Praying for an india loss in final

mani sha

I think a loss to Sri Lanka might help us a lot . If we fail to conquer their spin twins , it will be a wake up call - Kohli technique against spin , axar patel lack of bowling form , lack of off spin bowling alll rounder , not using left handed batters at right times and spots are some of our weakness . Pursuing 100 etc landmarks is another weakness I noticed . 

A loss in spin conditions might make the team less complacent and batsmen will have to prepare more 

I don't want to lose anything. But I want their combination to get exposed again and again in these 2 matches. We won't win with 5 batsmen. It's a bloody horrible strategy.  

You will find a situation where a bowler like Boult or Starc or even Shaheen will have us 10/3 and with our shallow batting lineup, we will start tuk-tukking instead of counter-attacking and taking us to an above par score .

That NZ semifinal with a very green Rishabh Pant at 4, useless DK at 5, an unfit Hardik at 6 and past it fraud in Dhoni at 7 was an absolute nightmare. Even 230 could not be chased. Such was the uselessness. 

Ab ye kya chewtiyapa hai? :facepalm:

Let me make this one thing clear.. WE ARE NOT WINNING THE WORLD CUP THIS YEAR. Make your peace with it. No matter what changes we do , no matter what "suitable" combinations we try, we are NOT BEATING AUSTRALIA OR ENGLAND IN A KNOCKOUT GAME. The scales are completely tipped against us... we are no match for them in terms of sheer skill/talent and when you factor in their clutch monster mentality and our complete lack of it to put it mildly..... it's like expecting a koala bear to hunt down a grizzly..

So let us get whatever the titles we can and be happy about it without doing all these mental gymnastics. Asia Cup is a pretty fun tournament and has a lot more "meaning" than most people give it credit for..

Besides, what change ae you expecting lol...

Last year we suffered a much bigger humiliation in the T20 Asia Cup where we failed to even reach the finals. What radical changes did we make after that? We took the same raddi top 3 of Rohit, KL, Kohli to Australia. we took the same Bhuvis , same Arshdeeps and Hoodas and DKs. If not for for a once in a lifetime knock by Kohli, that was another group stage exit loading for us. 

The self-loathing on the forum has seriously gone to extremes now. Each day a new target. At the beginning of the Asia Cup, Rohit, Kohli, Pandya, Shardul, and Ishan were the targets along with Shami, then it was Jadeja, and right now it is Axar.

Adding a player here or there wouldn't suddenly make this a WC winning team. Best to back the bunch selected and show some positivity.

3 minutes ago, saneindian said:

The self-loathing on the forum has seriously gone to extremes now. Each day a new target. At the beginning of the Asia Cup, Rohit, Kohli, Pandya, Shardul, and Ishan were the targets along with Shami, then it was Jadeja, and right now it is Axar.

Adding a player here or there wouldn't suddenly make this a WC winning team. Best to back the bunch selected and show some positivity.

Don't know about others but my only targets are the axis of frauds - shardul, jadeja and axar.  One of them has to go .

Problem is not that we are not favourites. Problem is we are not even giving ourselves a chance with his fraud combination and we will lose a game that we are supposed to win.

My 0.02:

Never ever root for a loss for Team India.  We can critique and berate selections and underperformance all we want because we care, but in the end, even if they select Akash Chopra to open in the 2024 T20 WC, support him to play well. In the end, I also realize that my supporting or not is not going to make a lick's worth of difference in how the team performs. It's simply entertainment and vicarious achievement for me to see these guys do things I dreamed about doing when I was 13 y.o. And posting about it on ICF gives me some semblance of control.

Now, if they select some known match-fixer or Jay Shah to be player/coach, then I am with the OP :-)

9 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Don't know about others but my only targets are the axis of frauds - shardul, jadeja and axar.  One of them has to go .

Problem is not that we are not favourites. Problem is we are not even giving ourselves a chance with his fraud combination and we will lose a game that we are supposed to win.

So should we bring another specialist batsman in their place, or find another all-rounder who can do the job better?  If it is the former, I get it. If it is the latter, I just don't see anyone. Shahbaz Nadeem? Shahbaz Ahmed? Sundar? Shankar? Parag?

7 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

So should we bring another specialist batsman in their place, or find another all-rounder who can do the job better?  If it is the former, I get it. If it is the latter, I just don't see anyone. Shahbaz Nadeem? Shahbaz Ahmed? Sundar? Shankar? Parag?

Extra pacer for Axar. We need to rotate the quicks when we are travelling so much in a long tournament. Hardik, Shami and Bumrah won't be fit bowl at 1000 % throughout .

Varma in for one of Iyer or SKY depending on Iyers fitness.

Ideally it should have been Parag as a natural number 6 but that ain't happening. 

Edited by Nikhil_cric
14 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Extra pacer for Axar. We need to rotate the quicks when we are travelling so much in a long tournament. Hardik, Shami and Bumrah won't be fit bowl at 1000 % throughout .

Varma in for one of Iyer or SKY depending on Iyers fitness.

Ideally it should have been Parag as a natural number 6 but that ain't happening. 

Got it. It looks like Thakur has been anointed as the 4th quick. Varma might actually get in, now that Iyer has back spasms again. Otherwise, it is what it is.

4 hours ago, Norman said:

Ab ye kya chewtiyapa hai? :facepalm:

Let me make this one thing clear.. WE ARE NOT WINNING THE WORLD CUP THIS YEAR. Make your peace with it. No matter what changes we do , no matter what "suitable" combinations we try, we are NOT BEATING AUSTRALIA OR ENGLAND IN A KNOCKOUT GAME. The scales are completely tipped against us... we are no match for them in terms of sheer skill/talent and when you factor in their clutch monster mentality and our complete lack of it to put it mildly..... it's like expecting a koala bear to hunt down a grizzly..

So let us get whatever the titles we can and be happy about it without doing all these mental gymnastics. Asia Cup is a pretty fun tournament and has a lot more "meaning" than most people give it credit for..

Spot on .

We are nowhere close to winning this world cup ,the structure is rotten from top to bottom tbh .

It's better if we at least win these small trophies or whatever we can grab because world cup is what we certainly we ain't grabbing unless a miracle occurs. 

8 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said:

That NZ semifinal with a very green Rishabh Pant at 4, useless DK at 5, an unfit Hardik at 6 and past it fraud in Dhoni at 7 was an absolute nightmare. Even 230 could not be chased. Such was the uselessness. 

India had a gaping hole at #4 for 2 years prior to 2019 WC, add to that, Dhoni's very obvious decline at #5.  Virat is responsible for the decision not to give any young batsman a proper shot at the #4 slot - he kept 35 yr old Rayudu in there, so that new batsmen don't come up to slice away a share of the limelight and endorsement gravy train, and then at the last second switched gears to a 3D Vijay shankar etc.  The whole thing was mismanaged prioritizing status quo over proper planning and best team strength for the WC.  

I'm not too happy about seeing Jadeja as a core member of first choice XI for the WC, or Dravid's coaching decisions in general; but overall at least the planning isn't agenda driven.  Could and should have been better than this, but could easily be worse too.

An Indian lose in Asia cup would be inconsequential considering no scope for changes prior to the World Cup.  People are blaming team selection (number 4) spot for the 2019 debacle. It was an unfortunate rain affected game which pushed the match to reserve day, imagine the nerves and state of mind of players through out the night prior to the match. Dhoni was big let down in the match , with his experience he left it all to Jadeja. The rain and overcast conditions made it a paradise for newzeland bowlers. 2019 aus vs eng , aus was out for 220+ with similar conditions of overnight rain and overcast conditions albeit batting first. 

1999 aus vs Pakistan, Pakistan was bundled for 132 having to bat on a pitch which had rain previous day and had overcast conditions on eve of match day.

2023--- More than the weather conditions, India has to battle the biggest challenge and pressure of home crowd/home team expectations. Kohli has come out of the slump, he is looking lot calmer. All his post match interviews post come back indicate him attributing his resurgence to god and nature indicating his crushing of his own ego and him not thinking self bigger than sport. When ego is crushed, he would always account for failure and areas of improvement and is better handling expectations from self and others.

I strongly feel Kohli would repeat what Aravinda desilva did in 1996 World Cup having played two match winning knocks in 1996 semi final and final.