as non-playing captain. Yeah the same Dhoni under whom we couldn't win a single match in super six stages for 2 world cups 09/10.

This is the level of expertise we have. Full of hero worshippers. We will keep polishing the trophies we have won rather than preparing future players who can win us more trophies. 

26 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

But they have completely caged the media ,not a single member of this setup is questioned
This has been started by Dhoni,who became bigger than the game,Kohli well and truly continued it and the whole nexus became Power ful with each day

that was an era where selectors had a lot of power, late 90s especially. I don't get the feeling that is the case anymore with every captain's cult of personality taking greater precedence than selection inputs which admittedly had their own biases.

49 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

Throwing some Expendables under the bus to appease the angry masses. Nepotist prince won't go anywhere, no accountability for him. 

9 minutes ago, Number said:

Bhai even now there are some fool experts on TV who say Dhoni should accompany the team as non-playing captain. Yeah the same Dhoni under whom we couldn't win a single match in super six stages for 2 world cups 09/10.

This is the level of expertise we have. Full of hero worshippers. We will keep polishing the trophies we have won rather than preparing future players who can win us more trophies. 

Dehati experts on. TV

Nothing will happen, Chetan Sharma and co. will be replaced by Madan lal and co. (Metaphorically speaking).
If BCCI is really worried about the Indian Cricket, first message should be to reannounce the squads for NZ and Ban tour.
Guys like Ashwin, Rohit, DK, Shami has no future in T20, while mental midgets like Bhuvi, Chahal, Harshal, KL has no future with the international stint itself. 

Just like England cricket made a complete 180 degree turn after 2015, we need to make that as well for T20I's, it may not give us immediate result in 2024 WC but will give us a potential chance in 2026 atleast. But I don't see any drastic decisions taking place, after IPL all these legends will be leading their franchises and public will go ga-ga on their performance in the slow pitches.

Edited by singhvivek141
8 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Make bold calls. Drop Kohli, Bhuvaneshwar, Shami, Ashwin and Rohit permanently.

Selections should be done professionally like how T20 Franchises go about their business.

That's the only way forward

Kl Rahul needs to be dropped first but I agree with the other names as well.

T20 needs a complete revamp with players who have different mindset.

Intent and SR needs to be given priority over average. Players who can score 20 ball 30 should be prioritised over players who score 40 ball 50

Batsmen who can bowl or bowlers who can bat without compromising on their primary skill should be groomed

Players who can't field,  show bad running between the wickets or unfit, overweight and slow need to be dropped however talented they may be. Fitness and agility should be a very fundamental qualifying criteria in T20 which automatically filters out complete duds on the field such as Rohit, Ashwin and Chahal.

Build a team of T20 specialists if needed and ensure that their sponsors don't try to get them in ODai or Test squad. There will be exceptions but in general folks playing in LOI specially T20 won't fit well in Tests or vice versa given the gap in format. 

Ensure even for T20 we either have all condition players or be very clear and selective about players from a pool who fit certain conditions. Axar and Bhuvi might work in slow pitches of India but will do jackshit when the pitch is full of pace and bounce.

3 minutes ago, RajBan said:

Intent and SR needs to be given priority over average. Players who can score 20 ball 30 should be prioritised over players who score 40 ball 50

Batsmen who can bowl or bowlers who can bat without compromising on their primary skill should be groomed

Players who can't field,  show bad running between the wickets or unfit, overweight and slow need to be dropped however talented they may be. Fitness and agility should be a very fundamental qualifying criteria in T20 which automatically filters out complete duds on the field such as Rohit, Ashwin and Chahal.

Build a team of T20 specialists if needed and ensure that their sponsors don't try to get them in ODai or Test squad. There will be exceptions but in general folks playing in LOI specially T20 won't fit well in Tests or vice versa given the gap in format. 

Ensure even for T20 we either have all condition players or be very clear and selective about players from a pool who fit certain conditions. Axar and Bhuvi might work in slow pitches of India but will do jackshit when the pitch is full of pace and bounce.

All very valid points and to achieve that we need a captain who is different from test odi captain and preferably doesn't play in the other formats to avoid conflict of interest... That way he can take hard decisions with respect to seniors

1 hour ago, Suhaan said:

Well to be fair I was watching Sports tak and sports yaari last night and all the anchors were raising important issues and bashing the team except former cricketers.. 

50 minutes ago, straighttalk said:

All very valid points and to achieve that we need a captain who is different from test odi captain and preferably doesn't play in the other formats to avoid conflict of interest... That way he can take hard decisions with respect to seniors

Agree.

1 hour ago, RajBan said:

KeLe Rahul IS the VC in LOIs…He can’t be dropped. He’s the next DESIGNATED Captain… :dontknow: